Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Truth Seekers - cover

The Truth Seekers

Mavvy Vasquez

Publisher: Verity Group

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

He wants to change the world; she wants to embrace it. 
Welcome to the world of the Victorian upper class: a vibrant, strictly ordered society that encourages gentle, intellectual pursuits but condemns those who reject its conventions. 
In a community created to celebrate the Arts, gothic novelist Geoffrey Hawes finds himself coerced into lecturing to the idle rich. Reluctant to abandon his solitude, he must concede or risk offending his wealthy patrons. Bitter and disenchanted with the privileged and wealthy, Geoffrey hides his scorn as best he can, but he refuses to let the social conventions of the time determine the course of his life. 
The last thing he expects to find in this rarified world is someone who understands his unconventional views. Budding artist Miranda Claridge, the Governor’s intelligent and vivacious daughter, uses her unique perspective to open Geoffrey’s eyes to all that is beautiful and good in the world. Wise beyond her years, she is able to see beyond the trappings of society to the wonder of small, every day details, but unlike Geoffrey, she is unwilling to reject the conventional duties of rank and family. 
Her calm acceptance of her life’s predetermined path frustrates and bewilders the fiery, passionate Geoffrey, but she does not hesitate to challenge his beliefs with equal determination. In the midst of their many heated debates on the mores of the upper class, this unlikely friendship blossoms into a passionate, impossible love. Although Geoffrey does not deny his longing for Miranda, he cannot convince her to abandon what she believes to be right. In order to win her, he will have to sacrifice his own pride and convictions. 
To find a solution, they must discover where their true destinies lie. In a battle between principles and passion, can there be a victor?

Who read this book also read:

  • Legs - One Wild Wish #1 - cover

    Legs - One Wild Wish #1

    Kelly Siskind

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Running into your one-night stand is a special kind of awkward. Competing against him in a wine tasting contest is delicious torment… 
    On Rachel’s twenty-seventh birthday, she wishes to finally find a rewarding job. What she doesn’t wish is to drink a boatload of wine, sleep with a tattooed bad boy, and drunk email her boss in one glorious, career-ending move. But the fiasco pushes her to pursue a career inspired by her late father’s love of wine: sommelier. 
    Unfortunately, she’s competing against her infuriating one-night stand, a man as intoxicating as a Pinot Noir. 
    Two years ago, Jimmy was set to inherit his family winery. Then it got ripped from his grasp. To close that dark chapter of his life, he plans to win a local sommelier contest and use the press to expose his family’s tainted wines. 
    Jimmy loves studying the streaks of alcohol that cling to a wineglass, known as the wine’s “legs,” but other shapely legs are stealing his focus. Tantalizing legs. Legs that had wrapped around his waist for one wild night. Jimmy, sadly, has a weakness for legs. 
    He also hates to lose. 
    Legs is a full-length, standalone Smart, Sexy Romantic Comedy with a swoony Happily Ever After. No cheating or cliff-hangers here! Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren, Avery Flynn, Alice Clayton, Emma Chase, and Lauren Blakely.
    Show book
  • Crowned by Music - cover

    Crowned by Music

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 29
    • 0
    The British Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, Earl Granville travels to Windsor Castle for an audience with Queen Victoria.He had been asked by Count Yuri Unkar of Samosia, a small but significant country in the Balkans if an English bride of Royal Blood could be found to marry Prince Ivor and thus ensure the country’s protection of Great Britain and the Union Jack.Queen Victoria had already sent many of her relations to sit on thrones to protect the Balkans from invasion by the Russians, who were intent on expanding their Empire at the expense of many small States.This time Queen Victoria could think of no one as she was rapidly running out of suitable relatives. However, Earl Granville had been awake all night thinking of solutions to the problem and then he remembered. Prince Vladimir a cousin of the Queen.  He had married a woman who played the piano in public, which was not considered correct for a Prince of Royal Blood.  They had been banished from London and had gone to live in a small village in Devon and then forgotten.Earl Granville leaves immediately to see Prince Vladimir to ask if his beautiful daughter Linetta would go to the Balkans as bride to Prince Ivor.Linetta finally agrees but only on the condition that she could get to know the Prince first and if she did not like him then she would return home to her beloved parents.She plans to go to Samosa as a Governess to the Count’s children and in that way would meet the Prince without him realising who she was.How they met for the first time when Prince Ivor heard Linetta playing the piano as beautifully as her mother had taught her.   How Linetta saved the Prince’s life by her quick reactions.And how she finds the love of her life through the beauty of herself and her ethereal music is all told in this exciting and romantic novel by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • A Wilder Kind of Love - cover

    A Wilder Kind of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 2
    • 32
    • 0
    Brought up in London by her widowed mother and her step-uncle and Guardian, Sir Uriel Reece, the beautiful Rosaleena knows little about the estate in Ireland she is about to inherit together with the lovely Rosscullen House. All she knows is that it is the place where she was born and where her father, the late Lord Rosscullen, died. She knows when he died and where, but how is a complete mystery. To Rosaleena amazement the subject is never discussed in Sir Uriel’s household – indeed, it is a matter that is actively avoided by everyone and no one will tell her the truth of what happened. Now, on the eve of her twenty-first birthday, Rosaleena is about to meet the man who will bring her face to face with her unknown past – the enigmatic and mysterious Colonel Joyce. When Rosaleena invites the Colonel to her birthday ball at Sir Uriel’s London house and he graciously accepts much to the strangely virulent disapproval of Sir Uriel, she sets in motion a sequence of events that will turn her life upside down. Journeying from fashionable London Society to the rugged mountains of a remote part of Ireland, Rosaleena will discover not only that true love never does run smooth but that it is by its nature never tame. After many twists and turns and disappointments, she gradually discovers the horrifying truth about her father’s death and how eventually she finds her heart’s desire is all told in this intriguing tale by BARBARA CARTLAND
    Show book
  • Music Is The Soul Of Love - cover

    Music Is The Soul Of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 4
    • 158
    • 0
    Carina was alone in the world and unsure of what the future held for her. Then a troupe of musicians, called 'Bertie's Beauties', had an accident outside her gates and she found herself swept up in their fate as she took over from their injured pianist. Now one of the troupe, she went to perform at the Duke of Westbury's castle, never suspecting that the Duke would turn out to be the young man she had met for a few dramatic moments many years before. To hide her identity she allowed him to see her only when she was masked. He soon became so intrigued that he made advances to her. Horrified that he should consider her a woman of loose morals, Carina fled the castle and became a full time member of 'Bertie's Beauties'. If she could not find love, at least she could fulfil her gifts as a musician. Knowing she could never marry the man she loved, she agreed to marry Bertie, who had fallen in love with her, although he know her heart was given to the Duke. But the Duke had never got over her desertion and he was determined to find her. What happened when they met again is told in this intriguing and romantic novel by Barbara Cartland.
    Show book
  • Beautiful Distraction - The Pleasure Wars #4 - cover

    Beautiful Distraction - The...

    Jess Michaels

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The fourth (and final) book in The Pleasure Wars series by USA Today Bestselling Historical Romance Author Jess Michaels 
    It has been a particularly trying day for Olivia Cranfield. Despite her impeccable manners, stylish clothing and posh accent, another protector has detected her lowborn status and rejected her out of hand. 
    When fellow courtesan Violet invites her to come to Bath to help with the wicked seduction of the scarred, reclusive Earl of Windbury, Olivia jumps at the offer, eager for some excitement and a change of scenery. 
    The moment Malcolm Graham lays eyes on the delectable woman lurking in the bathhouse alley, he knows she’s a decoy to keep him busy while her friend seduces the earl inside. For a moment, he allows her to play her game…but one touch, and all he can think about is ending the two years of self-denial he’s endured in the name of friendship. 
    Instant attraction quickly turns into a decidedly erotic affair that makes Olivia question all she’s ever known about passion. But when the truth behind Violet’s assignment comes to light, betrayal threatens to bring everything they’ve built crashing down around Olivia’s broken heart. 
    Be aware: This book overlaps with Beauty and the Earl, so some passages may seem familiar to readers of both.  
    Length: Novella 
    Heat Level: Yummy 
    This book is the fourth book in The Pleasure Wars series.  
    Show book
  • The Lost Duke of Wyndham - cover

    The Lost Duke of Wyndham

    Julia Quinn

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack Audley has been a highwayman. 
    A soldier. And he has always been a rogue. What he is not, and never wanted to be, is a peer of the realm, responsible for an ancient heritage and the livelihood of hundreds. But when he is recognized as the long-lost son of the House of Wyndham, his carefree life is over. And if his birth proves to be legitimate, then he will find himself with the one title he never wanted: Duke of Wyndham. 
    Grace Eversleigh has spent the last five years toiling as the companion to the dowager Duchess of Wyndham. It is a thankless job, with very little break from the routine . . . until Jack Audley lands in her life, all rakish smiles and debonair charm. He is not a man who takes no for an answer, and when she is in his arms, she's not a woman who wants to say no. But if he is the true duke, then he is the one man she can never have . . .
    Show book