Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Truth Seekers - cover

The Truth Seekers

Mavvy Vasquez

Publisher: Verity Group

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

He wants to change the world; she wants to embrace it. 
Welcome to the world of the Victorian upper class: a vibrant, strictly ordered society that encourages gentle, intellectual pursuits but condemns those who reject its conventions. 
In a community created to celebrate the Arts, gothic novelist Geoffrey Hawes finds himself coerced into lecturing to the idle rich. Reluctant to abandon his solitude, he must concede or risk offending his wealthy patrons. Bitter and disenchanted with the privileged and wealthy, Geoffrey hides his scorn as best he can, but he refuses to let the social conventions of the time determine the course of his life. 
The last thing he expects to find in this rarified world is someone who understands his unconventional views. Budding artist Miranda Claridge, the Governor’s intelligent and vivacious daughter, uses her unique perspective to open Geoffrey’s eyes to all that is beautiful and good in the world. Wise beyond her years, she is able to see beyond the trappings of society to the wonder of small, every day details, but unlike Geoffrey, she is unwilling to reject the conventional duties of rank and family. 
Her calm acceptance of her life’s predetermined path frustrates and bewilders the fiery, passionate Geoffrey, but she does not hesitate to challenge his beliefs with equal determination. In the midst of their many heated debates on the mores of the upper class, this unlikely friendship blossoms into a passionate, impossible love. Although Geoffrey does not deny his longing for Miranda, he cannot convince her to abandon what she believes to be right. In order to win her, he will have to sacrifice his own pride and convictions. 
To find a solution, they must discover where their true destinies lie. In a battle between principles and passion, can there be a victor?

Who read this book also read:

  • Highland Groom - cover

    Highland Groom

    Hannah Howell

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    A bold woman sets out to reclaim the laird she loves in this novel of fifteenth-century Scotland from a New YorkTimes–bestselling author. Sir Diarmot MacEnroy, deciding his illegitimate children need a mother and his keep needs a proper lady, now stands before the altar with a gentle bride he hopes is too shy to disrupt his life or break his heart. The nuptials, however, are interrupted by the appearance of a flame‑haired beauty carrying two babies, boldly claiming that she is his wife and mother of his twin infant sons. Armed with her seven large brothers, she has come to demand her dues. Having waited one year for the return of the handsome laird who wed her, bedded her, then disappeared, Ilsa Campbell MacEnroy takes matters into her own hands and sets out to reclaim the man she briefly and passionately loved. Stunned by his denial, her heart softens when she learns of the injury that has ravaged his memory. Now she faces the nearly impossible task of conquering his past—and his fierce reluctance to share his heart. Though desire flares hot and wild between them, it will take more to win his trust. It will take the magic touch of a woman in love.
    Show book
  • Date Me - The Keatyn Chronicles Series #3 - cover

    Date Me - The Keatyn Chronicles...

    Jillian Dodd

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the third book in the addictive Keatyn Chronicles series. Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, suspense, and a glittering celebrity world. Fans of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and reality TV shows like Keeping up with the Kardashians will devour this pulse-pounding, sexy teen drama set against the backdrop of Hollywood and an East Coast boarding school. 
    I’m not scripting my life anymore.  
    I’m living it.  
    I’m done with the God of all Hotties.  
    I’m going to give my heart to the boy who I think deserves it.  
    The boy whose kisses are hotter than molten lava.  
    The boy who offered me the key to his heart.  
    The boy who asked me to Homecoming in a big, sexy way.  
     
    There are so many things to look forward to.  
    Parties at the Cave. Homecoming festivities. Drama Tryouts. Shopping trips to NY.  
    But things aren’t always as perfect as they seem.  
    I find out that my best friend has been keeping a secret from me.  
    Not that I can blame him.  
    I have secrets too.  
    But, for now, I’m going to pretend I’m just a normal girl.  
    I’m going to pretend he’s not still out there.  
    I’m going to pretend he’s not getting desperate.  
    I’m going to pretend I’ll never see him again.  
    But, I will.  
    And this time, I might not get away.
    Show book
  • Texas Branded - cover

    Texas Branded

    Sara York

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Revenge might have been what drove Jung-Hwa Gangjeon, known as Jump, to Caldwell Texas and Crazy Hills Ranch, but something darker has kept him there. Desire is awakened his first night in town, leaving him questioning everything about his life, his past, and his future. 
     
    Finding a sexy young man sleeping on a park bench wasn't what Bruce Long expected from his night sift as a Deputy Sherriff, but at the first sight of the man, he knew he wanted more than just a name. But getting the skittish Jump to settle enough to accept his love is harder than Bruce ever imagined. Lust and passion spin its web, leaving both Bruce and Jump branded with desire.
    Show book
  • Truly Madly Viking - cover

    Truly Madly Viking

    Sandra Hill

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    Mad about you 
    His boat off course, distracted by a randy she-whale whose infatuation had somehow thrust him into the twenty-first century, Jorund Ericsson thought he’d found heaven when he caught sight of the comely wench with the man-hair and the kiss-some lips. The lovely doctor, however, simply thought Jorund insane—even as she drove the befuddled Viking crazy with her enticing figure. 
    He leapt from the water and into Maggie’s life, all sinewy muscles in a flawlessly proportioned body, a swath of long blond hair swept back from his brow. His claim to be a Viking from the tenth century made her smile. But it wasn’t laughter that caused her stomach to flutter when the Hercules look-alike claimed her lips. And soon he had her believing his story and questioning her own sanity—though the psychologist realized there was another possibility. They were, neither of them, truly mad . . . simply truly, madly in love.
    Show book
  • Knight of Darkness - cover

    Knight of Darkness

    Kinley MacGregor

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    For countless centuries, I've been the assassin for the infamous Merlin, even though the woman who birthed me sits at the right hand of our enemy, Morgen le Fey. Now both my mother and Morgen have decided that it's time I take my place on their side of this conflict. 
    Normally, telling them no wouldn't be a problem, except for the fact that the good guys I protect think that I'm an even worse demon than the ones we fight. Hmm, maybe they're right. I have to say that I do enjoy maiming anyone who gets in my way. 
    At least until my mother gives me a simple choice: join Morgen's Circle of the Damned or see an innocent woman die. I'm all for saving the innocent, but Merewyn isn't as innocent as she seems. And she's none too fond of the fact that her fate is in my dubious hands. Personally I'm all for taking the easy way out, but leaving her to Morgen is rough, even for me. Now the only way to save both our lives is to face the evilest forces ever known—my mother and Morgen. And two people who know nothing of trust must learn to rely on each other or die: provided we don't kill each other first.
    Show book
  • The Prince & The Player - cover

    The Prince & The Player

    Tia Louise

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “FIVE STARS: The story pulled me in, the characters engaged me, and I wanted it to go on forever!” –Haleigh Lovell, New York Times bestselling author 
    “Tons of laughs, sex, and suspense...THE PRINCE & THE PLAYER had me on the edge of my seat, biting my nails, and blushing like crazy!” –Shayna Renee’s Spicy Reads 
    THE PRINCE & THE PLAYER (#1) 
    By Tia Louise 
    Let the games begin... 
     
    Runaway Zelda Wilder will do whatever it takes to secure a better life for her and her sister Ava.  Crown Prince Rowan Westringham Tate will do whatever it takes to preserve his small country. 
     
    When Zee is blackmailed into helping a vengeful statesman take down Rowan, she never expects she'll be pulled into a web of lies and international intrigue--much less that she'll find herself falling for Cal, Rowan's "playboy" younger brother. 
     
    Ava's no help, as she finds quiet walks in the moonlight discussing poetry and leadership with the brooding future king irresistible. Even more irresistible is kissing his luscious lips. 
     
    They're in over their heads, and the more time passes, the more danger the sisters are in. Shots are fired, and it's soon clear even a prince might not be able to rescue these players. 
    Cinderella meets Ocean's Eleven in this CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE featuring secrets, lies, royal high jinks, scams and double-crosses; breathless, swooning lust, cocky princes, dominant alpha future-kings, and crafty courtiers, who are not always what they seem. 
    Show book