Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The True Bride and the Shoemaker - The Pippington Tales #1 - cover

The True Bride and the Shoemaker - The Pippington Tales #1

L. Palmer

Publisher: L. Palmer

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

There is magic in the streets of Pippington, but most people are too busy to notice. 
Shoemaker Peter Talbot needs a little magic. Cheap, factory made, shoes are putting him out of business, his nagging sisters will never let him rest, and his efforts to find true love are constantly thwarted by worldly fickleness. However, the gift of a wild primrose and a shipment of rare griffin skin are about to change everything…When beautiful handmade shoes begin appearing in his shop every morning, Peter is determined to find the source. What he finds instead will be far more exciting and wondrous than he could ever imagine. 
The True Bride and the Shoemaker is the first of The Pippington Tales, introducing a city full of magic and everyday fairy tales for those willing to see them.

Other books that might interest you

  • Surrender to the Devil - cover

    Surrender to the Devil

    Lorraine Heath

    • 3
    • 34
    • 0
    A Devilish Duke on a Quest for Pleasure . . . 
    Frannie Darling was once a child of London's roughest streets, surrounded by petty thieves, pickpockets, and worse. But though she survived this harsh upbringing to become a woman of incomparable beauty, Frannie wants nothing to do with the men who lust for her, the rogues who frequent the gaming hall where she works. She can take care of herself and feels perfectly safe on her own—safe, that is, until he strides into her world, and once again it becomes a very dangerous place indeed. 
    To bed her but not wed her. That's what Sterling Mabry, the eighth Duke of Greystone, wants. But Frannie abhors arrogant aristocrats interested only in their own pleasure. So why then does the thought of an illicit tryst with the devilish duke leave her trembling with desire? Her willing body begs for release . . . and a wicked, wonderful surrender.
    Show book
  • Exposure - An East Park Romance - cover

    Exposure - An East Park Romance

    Iris Blaire

    • 1
    • 30
    • 0
    Over 1500 five-star ratings on Goodreads.New edition for 2020!My friends know me as Evan Cosette, a biochemistry major with a flawless GPA.Everyone else? Well, they know me as Rylan Willow, erotic model for East Park Exposed.The magazine has kept my tuition paid at East Park University. I just had to keep up the naive school-girl disguise on campus and my secret was safe, my two worlds separate.Until Dallas. The gorgeous, disgustingly brilliant grad student who's teaching my bio class this semester.Oh, yeah... he's also my new modeling partner.I swore to myself that I wouldn't get distracted. Dallas has a girlfriend, and I have to get into grad school.That was before sales went through the roof.Before the photographer decided to crank up the heat.Before every photo shoot left me gasping for breath.So, who gets Dallas? Me... or Rylan?
    Show book
  • Why Do Dukes Fall in Love? - A Dukes Behaving Badly Novel - cover

    Why Do Dukes Fall in Love? - A...

    Megan Frampton

    • 3
    • 34
    • 0
    In Megan Frampton’s captivating new Dukes Behaving Badly novel, we learn the answer to the question: 
    Why do dukes fall in love? 
    Michael, the Duke of Hadlow, has the liberty of enjoying an indiscretion . . . or several. But when it comes time for him to take a proper bride, he ultimately realizes he wants only one woman: Edwina Cheltam. He’d hired her as his secretary, only to quickly discover she was sensuous and intelligent. 
    They embark on a passionate affair, and when she breaks it off, he accepts her decision as the logical one . . . but only at first. Then he decides to pursue her. 
    Michael is brilliant, single-minded, and utterly indifferent to being the talk of the ton. It’s even said his only true friend is his dog. Edwina had begged him to marry someone appropriate–—someone aristocratic . . . someone high-born . . . someone else. But the only thing more persuasive than a duke intent on seduction is one who has fallen irrevocably in love.
    Show book
  • The Duke That I Marry - A Spinster Heiresses Novel - cover

    The Duke That I Marry - A...

    Cathy Maxwell

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    Once upon a time there were three young ladies who, despite their fortunes, had been on the marriage mart a bit too long. They were known as “the Spinster Heiresses” . . . 
    Is it wrong for a woman to want more? 
    Not if she is a Spinster Heiress. They do not settle. Any young miss would be very lucky to find herself promised to a man like the Duke of Camberly. However, Miss Willa Reverly has watched her friends marry for love. Camberly may be the prize of the season, but she will not be “sold” to any man. She wants his devotion or she wants nothing at all. 
    When is a Marriage of Convenience inconvenient? 
    Newly named to the ducal title, Matthew Addison is determined to discover the secrets behind Mayfield, the bankrupt estate he has inherited. He doesn’t have time to coddle a headstrong heiress who is determined to ditch him over something as silly as “love.” Little does he know that his questions will place her in jeopardy. Now he must do what he must to save them both. 
    Could it be that in running from danger they might be racing headlong into a truly unexpected fate: falling in love?
    Show book
  • Confessions of a Scoundrel - cover

    Confessions of a Scoundrel

    Karen Hawkins

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Legend says that whomever possesses the St. John talisman ring will find their one true love. Now that the ring rests in the pocket of renowned scoundrel Brandon St. John, the dashing rake must decide whether it is a blessing…or a curse. 
    Never has the irresistible rogue, Brandon St. John, pursued a woman with more fervor—but his ardent suit of Lady Verena Westforth has a different purpose. The delectable blond lovely is indeed enticing, but Brandon suspects her of hiding a valuable missive that he has sworn to recover. With a sensuous kiss and a passionate caress he intends to lower Verena’s guard…and then discover where she’s hidden “the goods.” 
    Without the missive, Verena stands to lose the one thing dearest to her heart. And now an extraordinary man has entered her life…at the worst possible time! Vulnerable though she may be, Verena vows she will not be just another of Brandon’s “conquests,” even as she aches to melt in his arms. But is he a needed friend or a foe in alluring disguise…and will she be able to prove to him that love is their true destiny?
    Show book
  • Starting Over at Acorn Cottage - a heartwarming and uplifting romance - cover

    Starting Over at Acorn Cottage -...

    Kate Forster

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    'Charming and totally absorbing ... I could not put this down!' Holly Martin. 
     
    Buying a thatched cottage in the country may not be the usual cure for a broken heart. But after Clara Maxwell finds out her boyfriend and best friend have been sneaking around behind her back, packing her bags and leaving everything in London behind feels like it's the only way forward. 
     
    Clara knew Acorn Cottage would be a fixer-upper... Yet in person, the cottage is less charmingly ramshackle and more a real health and safety concern. When Henry Garnett, her (rather handsome) new contractor, turns up with his little daughter Pansy and a van shaped like a cottage in tow, she isn't sure whether to laugh or cry. What on earth has she gotten herself into?! 
     
    Still, there is something strangely lovable about the people in the little village of Merryknowe, from Rachel Brown, the quiet, lonely girl who bakes magical confections for the tearooms, to Tassie McIver, a little old lady with a lot of wisdom and a penchant for reading tea leaves. And Clara can't deny that Henry and Pansy are quickly worming their way into her heart... 
     
    With all the heartbreak of the year behind her, could Acorn Cottage be the fresh start Clara so desperately wants? 
     
    A heartwarming, uplifting village romance for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Cathy Bramley. 
     
    What readers are saying about Kate Forster: 
     
    'This beautifully descriptive and touching story about love and hope is fabulous sunshine reading' Closer. 
     
    'A lovely get-away-from-it-all read' Red. 
     
    'Enticing and addictive. I loved it' I Heart Chick Lit. 
     
    'A fun-filled, feel-good holiday read which is ideal just to put a big smile on your face' Reviewed the Book.
    Show book