Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Truth Seekers - cover

The Truth Seekers

Mavvy Vasquez

Publisher: Verity Group

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

He wants to change the world; she wants to embrace it. 
Welcome to the world of the Victorian upper class: a vibrant, strictly ordered society that encourages gentle, intellectual pursuits but condemns those who reject its conventions. 
In a community created to celebrate the Arts, gothic novelist Geoffrey Hawes finds himself coerced into lecturing to the idle rich. Reluctant to abandon his solitude, he must concede or risk offending his wealthy patrons. Bitter and disenchanted with the privileged and wealthy, Geoffrey hides his scorn as best he can, but he refuses to let the social conventions of the time determine the course of his life. 
The last thing he expects to find in this rarified world is someone who understands his unconventional views. Budding artist Miranda Claridge, the Governor’s intelligent and vivacious daughter, uses her unique perspective to open Geoffrey’s eyes to all that is beautiful and good in the world. Wise beyond her years, she is able to see beyond the trappings of society to the wonder of small, every day details, but unlike Geoffrey, she is unwilling to reject the conventional duties of rank and family. 
Her calm acceptance of her life’s predetermined path frustrates and bewilders the fiery, passionate Geoffrey, but she does not hesitate to challenge his beliefs with equal determination. In the midst of their many heated debates on the mores of the upper class, this unlikely friendship blossoms into a passionate, impossible love. Although Geoffrey does not deny his longing for Miranda, he cannot convince her to abandon what she believes to be right. In order to win her, he will have to sacrifice his own pride and convictions. 
To find a solution, they must discover where their true destinies lie. In a battle between principles and passion, can there be a victor?

Other books that might interest you

  • When Tempting a Rogue - cover

    When Tempting a Rogue

    Kathryn Smith

    • 0
    • 15
    • 0
    “Kathryn Smith is a wonderfully original author of stylish, page-turning romance.”—Lisa Kleypas 
    In When Tempting a Rogue, the breathtaking conclusion to Kathryn Smith’s red hot historical romance series about the powerful and wealthy patrons of Victorian London’s most prestigious house of pleasure, sparks fly and passions are unleashed when the brother of a duke attempts to rekindle the flames of a lost love. New York Times bestselling author Sabrina Jeffries says that Kathryn Smith, “satisfies the soul.” Fans of Lisa Kleypas and Judith Ivory will undoubtedly agree.
    Show book
  • Where's My Hero? - cover

    Where's My Hero?

    Lisa Kleypas, Kinley MacGregor,...

    • 3
    • 41
    • 0
    Dear Avon Books, 
    Where are my heroes? Whenever I'm reading a book by one of my favorite authors I find I'm falling for the wrong guy -- not the hero, but the other man -- and what I really want is for him to have his own story. 
    Like Jake Linley, from Someone to Watch Over Me by Lisa Kleypas…that doctor could sit by my bedside if I ever got sick. And Ned Blydon in Splendid by Julia Quinn...he makes me want to learn to waltz! I never thought living in a drafty castle would be much fun until Simon of Ravenswood in Master of Desire by Kinley MacGregor came along. 
    Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that these are my men -- when do they get their stories? 
    Sincerely,A Romance Fan 
    Some books are so special that there is more than one hero to love, but only a single story is told. So if you find yourself asking, "Where is my hero?" you'll discover the answer right here in this delicious collection by New York Times bestseller Lisa Kleypas, New York Times bestseller Julia Quinn and USA Today bestseller Kinley MacGregor.
    Show book
  • Lucy and Her Scottish Laird - cover

    Lucy and Her Scottish Laird

    Margo Maguire

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An ancient Scottish castle, a ghost and a treasure . . . 
    The last thing Lucy Stillwater wants to do is travel to Scotland with her disagreeable aunt. She is desperate to stay at home in Berkshire near Joshua Parris, the man she loves, providing opportunities for him to fall in love with her. But she soon finds herself in a carriage on an isolated, rutted road in southern Scotland during a violent storm. When their carriage overturns, her unlikely rescuer is the surly Scottish marquess she met days before, who takes her and her injured relations to his nearby home – Craigmuir Castle. While exploring his ancient home, she discovers a truth she had thought to avoid; a ghost with a message; and the love of an impossible Scotsman. 
    Ian Munro, Marquess Broxburn, has come to Craigmuir Castle for the sole purpose of dealing with the disasters created by his now-incompetent father, the Duke of Craigmuir. The ducal estates are going to ruin, the duke is deeply in debt, and the tile-making business that keeps his tenants fed is floundering. Even worse, when the duke divulges a long-held secret about Ian’s past, the world as Ian knows it crumbles under his feet. But a beautiful distraction arrives in the midst of all his turmoil. Lucy Stillwater is the balm that soothes the ache in Ian’s soul, but he cannot imagine anything worse than subjecting her to the skeletons in his closet. 
    Except for living without her.
    Show book
  • No Groom at the Inn - A Dukes Behaving Badly Novella - cover

    No Groom at the Inn - A Dukes...

    Megan Frampton

    • 4
    • 23
    • 0
    “Megan Frampton’s delightful characters and delicious sense of humor always entertain!” 
    - Sabrina Jeffries 
     
    In this Dukes Behaving Badly holiday novella, a young lady entertains a sudden proposal of marriage—to a man she’s only just met 
    What does a lady do when a man she’s never seen before offers his hand in marriage? Lady Sophronia Bettesford doesn’t scream and run away. Instead, she accepts the shocking proposition. After all, what’s her other choice? To live with her cousin, caring for six children and a barnyard full of chickens? 
    James Archer has roamed the world, determined never to settle down. He’s faced danger and disaster…he fears nothing and no one—except his mother and her matchmaking ways. So when ordered to attend a Christmastime house party filled with holiday cheer and simpering young misses, he produces—a fiancée! 
    Sophronia and James vow to pretend to be in love for one month. But when they promise to give each other a Christmas kiss, it becomes clear that this pact made out of necessity might just be turning into love. 
    An Avon Romance
    Show book
  • Lucky Like Us - Book Two: The Hunted Series - cover

    Lucky Like Us - Book Two: The...

    Jennifer Ryan

    • 1
    • 22
    • 0
    The Hunted series continues as Special Agent Sam Turner discovers that protecting the FBI's star witness is more difficult than he thought! 
    Bakery owner Elizabeth Hamilton's quiet life is filled with sweet treats, good friends, and a loving family. But all of that is about to turn sour when an odd sound draws her outside. There's a man lying unconscious in the street, a car speeding toward him. Without hesitation, she gets the man out of harm's way before they're run down. 
    Unwittingly, Elizabeth has put herself in the path of a serial murderer, and as the only one who can identify the FBI's Silver Fox Killer, she's ended up in the hospital with a target on her back. 
    All that stands between her and death is Special Agent Sam Turner. Against his better judgment, Sam gets emotionally involved, determined to take down the double threat against Elizabeth—an ex desperate to get her back, despite a restraining order, and a psychopath bent on silencing her before she can identify him. 
    They set a trap to catch the killer—putting Elizabeth in his hands, with Sam desperate to save her. If he's lucky, he'll get his man . . . and the girl.
    Show book
  • The Banker - Banker #1 - cover

    The Banker - Banker #1

    Penelope Sky

    • 3
    • 42
    • 0
    They've taken my father. They'll take me next unless I comply with their demands. 
    Taking down the most powerful man in Italy. 
    Cato Marino. 
    The man is accompanied by his security team everywhere he goes. His fortress in Tuscany is impenetrable. He's the most paranoid man in the country. 
    And there's no possibility I'll be able to take him down alone. 
    If I want to save my father, I only have one option. 
    To get into Cato's bed...and stay there.  
    **This story is not about the Barsettis, but it takes place in the same universe. There are guest appearances by Crow Barsetti and Bones Jr.** 
     
    Show book