Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Joke's On Who? - cover

The Joke's On Who?

Patricia Otto

Publisher: Patricia S. Otto

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

He had a plan. In retrospect, not a great one, but a girl has to do what a girl has to do when she’s out of options. 
Surgical technician Charlee Smith is guardian to Megan, her fifteen month old niece. Megan’s paternal grandparents, people the toddler has never even met, want to change that. Charlee needs quality child care and a bigger apartment. Stat. 
A few fibs and Megan is in the hospital daycare. Things are going well until handsome, deliciously-enticing surgeon Evan Smith—no relation—mistakenly gets the bill. 
Hence, the pressure to go along with his plan. 
Evan is not the long term relationship type, something his mother nags him about constantly. So when the opportunity to play a joke on his mother by telling her he’s married ends up with his mother telling him to bring his bride that weekend to his grandmother’s eightieth birthday party, the joke is on him. 
He needs a wife. Stat. Maybe Charlee, who used his status as an attending surgeon to get her niece in daycare, can help him out with that. Now they’re at the family estate, sleeping in the same bed, pretending to be married and fighting the attraction that is anything but a joke. 
The jokes are piling up, the lies are getting harder to keep straight and the plan hasn’t even started unraveling yet.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Week to Be Wicked - cover

    A Week to Be Wicked

    Tessa Dare

    • 5
    • 51
    • 0
    Unexpected lovers find themselves together in Spindle Cove with A Week to be Wicked—the second book in Tessa Dare’s utterly delectable historical romance series. This Regency Era delight finds a restless British lord desperate to escape the quaint and too quiet small seaside resort he’s trapped in…and he gets much more than he expected when he eagerly agrees to escort a beautiful, brilliant, socially awkward lady scientist to Scotland. Concerning Tessa Dare and her irresistible romances, bestselling author Julia Quinn is spot on when she says, “Prepare to fall in love!” And anyone who loves the novels of Lisa Kleypas, Christina Dodd, and Liz Carlyle is going to adore having A Week to be Wicked.
    Show book
  • Her Sister's Bridegroom - cover

    Her Sister's Bridegroom

    Jane Bonander

    • 2
    • 17
    • 0
    Bestselling author Jane Bonander delights with enchanting historical romances set on the Scottish borderlands, perfect for fans of Paula Quinn and Karen Marie Moning.
    “Bonander writes with an easy style that brings her characters and timeframe to vivid, entertaining life.” —RT Book Reviews
    Robbie Fleming is out of options.
    When Robbie Fleming is evicted from her Edinburgh rooming house, she fears she’ll have to live on the street. Penniless, orphaned, and on poor terms with her only relative—her fraternal twin sister, Birdie—Robbie has nowhere to go.
    But then she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, the man she has pined for since she was a girl. Although Gavin (and every other male within miles) seemed head over heels in love with flirty and vivacious Birdie, his letter holds a surprise: He wants to marry Robbie. Thrilled by the proposal and her change of luck, Robbie accepts, landing on his doorstep with little more than the clothes on her back.
    Gavin Eliot has his head in the clouds.
    When Robbie shows up at his borderlands manor, Gavin’s astonished to realize that he’s just unwittingly proposed to the wrong sister. But with Robbie in need of a home and Gavin honor-bound to his word, they find themselves headed to the altar. Will Robbie’s heart heal from the betrayal? And can Gavin learn to love the last woman he ever expected to marry?
    Show book
  • Beauty and the Lumberjacks - A contemporary reverse harem romance - cover

    Beauty and the Lumberjacks - A...

    Lee Savino

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    After this logging season, I’m never having sex again. Because: reasons.
     
    But first, I have a gig earning room and board and ten thousand dollars by ‘entertaining’ 8 lumberjacks. Eight strong and strapping Paul Bunyan types, big enough to break me in two.
     
    There’s Lincoln, the leader, the stern, silent type...
     
    Jagger, the Kurt Cobain look-alike, with a soul full of music and rockstar moves...
     
    Elon & Oren, ginger twins who share everything...
     
    Saint, the quiet genius with a monster in his pants…
     
    Roy and Tommy, who just want to watch...
     
    And Mason, who hates me and won’t say why, but on his night tries to break me with pleasure
     
    They own me: body, mind and orgasms. 
     
    But when they discover my secret--the reason I’m hiding from the world—everything changes.  
     
    Beauty & the Lumberjacks is a stand-alone contemporary reverse harem romance starring one lucky heroine and eight big, strapping lumberjacks in the deep, dark woods.
    Show book
  • Forever and a Day - A Sexy Gay M M Vampire Short Story from Steam Books - cover

    Forever and a Day - A Sexy Gay M...

    Steam Books, Dara Tulen

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Landon Reed had lived for three centuries, shunning the human world and  maintaining a safe distance. In all his years, he'd never considered  taking a human as a lover. Then, one night, he is drawn to an alley  where he finds Sean Caffrey, a college student, left beaten and bloody.  Unable to leave the handsome young man, Landon takes Sean home and finds  that he may have gotten more than he bargained for  WARNING: This 3,942-word story is a steamy read that features passionate  gay M/M lovemaking and may be too much for some readers to handle!
    Show book
  • Rules of Attraction - Governess Brides #4 - cover

    Rules of Attraction - Governess...

    Christina Dodd

    • 3
    • 21
    • 0
    The Rules of Enticement: 
    A woman should never surrender to a man without knowing his intentions. A man should never seduce a woman for the purposes of revenge. 
    Rules of Society 
    After nine years, Hannah Setterington has decided tosell the Distinguished Academy of Governesses and explore the secrets of her past. To that end she has agreed to be a companion to the elderly aunt of Lord Raeburn, a man enshrouded by dark mystery and haunted by the rumor that he murdered his wife. A strong-minded woman accustomed to the vagaries of nobility, Hannah believes the rumor to be so much piffle, until she comes face to face with Lord Raeburn. 
    Rules of Fascination 
    Dougald Pippard, Lord Raeburn, is deviously satisfied when his plan to trap Hannah springs itself successfully. But his satisfaction is short-lived as the indomitable Hannah draws the battle lines and kisses him with the pent-up passion Dougald hasn't felt for nine long years. The fire that has always flared between them rages again with every touch, every glance,until Dougald is almost ready to forget his wounded memories and plans of revenge for just one more night with her. 
    Rules of Attraction
    Show book
  • The Scoundrel's Pleasure - The MacNeil Legacy - Book Two - cover

    The Scoundrel's Pleasure - The...

    Jane Bonander

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Bestselling author Jane Bonander enchants readers the world over with her heartfelt historical romances set in Scotland and perfect for the readership of Monica McCarty and Julie Garwood.  
    
    Duncan MacNeil voyages over the sea to make his fortune in America. Shortly before his departure, he has a single tryst near the village fair with lovely Isobel Dunbar. Their romp leads to a pregnancy, and while he is across the ocean, Isobel gives birth to a spirited boy she names Ian. To protect her reputation and to prevent Duncan’s wealthy family from taking Ian away from her, Isobel concocts a story that her neighbors believe—she claims Ian’s father married her and then died in a shipwreck, leaving her a poor widow. The truth, she hopes, will never be discovered, and her son will never meet his father. 
     
    When Duncan returns, weary of the New World and ready to take charge of his family’s business, his first plan is to buy a run-down former brothel and convert it to a cannery. Only this is where Isobel now calls home. He can’t understand why she refuses to sell, and he certainly cannot understand why she harbors such resentment towards him. Then he realizes who this beautiful woman once was to him. Can Duncan grow from an irresponsible boy into a man who takes responsibility for his past carelessness? And can Isobel ever trust this stranger, when keeping Ian’s parentage a secret is the only way she knows to keep her beloved son close?
    Show book