Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Sanctuary - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Sanctuary

Josephine Allen

Publisher: Josephine Allen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Escaping her abusive husband Steve, Sharon finds sanctuary with Matt, the “mad hermit”, in his rural retreat under the mountain named Cloudmaker. 
But Matt has a good reason to be a hermit. His demons are even worse than hers, and now they’re reaching out from the past to threaten them, just as they’re beginning to find solace in each other. 
And Steve, who threatened to kill her if she left him, is close behind... (51,220 words)

Other books that might interest you

  • Love Uncovered - cover

    Love Uncovered

    Diane Holiday

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Danger drives an archaeologist into the arms of her DEA agent ex-boyfriend in this romantic suspense novel for fans of Susan Stoker and Mary Burton.   Free-spirited Maddie Cooper never considered settling down—until Scott Fisher. But when the DEA agent left her with a broken heart and no forwarding address, Maddie dug in deeper with her first love: archaeology.   Scott suffered a tragic loss while on assignment and gave up on all the things that brought light to his life, including Maddie. She deserves far better than the dark, dangerous world that consumes him. Staying away from her turns out easier said than done as the man he’s chasing leads him to Maddie’s latest work site. Her spitfire attitude and impulsive nature have a habit of getting her into trouble, and her latest stunt places her in grave danger.   After a devastating break-in at her artifacts storage facility, Maddie’s shocked when Scott is assigned to the case. As if his reappearance and the burglary aren’t enough, a ruthless developer has moved to town and tries to bribe Maddie to falsify a survey. She’s determined to bring the crooked man down without any help, least of all from her former lover.    But with Maddie’s life on the line, Scott must win back the trust of the only woman he's ever loved before tragedy strikes again.    “This contemporary romance delivers electrifying heat between characters with a sprinkle of humor.”—InD’tale Magazine  “A fun, fast-paced story.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Never Too Late - cover

    Never Too Late

    Christina Courtenay

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    In Regency England, a pretty young widow loses her estate—to the man who blames her for his broken heart . . . Maude Bellamy is devastated when the intervention of her strict father prevents her from eloping with her true love, Luke Hexham. But it is not long before she is married off to Luke’s well-to-do cousin—a good match in her father’s eyes, but an abhorrent one to Maude.   Eight years later, her husband is dead and Maude, Lady Hexham, is appalled to find his entire estate belongs to Luke—with no provision for either herself or her young daughter.   Luke has never forgotten Maude’s apparent treachery, and now he has a chance at revenge. But as much as he still carries the scars of that betrayal, he cannot ignore the stirring feelings within his heart. And soon, both Maude and Luke realize that perhaps it is never too late for true love.   But even as they finally come together, there are those who will do anything to keep them apart . . .
    Show book
  • The Irish Earl - cover

    The Irish Earl

    Patricia Bray

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The award-winning author of Devlin’s Luck once again “keeps readers in eager anticipation” with a ribald Regency romance about the search for true love (RT Book Reviews).   Rich and beautiful, Lady Felicity Winterbourne has traveled the world in search of a place she can call home. And while there are many gentlemen eager to oblige her every wish, she knows that their ardor has more to do with her lavish dowry than true affection.   When she meets the roguish Gerald FitzDesmond, Earl of Kilgarvan, tales of his ramshackle Irish estate seize her imagination. Abandoning decorum, Felicity proposes a marriage of convenience, with the proviso—lest Gerald prove to be yet another fortune-hunter—that she holds the purse strings.   His dark looks and undeniable charm, however, soon complicate Felicity’s practical arrangement with the dizziest of desires. Meanwhile, the hard-headed Gerald finds himself becoming enchanted with his insubordinate new bride. But will either of these strong-willed souls be able to yield enough to hold on to their unlikely love?
    Show book
  • Tidewater Bride - cover

    Tidewater Bride

    Laura Frantz

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    Selah Hopewell seems to be the only woman in the Virginia colony who has no wish to wed. True, there are too many men and far too few women in James Towne. But Selah already has her hands full assisting her father in the family's shop. And now she is in charge of an incoming ship of tobacco brides who must be looked after as they sort through their many suitors. 
     
    Xander Renick is perhaps the most eligible tobacco lord in the settlement. His lands are vast, his crops are prized, and his position as a mediator between the colonists and the powerful Powhatan nation surrounding them makes him indispensable. But Xander is already wedded to his business and still grieves the loss of his wife, daughter of the Powhatan chief. 
     
    Can two fiercely independent people find happiness and fulfillment on their own? Or will they discover that what they've been missing in life has been right in front of them all along? 
     
    Bestselling and award-winning author Laura Frantz takes you to the salty shores of seventeenth-century Virginia in this exploration of pride, honor, and the restorative power of true love.
    Show book
  • Beyond the Tides (Prince Edward Island Shores Book #1) - cover

    Beyond the Tides (Prince Edward...

    Liz Johnson

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    When Meg Whitaker's father decides to sell the family's lobster-fishing business to her high school nemesis, she sets out to prove she should inherit it instead. Though she's never had any interest in running the small fleet--or even getting on a boat due to her persistent seasickness--she can't stand to see Oliver Ross take over. Not when he ruined her dreams for a science scholarship and an Ivy League education ten years ago. 
     
    Oliver isn't proud of what he did back then. Angry and broken by his father walking out on his family, he lashed out at Meg--an innocent bystander. But owning a respected fishing fleet on Prince Edward Island is the opportunity of a lifetime, and he's not about to walk away just because Meg wants him to. 
     
    Meg's father has the perfect solution: Oliver and Meg must work the business together, and at the end of the season, he'll decide who gets it. Along the way, they may discover that their stories are more similar than they thought . . . and their dreams aren't what they expected. 
     
    Bestselling author Liz Johnson invites you back to Prince Edward Island for a brand-new series about family, forgiveness, and the kind of love that heals all wounds.
    Show book
  • A Pursuit of Home (Haven Manor Book #3) - cover

    A Pursuit of Home (Haven Manor...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    In early 1800s England, Jess Beauchene has spent most of her life in hiding and always on the move in an effort to leave her past far behind her. But when she learns the family she thought had died just might be alive and in danger, she knows her secrets can only stay buried for so long. Derek Thornbury loves the past, which has led him to become an expert in history and artifacts. He knows Jess has never liked him, but when she requests his help deciphering the clues laid out in an old family diary, he can't resist the urge to solve the puzzle. As Jess and Derek race to find the hidden artifact before her family's enemies, they learn as much about each other as they do about the past. But can their search to uncover the truth and set history right lead to a future together?
    Show book