A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Kip the Quick - cover

Kip the Quick

Clifton Hill

Publisher: Clifton Hill

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Witty, fast-paced fantasy heist where morality is...debatable. 
Kip is a young thief on the hard streets of Tander in the middle of the Sparelands -- a dry, hot piece of hell, hit with frequent and terrible storms. All he wants to do is leave, but first he must save enough to cover fare for the only safe exit in town: the iron wain. 
 
With six months to go, the job of a lifetime lands in his lap: To steal a vial of the Essence -- a piece of myth and legend. He'll do anything to pull it off, but the question is... Will he survive? 
 
Visit the author's website to sign up for the Newsletter and be first for news and perks. http://www.CliftonH.com 
EARLY REVIEWERS ARE SAYING: 
"Compelling" 
"a sand-buckling adventure" 
"this is edge of your seat stuff. it just keeps going, from one adventure to the next. I can't wait to see what happens next."

Other books that might interest you

  • Irish Folk and Fairy Tales - cover

    Irish Folk and Fairy Tales

    Gordon Jarvie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this wonderful collection of stories by some of Ireland’s finest writers, including Carleton, Yeats and Lady Wilde, a legion of fairy folk – leprechauns, giants, witches and mermaids – help, hinder, charm and terrify their mortal neighbours.
     
    
     
     
    The fairy tales of Ireland are part of one of the richest folklore traditions in the world. These much-loved tales include the story of the farmer who offends the fairies by building on their dancing ground; the king who loses his wife in a chess game and the smith who learns his skill at working brass and iron during his seven-year apprenticeship to the giant Mahon MacMahon. The heroes and saints of the Celtic sagas are here as well, in beautifully written versions of the old bardic stories of Finn, Deirdre, Cuchulain and Brigid. Wielding the power to enthral and enchant, these ancient tales open the door to a strangely familiar world of mystery and magic.
    Show book
  • Gallows Thief - A Novel - cover

    Gallows Thief - A Novel

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1820. Rider Sandman, a hero of Waterloo, returns to London to wed his fiancée. But instead of settling down to fame and glory, he finds himself penniless in a country where high unemployment and social unrest rage, and where men—innocent or guilty—are hanged for the merest of crimes. 
    When he's offered a job as private investigator to re-open the case of a painter due to be hanged for a murder he didn't commit, Sandman readily accepts—as much for the money as for a chance to see justice done in a country gone to ruins. 
    Soon, however, he's mired in a grisly murder plot that keeps thickening. Sandman makes his way through gentlemen's clubs and shady taverns, aristocratic mansions, and fashionable painters' studios determined to rescue the innocent young man from the rope. But someone doesn't want the truth revealed.
    Show book
  • Heart-Shaped Box - A Novel - cover

    Heart-Shaped Box - A Novel

    Joe Hill

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Judas Coyne is a collector of the macabre: a cookbook for cannibals . . . a used hangman's noose . . . a snuff film. An aging death-metal rock god, his taste for the unnatural is as widely known to his legions of fans as the notorious excesses of his youth. But nothing he possesses is as unlikely or as dreadful as his latest discovery, an item for sale on the Internet, a thing so terribly strange, Jude can't help but reach for his wallet. 
    I will "sell" my stepfather's ghost to the highest bidder. . . . 
    For a thousand dollars, Jude will become the proud owner of a dead man's suit, said to be haunted by a restless spirit. He isn't afraid. He has spent a lifetime coping with ghosts—of an abusive father, of the lovers he callously abandoned, of the bandmates he betrayed. What's one more? 
    But what UPS delivers to his door in a black heart-shaped box is no imaginary or metaphorical ghost, no benign conversation piece. It's the real thing. 
    And suddenly the suit's previous owner is everywhere: behind the bedroom door . . . seated in Jude's restored vintage Mustang . . . standing outside his window . . . staring out from his widescreen TV. Waiting—with a gleaming razor blade on a chain dangling from one bony hand. . . . 
    A multiple-award winner for his short fiction, author  Joe Hill  immediately vaults into the top echelon of dark fantasists with a blood-chilling roller-coaster ride of a novel, a masterwork brimming with relentless thrills and acid terror.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 27
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Requiem for a Dream - A Novel - cover

    Requiem for a Dream - A Novel

    Hubert Selby

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A tale of four people trapped by their addictions, the basis for the acclaimed Darren Aronofsky film, by the author of Last Exit to Brooklyn.  Sara Goldfarb is devastated by the death of her husband. She spends her days watching game shows and obsessing over appearing on television as a contestant—and her prescription diet pills only accelerate her mania. Her son, Harry, is living in the streets with his friend Tyrone and girlfriend Marion, where they spend their days selling drugs and dreaming of escape. When their heroin supply dries up, all three descend into an abyss of dependence and despair, their lives, like Sara’s, doomed by the destructive power of drugs. Tragic and captivating, Requiem for a Dream is one of Selby’s most powerful works, and an indelible portrait of the ravages of addiction. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Hubert Selby Jr. including rare photos from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Striver - A New York noir thriller - cover

    The Striver - A New York noir...

    Stephen Solomita

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young and ambitious New York gangster; two dedicated New York detectives. The city just isn’t big enough for them all . . .Teddy Winuk has it all going on. He’s young, ambitious, dedicated, ruthless and blessed with enough energy to fuel a crew twice the size of the one he’s assembled. Teddy has a game plan, too, a marketing strategy worthy of the financier he once aspired to be. New York City is home to more than three million immigrants from all over the world. Naturally, a small percentage is in need of the drugs and the loans he’s prepared to supply. All he needs to do is reach out to them through a network of junior partners drawn from those very communities.Yes, Teddy Winuk is on his way up, yet like all entrepreneurs, there are hurdles to overcome. Two especially, in Teddy’s case. First, the John Pianetta crime family and the tax they impose on the profits of ambitious criminals like Teddy. Second, a pair of New York detectives named Boots Littlewood and Crazy Jill Kelly. Funny thing about Jill and Boots. They just won’t give up.
    Show book