Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Joke's On Who? - cover

The Joke's On Who?

Patricia Otto

Publisher: Patricia S. Otto

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

He had a plan. In retrospect, not a great one, but a girl has to do what a girl has to do when she’s out of options. 
Surgical technician Charlee Smith is guardian to Megan, her fifteen month old niece. Megan’s paternal grandparents, people the toddler has never even met, want to change that. Charlee needs quality child care and a bigger apartment. Stat. 
A few fibs and Megan is in the hospital daycare. Things are going well until handsome, deliciously-enticing surgeon Evan Smith—no relation—mistakenly gets the bill. 
Hence, the pressure to go along with his plan. 
Evan is not the long term relationship type, something his mother nags him about constantly. So when the opportunity to play a joke on his mother by telling her he’s married ends up with his mother telling him to bring his bride that weekend to his grandmother’s eightieth birthday party, the joke is on him. 
He needs a wife. Stat. Maybe Charlee, who used his status as an attending surgeon to get her niece in daycare, can help him out with that. Now they’re at the family estate, sleeping in the same bed, pretending to be married and fighting the attraction that is anything but a joke. 
The jokes are piling up, the lies are getting harder to keep straight and the plan hasn’t even started unraveling yet.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dark Obsession - cover

    Dark Obsession

    Cristiane Serruya

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Two billionaires who never fail to get what they want. They both want the same woman.
     
    Only one can have her.
     
     Ethan indulges his obsession with Sophia by satisfying his lust for her with a sexual surrogate look alike, but that’s not enough. He needs more than that, he needs to know what Sophia’s doing every minute of every day and night. And he will even look into London criminal underground for partners to get what he needs.
     
    Alistair is obsessed with Sophia. He is so enthralled now that they’ve entered into a sexual relationship he gets comfortable and introduces his kinkier sexual interests into their bedroom, pushing Sophia’s boundaries.
     
    Sophia is falling for Alistair more and more, but the journey is becoming darker and a bit scary, while also exciting. She doesn’t know what to think of his new sex games—or even worse, her reaction to them. Meanwhile, she’s even more scared of her past misdeeds coming to light, and if she decides she still wants to be with Alistair, knowing what he’s into sexually, would he even want her anymore if he found out about her terrible past deeds?
     
     A sizzling suspenseful romance for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Steel Brothers! If you like authors Sylvia Day, Maya Banks, Nora Roberts, and Danielle Steel, you’ll love DARK OBSESSION, the third installment of the TRUST Series!
    Show book
  • The Duke Comes Home - cover

    The Duke Comes Home

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Ever since the cruel death of her beloved brother, David at the Battle of Waterloo, Lady Ilina Bury's father, the fifth Duke of Tetbury, has taken out his grief on her and now he too has died and his will reiterates his contempt of her. 
    He leaves the beautiful nothing but the extremely valuable collection of jewels that had been given to his ancestor, the second Duke of Tetbury, by the Nizam of Hyderabad. 
    The trouble is that, although legendary, these jewels are also almost certainly mythical and Ilina and David have been searching Tetbury Abbey for them for years without any success.
    All but destitute she dreads the arrival of her father's heir and rather than be a burden, she decides to pretend that she is a paid employee of the poverty-stricken estate.
    And when the handsome new Duke finally does arrive from the Far East, he is visibly disappointed by what he sees, but worse still he says that he intends to abandon the estate, all its loyal staff and close up The Abbey for ever.
    He very quickly sees through Ilina's disguise and then she shows the Duke round the dilapidated house and estate and regales him with the family's illustrious history over many centuries.
    Although she despises him, she uses all her charms to persuade the Duke to stay and do his duty for his distinguished and aristocratic family. 
    And, as little by little he yields, so Ilina's heart slowly opens to love.
    Show book
  • The Wicked Wallflower - cover

    The Wicked Wallflower

    Maya Rodale

    • 5
    • 44
    • 0
    Maya Rodale's captivating new series introduces London's Least Likely—three wallflowers who are about to become the toast of the ton . . . 
    Lady Emma Avery has accidentally announced her engagement—to the most eligible man in England. As soon as it's discovered that Emma has never actually met the infamously attractive Duke of Ashbrooke, she'll no longer be a wallflower; she'll be a laughingstock. And then Ashbrooke does something Emma never expected. He plays along with her charade. 
    A temporary betrothal to the irreproachable Lady Avery could be just the thing to repair Ashbrooke's tattered reputation. Seducing her is simply a bonus. And then Emma does what he never expected: she refuses his advances. It's unprecedented. Inconceivable. Quite damnably alluring. 
    London's Least Likely to Misbehave has aroused the curiosity—among other things—of London's most notorious rogue. Now nothing will suffice but to uncover Emma's wanton side and prove there's nothing so satisfying as two perfect strangers . . . being perfectly scandalous together.
    Show book
  • Dancer in Lingerie - Lingerie #13 - cover

    Dancer in Lingerie - Lingerie #13

    Penelope Sky

    • 4
    • 25
    • 0
    Griffin offered to take me home but I refused, knowing he needed to get Vanessa home.  
    I walked to my apartment and took a short cut down an alleyway. 
    That was the worst mistake of my life. 
    Four men grabbed me. I fought them off, but when the barrel of a gun was pressed between my eyes, I knew the game was up. 
    But then a man appeared from the shadows and scared the men away like rats. 
    Tall, dark, and handsome.  
    His name is Bosco Roth. 
    He just saved my life, but he didn't do it for free. 
    He wants something in return. 
    A kiss. A hot and passionate kiss right up against the wall. 
    But that kiss is just the beginning.
    Show book
  • Falling Into Bed with a Duke - cover

    Falling Into Bed with a Duke

    Lorraine Heath

    • 7
    • 60
    • 1
    In the first in a dazzling new series, New York Times bestselling author Lorraine Heath introduces the Hellions of Havisham—three charismatic rogues destined to lose their hearts . . . 
    After six unsuccessful Seasons, Miss Minerva Dodger chooses spinsterhood over fortune-hungry suitors. But thanks to the Nightingale Club, she can at least enjoy one night of pleasure. At that notorious establishment, ladies don masks before choosing a lover. The sinfully handsome Duke of Ashebury is more than willing to satisfy the secretive lady's desires—and draws Minerva into an exquisite, increasingly intimate affair. 
    A man of remarkable talents, Ashe soon deduces that his bedmate is the unconventional Miss Dodger. Intrigued by her wit and daring, he sets out to woo her in earnest. Yet Minerva refuses to trust him. How to court a woman he has already thoroughly seduced? And how to prove that the passion unleashed in darkness is only the beginning of a lifetime's pleasure . . . ? 
    LORRAINE HEATH always dreamed of being a writer. After graduating from the University of Texas, she wrote training manuals, press releases, articles, and computer code, but something was always missing. When she read a romance novel, she not only became hooked on the genre, but quickly realized what her writing lacked: rebels, scoundrels, and rogues. She's been writing about them ever since. Her work has been recognized with numerous industry awards, including RWA's prestigious RITA®. Her novels have appeared on the USA Today and New York Times bestseller lists. 
    www.lorraineheath.com www.avonromance.com www.facebook.com/avonromance
    Show book
  • The Billionaire Bargain - Untamable Billionaire Series #2 - cover

    The Billionaire Bargain -...

    Sierra Rose

    • 3
    • 42
    • 0
    This is book 2.  
    With chemistry this hot, it's hard for Luke and Paige to keep the marriage platonic as planned. Sparks fly! But when everything crashes around Paige, her world is shattered.  
    Show book