Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
So Much For Buckingham - The Camilla Randall Mysteries #5 - cover

So Much For Buckingham - The Camilla Randall Mysteries #5

Anne R. Allen

Publisher: Anne R. Allen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This comic novel—which takes its title from the most famous Shakespearean quote that Shakespeare never wrote—explores how easy it is to perpetrate a character assassination whether by a great playwright or a gang of online trolls. 
It's a laugh-out-loud mashup of romantic comedy, crime fiction, and satire: Dorothy Parker meets Dorothy L. Sayers. Perennially down-and-out socialite Camilla Randall--a.k.a. "The Manners Doctor"--is a magnet for murder, mayhem and Mr. Wrong, but she always solves the mystery in her quirky, but oh-so-polite way. Usually with more than a little help from her gay best friend, Plantagenet Smith. 
In this hilarious episode she makes the mistake of responding to an online review of one of her etiquette guides and sets off a chain of events that leads to arson, attempted rape and murder. 
Plantagenet, vacationing in England, is accused of the murder and nobody but Camilla's shady former boyfriend—fresh from prison—can save him. Camilla and Plantagenet are caught between rival factions of historical reenactors who are fiercely pro- and anti-Richard III. 
And there's a mysterious cat. Who knows more than he's letting on… 
Although this is #5 in the series, it can be read as a stand-alone 
"Laughs and social commentary abound in this global adventure. Camilla Randall, a down-on-her luck-socialite-turned-etiquette-expert, takes on review cyberbullies while her friend Plantagenet hunts down the ghost of Richard III. 
"Anne R. Allen has given us a hilarious satire that pokes fun at some dark topics." 
"Anne Allen is masterful at keeping the plot twisting and turning; and making sure all those details make sense by the end." 
"On the surface, it's a frothy romance-cum-suspense story…but underneath, it provides a perceptive insight into the mad world of modern publishing and the subculture of Internet lunatics." 
"Josephine Tey's Daughter of Time for the 21st Century." 
"Laughs and social commentary abound in this global adventure. Camilla Randall, a down-on-her luck-socialite-turned-etiquette-expert, takes on review cyberbullies while her friend Plantagenet hunts down the ghost of Richard III." 

Other books that might interest you

  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • Babyhood - cover

    Babyhood

    Paul Reiser

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The classic New York Times bestseller from actor/comedian Paul Reiser, a book that the San Francisco Chronicle calls “an out-loud laugh on every page,” is now available in trade paperback for the very first time. For fans of Reiser’s long-running sitcom Mad About You, with Helen Hunt and Hank Azaria, for readers of comic memoirs like Tina Fey’s Bossypants, and “for the couple considering parenthood as well as for parents who are decades past their days of diaper changing…this book hits home and hits the funnybone" (Chicago Tribune).
    Show book
  • Bard of the Deal - The Poetry of Donald Trump - cover

    Bard of the Deal - The Poetry of...

    Hart Seely

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    From award-winning reporter and author of Pieces of Intelligence: The Existential Poetry of Donald H. Rumsfeld comes this collection of poems mined from the interviews, speeches, and tweets of Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump. 
    The Vicious Ones 
    I was attacked viciously 
    By those women, 
    Of course, it's very hard for them 
    To attack me on looks, 
    Because I'm so good looking. 
    But I was attacked very viciously 
    By those women. 
    --August 9, 2015, NBC’s Meet the Press 
    Straight from the mouth of “the Donald” himself, this treasury of spoken poetry—not a word is changed—has been culled from nearly 30 years of interviews, speeches, tweets, and ramblings from Presidential candidate and billionaire Donald Trump. Since the 1980s, Trump has built his verses like his casinos, using only the highest quality words and phrases, regardless of cost. He’s run a real estate empire, achieved a net worth of ten billion dollars, scripted best-sellers, and starred in the top-rated TV show “The Apprentice.” Like a colossus, he bestrides the cultural world as if it were the bottle-strewn boardwalk of Atlantic City. 
    But until now, Trump’s poetry—delivered spontaneously in moments of enduring clarity—has gone unnoticed, (making it the only aspect of Trump to be that way.) On a regular basis, The Donald speaks, tweets and hollers his verses—always without the needless restrictions of political correctness and grammar… because among world class poets, there don’t be no grammar, there only be truth… big time! 
    Whether you’re a Trump debunker or admirer, The Bard of the Deal will delight, shock, and entertain you. So prepare to be Trumped by the ten billion dollar poetry of the ten billion dollar bard. This is the art of the poem.
    Show book
  • Mrs Queen Takes the Train - A Novel - cover

    Mrs Queen Takes the Train - A Novel

    William Kuhn

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    An absolute delight of a debut novel by William Kuhn—author of Reading Jackie:  Her Autobiography in Books—Mrs Queen Takes the Train wittily imagines the kerfuffle that transpires when a bored Queen Elizabeth strolls out of the palace in search of a little fun, leaving behind a desperate team of courtiers who must find the missing Windsor before a national scandal erupts. Reminiscent of Alan Bennett’s The Uncommon Reader, this lively, wonderfully inventive romp takes readers into the mind of the grand matriarch of Britain’s Royal Family, bringing us an endearing runaway Queen Elizabeth on the town—and leading us behind the Buckingham Palace walls and into the upstairs/downstairs spaces of England’s monarchy.
    Show book
  • Sex Jokes - cover

    Sex Jokes

    Joe KING

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Sex JokesOne hundred of hilarious and funny jokes !Have fun and laugh!
    Show book
  • Black Out - cover

    Black Out

    Lila Rose

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    At twenty-four, Clarinda James had lived a traumatic life. One of the last images she saw before losing her sight was that of her parents' death. The night mares of that time still haunt her every night. 
    Taken in at nineteen by her sister, Clary didn't know there was going to be a price to pay, a price far greater than her blindness. It's bot until Blue walks into her life, she realizes it's possible to experience the joy of warmth. In her darkness, Blue will become her beacon, her guide. Little does she know that she'll need to count on Blue more than she thought she would. 
    She has to...if she wants to stay alive. 
    Blue Skies is on the lookout for a woman. Always there to support his brothers, Talon and Griz, he's not a stranger to the craziness of love or life. Nor is he a stranger to making it clear that comments surrounding his name are out of bounds. Despite the often effed-up situations his brothers find themselves in as a result of their women, he's more than happy to settle down when he finds his missing piece. 
    After three weeks of seeing a gorgeous redhead in a cafe, he refuses to let the opportunity pass him by. Building a tentive relationship with Clary is no easy task; she's damaged. It's not until he discovers the truth behind her darkness that he willingly lays claim to her. He is determind to protect her, no matter the cost. She is irrefutable his. 
     
    Please note: This is book #3 in an MC series, but can be read as a standalone. It's more of a light read and based on the hero finding his love interest than club business.
    Show book