Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Rhythm & Blues - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Rhythm & Blues

Shae Connor

Publisher: Shae Connor

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When life tears apart your dream, build a new one. 
After a knee injury ended his career, Broadway dancer Pate Hawkins limped his way back from New York to Atlanta to implement Plan B: open a dance academy to train the next generation of song-and-dance dreamers. When model-gorgeous contractor Ace Samson answers his request for an estimate on renovating his studio space, Pate hits pay dirt in more ways than one. As construction gets underway, the red-hot attraction between the two men flares, and soon they develop a fledgling relationship. Then the siren song of the stage calls Pate back, and he has to choose between the dream he left behind and the new life he's building—with his studio, and with Ace.
Available since: 06/20/2016.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Tender Matador - cover

    My Tender Matador

    Pedro Lemebel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As Chile descends into chaos, two disparate souls begin “an odd-couple romance, in the tradition of Kiss of the Spider Woman or The Crying Game” (Kirkus Reviews).   It is the spring of 1986, and Chilean dictator Augusto Pinochet is losing his grip on power. In one of Santiago’s many poor neighborhoods, a man known as the Queen of the Corner embroiders linens for the wealthy. A hopeless and lonely romantic, he listens to boleros to drown out the gunshots.   Then he meets Carlos, a young, handsome man who befriends the aging homosexual and uses his house to store mysterious boxes and hold clandestine meetings. And as the relationship between these two very different men blossoms, they find themselves caught in a revolution that could doom them both.   By turns funny and profoundly moving, Pedro Lemebel’s lyrical prose offers an intimate window into the mind of Pinochet himself as the world of Carlos and the Queen prepares to collide with the dictator’s own in “a wonderful snapshot of this period of Chile’s history . . . A touching tale of love and danger” (Booklist).
    Show book
  • The Girl Next Door - cover

    The Girl Next Door

    Chelsea M. Cameron

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The opposites-attract, sweet-and-sexy small-town romance you've been waiting for. 
    Iris Turner hightailed it out of Salty Cove, Maine, without so much as a backward glance. Which is why finding herself back in her hometown—in her childhood bedroom, no less—has the normally upbeat Iris feeling a bit down and out. Her spirits get a much-needed lift, though, at the sight of the sexy girl next door. 
    No one knows why Jude Wicks is back in Salty Cove, and that's just how she likes it. Jude never imagined she'd be once again living in her parents' house, never mind hauling lobster like a local. But the solitude is just what she needs—until Iris tempts her to open up. 
    A no-strings summer fling seems like the perfect distraction for both women. Jude rides a motorcycle, kisses hard and gives Iris the perfect distraction from her tangled mess of a life. But come September, Iris is still determined to get out of this zero-stoplight town. 
    That is, unless Jude can give her a reason to stay… 
    Carina Adores is home to highly romantic contemporary love stories where LGBTQ+ characters find their happily-ever-afters. 
    A new Carina Adores title is available each month: 
    The Hideaway Inn by Philip William Stover 
    The Girl Next Door by Chelsea M. Cameron 
    Just Like That by Cole McCade 
    Hairpin Curves by Elia Winters 
    Full Moon in Leo by Brooklyn Ray 
    The Secret Ingredient by KD Fisher 
    Just Like This by Cole McCade 
    Teddy Spenser Isn't Looking for Love by Kim Fielding
    Show book
  • See a Little Light - The Trail of Rage and Melody - cover

    See a Little Light - The Trail...

    Bob Mould

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The long-awaited, full-force autobiography of American punk music hero, Bob MouldBob Mould stormed into America's punk rock scene in 1979, when clubs across the country were filling with kids dressed in black leather and torn denim, packing in to see bands like the Ramones, Black Flag, and the Dead Kennedys. Hardcore punk was a riot of jackhammer rhythms, blistering tempos, and bottomless aggression. And at its center, a new band out of Minnesota called Hüsker Dü was bashing out songs and touring the country on no money, driven by the inspiration of guitarist and vocalist Bob Mould. Their music roused a generation.From the start, Mould wanted to make Hüsker Dü the greatest band in the world - faster and louder than the hardcore standard, but with melody and emotional depth. In SEE A LITTLE LIGHT, Mould finally tells the story of how the anger and passion of the early hardcore scene blended with his own formidable musicianship and irrepressible drive to produce some of the most important and influential music of the late 20th century. For the first time, Mould tells his dramatic story, opening up to describe life inside that furnace and beyond. Revealing the struggles with his own homosexuality, the complexities of his intimate relationships, as well as his own drug and alcohol addiction, Mould takes us on a whirlwind ride through achieving sobriety, his acclaimed solo career, creating the hit band Sugar, a surprising detour into the world of pro wrestling, and most of all, finally finding his place in the world.A classic story of individualism and persistence, Mould's autobiography is an open account of the rich history of one of the most revered figures of punk, whose driving force altered the shape of American music.
    Show book
  • Where Nothing Sleeps Volume One - The Complete Short Stories and Other Related Works - cover

    Where Nothing Sleeps Volume One...

    Denton Welch

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first volume of Denton Welch’s complete collected short works English novelist Denton Welch originally trained as a visual artist, and a painterly perspicacity and talent for human observation are evident in his writing. His close attention to detail renders even the most seemingly mundane trivialities memorable and important. Though he died at the young age of thirty-three, Welch was quite prolific, doing most of his writing while bedridden after a bicycling accident that left him seriously injured. He produced three novels, over seventy-five short stories, and a journal that ran over two hundred fifty thousand words long.   Included in this volume are autobiographical works inspired by Welch’s youth in China, such as “I Can Remember” and “The Coffin on the Hill.” “I First Began to Write” is a brief vignette detailing Welch’s early efforts as an author. These stories, fragments, and poems reveal a writer gifted with superb powers of description.
    Show book
  • Naughty Lies: An Erotic Lesbian Romance (The Ellis Chronicles - book 5) - cover

    Naughty Lies: An Erotic Lesbian...

    T.E. Robbens

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After a long desperate battle to be together Ellis and Katie finally have everything they wanted. Just as everything falls into place they are free to live together, work together and explore more steamy sex together totally uninhibited. But is perfection too much to ask for and will Ellis and Katie be able to keep everything that they have fought for together.
    Show book
  • Small Fires - Essays - cover

    Small Fires - Essays

    Julie Marie Wade

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A collection of essays from the author of Same-Sexy Marriage: “A painfully honest but beautiful journey . . . Heartfelt and hopeful” (Minneapolis Star-Tribune).   This is a daughter’s story. In Small Fires, Julie Marie Wade recreates the landscape of her childhood with a lacemaker’s care, then turns that precise attention on herself. There are floating tea lights in the bath, coddled blossoms in the garden, and a mother straddling her teenage daughter’s back, astringent in hand, to better scrub her not-quite-presentable pores. And throughout, Wade traces this lost world with the same devotion as her mother among her award-winning roses. Small Fires is essay as elegy, but it is also essay as parsing, reconciliation, and celebration, all in the attempt to answer the question—what have you given up in order to become who you are?   “Reckoning with imperfect parents—what they owe us and what we owe them—is one of the chief tasks of these essays, which form a kind of pointillistic autobiography. Another is the construction of memories, even imagined, in which understanding and forgiveness trump judgment and hate . . . Throughout, the writing is sharp, surprising, and precise.” —The Boston Globe   “In Small Fires, Julie Marie Wade . . . considers family and memory with a poetic eye and unabashed tongue . . . [It] is Julie Marie Wade’s story, but the collection opens onto something universal—how we individuate from our family, how we become ourselves, what we carry forward from our pasts and make our own.” —Lambda Literary   “A book of essays that left me transfixed and transformed through brilliant prose and ideas. It’s like finding a time capsule of nostalgic treasures.” —Brevity
    Show book