Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
So Much For Buckingham - The Camilla Randall Mysteries #5 - cover

So Much For Buckingham - The Camilla Randall Mysteries #5

Anne R. Allen

Publisher: Anne R. Allen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This comic novel—which takes its title from the most famous Shakespearean quote that Shakespeare never wrote—explores how easy it is to perpetrate a character assassination whether by a great playwright or a gang of online trolls. 
It's a laugh-out-loud mashup of romantic comedy, crime fiction, and satire: Dorothy Parker meets Dorothy L. Sayers. Perennially down-and-out socialite Camilla Randall--a.k.a. "The Manners Doctor"--is a magnet for murder, mayhem and Mr. Wrong, but she always solves the mystery in her quirky, but oh-so-polite way. Usually with more than a little help from her gay best friend, Plantagenet Smith. 
In this hilarious episode she makes the mistake of responding to an online review of one of her etiquette guides and sets off a chain of events that leads to arson, attempted rape and murder. 
Plantagenet, vacationing in England, is accused of the murder and nobody but Camilla's shady former boyfriend—fresh from prison—can save him. Camilla and Plantagenet are caught between rival factions of historical reenactors who are fiercely pro- and anti-Richard III. 
And there's a mysterious cat. Who knows more than he's letting on… 
Although this is #5 in the series, it can be read as a stand-alone 
"Laughs and social commentary abound in this global adventure. Camilla Randall, a down-on-her luck-socialite-turned-etiquette-expert, takes on review cyberbullies while her friend Plantagenet hunts down the ghost of Richard III. 
"Anne R. Allen has given us a hilarious satire that pokes fun at some dark topics." 
"Anne Allen is masterful at keeping the plot twisting and turning; and making sure all those details make sense by the end." 
"On the surface, it's a frothy romance-cum-suspense story…but underneath, it provides a perceptive insight into the mad world of modern publishing and the subculture of Internet lunatics." 
"Josephine Tey's Daughter of Time for the 21st Century." 
"Laughs and social commentary abound in this global adventure. Camilla Randall, a down-on-her luck-socialite-turned-etiquette-expert, takes on review cyberbullies while her friend Plantagenet hunts down the ghost of Richard III." 

Other books that might interest you

  • Demyan & Ana - The Russian Guns #4 - cover

    Demyan & Ana - The Russian Guns #4

    Bethany-Kris

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Demyan and Ana have lived in privilege and protection as the children of Anton and Viviana Avdonin. With a Russian mob boss as a father and a mafia queen as a mother, they've got big shoes to fill. Love and life are messy games to play, especially when you're new at it.  
    An attack on one Avdonin will leave the family stunned and hurting. Their retribution is brutal, but the repercussions for their revenge will be even more devastating. Because when blood is spilled in their world, more must fall, too.  
    No one is safe. They have always been formidable--unstoppable. But they are not bulletproof.  
    Giving all of your heart to one person means running the risk of losing it when life comes crashing down. A happily ever after is just beyond their grasps.  
    One will get theirs.  
    And the other won't.  
    A Russian Guns Novella, Prequel to Shattered 
    Warning: Possible triggers and scenes of violence.  
    Demyan & Ana can be read as a standalone in the series. 
    Show book
  • Still Dead - A JP Beaumont Novella - cover

    Still Dead - A JP Beaumont Novella

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Since the disbanding of the Special Homicide Investigation Team, J. P. Beaumont’s biggest concern is pondering whether he and his wife Mel should finally get a dog. But one voicemail from his old friend Ralph Ames is about to change that. Through Ralph, Beau has become involved in an organization called The Last Chance, which enlists a number of retired homicide investigators to tackle long-unsolved cold cases. The one that has just landed on Beau’s plate is a thirty-year-old missing persons case. 
    The facts are muddy at best; Janice Marie Harrison’s car was found abandoned near a bridge, and scratched in the dirt nearby was the word “sorry.” It’s possible her death was a suicide, but her body was never found. And as Beau begins to investigate, he discovers that no one connected to Janice—not her once-all-star football player widower, Anders; not her long-grieving sister, Estelle; not sheriff Gavin Loper, who was deputy sheriff at the time of Janice’s disappearance; and not Anders’s second wife Betsy—is exactly what they seem. The question is, which of them knows the truth? 
    And why have they kept it buried? 
    Included with this short story is a sneak peek at the next J. P. Beaumont novel, Proof of Life
    Show book
  • Cape Diamond - A Frank Yakabuski Mystery - cover

    Cape Diamond - A Frank Yakabuski...

    Ron Corbett

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Cape Diamond, the second book in the Frank Yakabuski Mystery series, is atmospheric and action-packed. Set near the Northern Divide — as was the first installment, Edgar Award nominee (Best Paperback Original), Ragged Lake — the book opens with Yakabuski called to investigate a gruesome crime scene. A body has been left hanging from a schoolyard fence. On closer inspection, Yak finds a large diamond in the murder victim’s mouth. 
     
    Two criminal gangs — the Shiners and the Travellers — are fighting with each other, and Yakabuski turns to his father, a now-retired detective who has a long history with the gangs, for advice in the interrogation. Is the conflict over the murder of two men? The kidnapping of a little girl? Or, possibly, the diamond found in Augustus Morrissey’s mouth? As if this weren’t enough for one detective, a serial killer is taking a deadly road trip through the United States, heading towards the Northern Divide. 
     
    Ron Corbett weaves the various strands together with ingenuity, making Cape Diamond a brooding, suspense-filled story of hubris, betrayal, and evil deeds; his writing is sparse and taut, compelling the reader to follow the action and gang conflict to a surprise ending.
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • Thicker Than Blood - cover

    Thicker Than Blood

    Anna Legat

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How far would you go when your back is against the wall?
    
     
    Up to his neck in debt, Liam Cox looks to his elderly mother for a solution. But despite sitting on a goldmine, Mildred refuses to leave her farm behind. Alerted to Liam’s shady dealings, DI Gillian Marsh is sent to investigate.
    
     
    As Gillian’s case against Liam becomes personal, she does all she can to protect the frightened Mildred. But all is not as it seems. As Liam’s inheritance comes under threat and the pressure rises, how far will he go to repay his debts?
    
     
    When two bodies are found and family ties are severed, both Gillian and Mildred must be careful who they trust…
    Show book
  • Fantastic Crimes - Four Bibliomysteries by Bestselling Authors - cover

    Fantastic Crimes - Four...

    Anne Perry, Elizabeth George, F....

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Book-centered mystery novellas from four masters of the craft.  From Anne Perry, the New York Times–bestselling author of the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series, comes The Scroll.   Hapless bookseller Monty Danforth’s recent discovery of a millennia-old manuscript plunges him into a cutthroat conspiracy.   “A master storyteller.” —The Star-Ledger  Christopher Fowler, author of the Bryant and May mysteries, presents Reconciliation Day.   One man’s obsession with a lost edition of Bram Stoker’s Dracula sends him on a dangerous journey to Transylvania.   “If Edgar Allan Poe and Monty Python had lived in the same country and the same century and somehow struck up a creative collaboration, their work might have resulted in fiction similar to Fowler’s.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch  From F. Paul Wilson, the New York Times–bestselling creator of Repairman Jack, comes The Compendium of Srem.   Prior Tomás de Torquemada yields the ultimate power, deciding who lives and dies during the Spanish Inquisition, but an ancient, evil tome is about to change that.   “A great storyteller and a thoughtful one.” —David Morrell, New York Times–bestselling author of First Blood  Elizabeth George, the New York Times–bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley novels, brings you The Mysterious Disappearance of the Reluctant Book Fairy.   A woman’s gift for immersing herself in the plot of whatever book she likes draws overwhelming fame—and misfortune.   “An essential writer of popular fiction today.” —The Washington Post  
    Show book