Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
On Guard (The Eternal Dungeon Volume 4) - The Eternal Dungeon #4 - cover

On Guard (The Eternal Dungeon Volume 4) - The Eternal Dungeon #4

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"'Shall we allow criminals to roam the streets at will because we're afraid to take the chance of harming an innocent prisoner?'" 
A bloody knife from a crime scene becomes a mystery to be solved and a foreshadow of trouble to come. 
The ties forged between the noble-minded Eternal Dungeon and an abusive foreign dungeon have set off an unpredictable chain of horrific events, in which the love between two of the Eternal Dungeon's Seekers (torturers) will be tested to the straining point. Caught in the middle of the struggle are Barrett Boyd and Seward Sobel, loyal guards who will find themselves questioning their most fundamental beliefs about the royal prison's ideals. 
Barrett must help his Seeker determine whether their mild-mannered prisoner is an attempted murderer. His friend Seward has pledged to guard his own Seeker against an assassin . . . or should Seward be protecting the dungeon inhabitants against his Seeker? But when the guards' two Seekers fall into a lovers' quarrel, that is when the real danger begins. 
A winner of the 2011 Rainbow Awards (within the "Eternal Dungeon" omnibus), this tale of friendship, romance, and suspense can be read on its own or as the fourth volume in The Eternal Dungeon, an alternate history series set in a nineteenth-century prison where the psychologists wield whips. 
The Eternal Dungeon series is part of Turn-of-the-Century Toughs, a cycle of diverse alternate history series (The Eternal Dungeon, Dungeon Guards, Michael's House, Life Prison, Commando, Waterman, Young Toughs, and Dark Light) about adults and youths on the margins of society, and the people who love them. Set in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the novels and stories take place in an alternative version of America that was settled by inhabitants of the Old World in ancient times. As a result, the New World retains certain classical and medieval customs.

Other books that might interest you

  • Red White and Maggie - Maggie MacKay: Holiday Special #2 - cover

    Red White and Maggie - Maggie...

    Kate Danley

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Nothing worse than getting ants at your picnic.... unless it is vampires.  It's the 4th of July and the nation is celebrating the United States' independence.  Except someone dressed like George Washington has figured out a way to turn the revelers into mindless drones.  Looks like a job for Maggie and Killian. 
    A part of the Maggie MacKay: Holiday Special short stories.  This stands independently from the main Magical Tracker series and can be read at any time and in any order.
    Show book
  • The Killing Edge - cover

    The Killing Edge

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A female racecar driver gets wrapped up in an ice skater’s gruesome murder in this page-turning thriller. Mauve Bridger is climbing out of the frozen lake when the ice breaks beneath her and she falls into the water. She hauls herself back onto the ladder, but someone pushes her back down. She swims blindly through the icy depths, finally escaping to the far side of the lake, but the killers are waiting for her there. They take her back to her house, kneel on her chest, and cut her throat with her own skates.   First on the scene is L. C. Converse, a former racecar driver turned mechanic who happens to be on a date with the detective who catches Mauve’s case. L. C. witnessed her father’s murder five years ago, so finding Mauve on the floor brings back grisly memories—and this won’t be the last death. This quiet Connecticut town has been marked by murder, and to escape it, L. C. will have to race faster than she ever has before.   L. C. is a classic Richard Forrest hero: an ordinary woman in a deadly situation that spirals out of control. Forrest was an expert at writing realistic emotional thrillers, and The Killing Edge shows him at his best.
    Show book
  • High-Wired - cover

    High-Wired

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     
    
     
    If you like Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, and Val McDermid, you’ll be gripped by this exciting new crime novel by best-selling author Andrea Frazer. High-Wired is the first volume in The Fine Line series, which sees Frazer show off her dark side as she moves into the world of police procedurals.
    
     
     
     The novel introduces us to DI Olivia Hardy, a firm but fair cop, and her new partner, DS Lauren Groves. Their wildly different backgrounds and styles of policing cause problems at first, but the two women bond over a shared love of music, and over the pressures of juggling complicated family lives with the horrors of the job. Both women try to reconcile their problematic family lives – Olivia’s issues with her teenage children, Lauren’s collapsing marriage – with the demands of a job that requires heart and soul. Their beat is a decaying coastal town in the south of England – a shadow of its Victorian glory – and criminals are lurking even where you’d least expect them. As Olivia and Lauren investigate a harrowing murder, the events of the case spiral – and so do the issues in their personal lives …
    Show book
  • The Relic - cover

    The Relic

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Yuri Varienski, a Ukranian emigré, dies in Jersey, he leaves his daughter Lucy an object—and a great responsibility. Lucy must take the gold filigree cross she is bequeathed to Geneva, and deliver it into the hands of exiled former dissident leader, Volkov. Lucy innocently accepts her father’s charge. But Volkov, broken by imprisonment, is not the man he used to be. And there are other people who wish to possess the cross too. For the object Lucy carries is the legendary relic, St. Vladimir’s Cross, and it has the power to unite or divide the volatile Soviet Union.   Lucy soon realizes that she will have to make sacrifices—of her home, her heart, and maybe even her life—if she is going to fulfill her father’s last wish.
    Show book
  • Murder at Morland Manor - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder at Morland Manor - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay’s Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book One in Marilyn Clay's new Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series features clever, young Miss Juliette Abbott as sleuth. A former companion to a titled London lady, Miss Abbott has now agreed to serve as lady’s maid to one of the young ladies invited to country estate Morland Manor, each hoping to win the heart of the wealthy Morland heir. But nothing at the house party goes as planned and suddenly Juliette finds herself the number one suspect in a shocking murder! The only way to escape the muddle is to solve the mystery herself, otherwise she'll lose this position with a new geegaw tied around her neck, this one made of rope! 
    “A fine Regency mystery brimming with surprising twists and turns, and seasoned with just a hint of romance. Witty and outspoken Juliette Abbott is a first-rate, fast-thinking young sleuth! Very well-done, indeed!” – Regency Mystery Reviews. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay’s traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER IN MAYFAIR, MURDER AT MARGATE and MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 18th and 19th ENGLISH WOMEN AT SEA, HISTORY OF THE WATER CLOSET and three books on REGENCY PERIOD FURNITURE. 
    For additional information about author Marilyn Clay, visit her website at Marilyn Clay Author.
    Show book
  • Blood Stones - cover

    Blood Stones

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The diamond industry explodes in anarchy when a cache of rare gems is discovered in Russia in this intellectual thriller At London’s Diamond Enterprises, a major crisis is brewing: In the tundra of northern Russia, a newly discovered mine is producing a cache of flawless, five-carat red diamonds. These dazzling “blood stones” are beyond price, and powerful jeweler Ivan Karakov is about to sign an exclusive contract with Moscow to sell the gems. He must be stopped before he destabilizes the market and sends the industry plunging into free fall.   With the future of Diamond Enterprises at risk, its employees start scrambling for power. Young, ambitious James Hastings—whose beautiful wife, Elizabeth, is his most powerful asset as well as his most dangerous weakness—is sent to Russia to negotiate with Karakov. Chairman Julius Heyderman, haunted by his tragic past and troubled daughter, returns from South Africa to deal with longtime adversary Arthur Harris. Reece, trapped in a relationship he can’t control, is universally hated by all at DE, while Ray Andrews seeks redemption for a terrible mistake and Ruth Fraser sleeps her way to the top in hopes of becoming DE’s first female leader.   A riveting tale of greed, betrayal, and industrial espionage, Blood Stones reveals how much people are willing to sacrifice for money.  
    Show book