Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Nothing Is As It Seems: A Novelette - cover

Nothing Is As It Seems: A Novelette

Victoria Ichizli-Bartels

Publisher: Optimist Writer

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Always careful and planning ahead, PhD in statistics under her belt, Elizabeth leaves her past in Germany and flies to London, the city she knows to be her birth place. Other than that and her English first name, Elizabeth knows nothing of her early childhood, before she and her Ukrainian father left for Germany. 
With her father's recent death, Elizabeth visits the place of her childhood, wanting to know more. What will she find out in the majestic house? Will she regret coming here, or is there some hope that the deeply entrenched melancholy in her heart could finally melt away?

Other books that might interest you

  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book
  • Christmas is Murder - McKinley Mysteries #7 - cover

    Christmas is Murder - McKinley...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Everything you could want in a Christmassy novella and more!... This cozy mystery will bring a smile to your face and is perfect for a quick read to get you in that holiday spirit!” 
    –Wifetime of Happiness 
     
    Mistletoe and mischief… 
     
    Albany’s the perfect image of a winter wonderland, and Sean and Sara’s friend Jimmy is going to be Santa Claus for the upcoming Christmas parade. The trees and decorations have been selected and the gifts have been purchased. The season has truly cast its magical spell--until Sean and Sara’s neighbors die in a horrible house fire. 
     
    While the fire department ruled holiday-related hazards as the cause, Sara suspects there’s more to it. Her determination to find the truth has her and Sean toeing the line between what’s legal and what’s not. 
     
    As they sort out fact from fiction, the McKinleys make the final decision about whether or not they should open a private investigation firm.
    Show book
  • Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons of the Oracle Box Set BBW Dragon Shifter Paranormal Romance - cover

    Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons...

    Diane Hills

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    5 HOT and SEXY Dragon Romances At The Incredible Price Of $0.99 For A Limited Time! 
    Watched Over by Dragons 
    Ruled Over by Dragons 
    Fought Over by Dragons 
    Lusted Over by Dragons 
    The Dragons' Daughter 
    For fans of Milly Taiden and T.S. Joyce stories! 
    Each book in the Sons of the Oracle series can be read as a standalone and has a guaranteed HEA, no cliffhanger!
    Show book
  • Wetworld - Alien Rebellion #1 - cover

    Wetworld - Alien Rebellion #1

    John Triptych

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New Bali is a swamp world located 20 light-years from Earth. Colonized by humans almost two hundred years before, the planet is also home to an intelligent, methane-breathing race of amphibians. The natives have a unique culture that precludes war and vengeance, but recent events have begun to unravel a once fragile peace. 
    Sophie Singh, heir to a vast conglomerate, must decide whether to retain her family's control of Wetworld while Brother Moises Borbon, a conflicted Jesuit researcher, races against time to unlock the true meaning behind an alien art form that might be the key to truly understanding the natives. 
    These and many more unforgettable characters will experience critical choices ahead in the first part of this science fiction saga on colonialism, war, and sociopolitical upheaval.
    Show book
  • Louisiana Fever - cover

    Louisiana Fever

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Two New Orleans investigators are up against an inhuman killer in this “sleek, fast-moving” mystery (Kirkus Reviews).   When criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn goes to meet an anonymous admirer, the date ends before it begins—as the man drops dead at her feet. Now, yet again, her evening’s companion is her bulky boss, chief medical examiner Andy Broussard.   Broussard deduces that the man died carrying a lethal pathogen comparable to the Ebola virus. And when another body is found with the same infection, the threat of a pandemic becomes all too real. But while the danger to the public must be contained, the threat is far more personal than Broussard or Franklyn realize. Because the carrier’s still out there—and he’s looking for Broussard.   “Entertains even as the gruesome death count mounts. . . . Against the humid, wild and funky Crescent City setting, Donaldson delivers some genuinely heart-stopping suspense.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Mazurka - cover

    Mazurka

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In international bestselling author Campbell Armstrong’s page-turning thriller, counterterrorism agent Frank Pagan races against the clock to defuse a confrontation with the Russians that might change the map of Europe Escorting a hard-drinking, fun-loving, probably-former-KGB Russian “envoy” to Edinburgh would appear to be one of the more relaxing jobs in Frank Pagan’s career. But in the flash of a gunshot everything changes. Now Frank’s got a Russian official with a bullet lodged in his heart, his bosses at Scotland Yard wondering if Frank missed a step, and countless politicians and secret service agencies screaming bloody murder.   With spies from the KGB, MI6, and the CIA dogging his every move, Pagan has to find the men behind the deadly shooting. From the Baltic émigré community, where he meets a beautiful woman who might provide answers, to the United States to the Soviet Union, Pagan unravels a chilling plot that will have devastating worldwide repercussions.Mazurka is the 2nd book in the Frank Pagan Novels, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book