Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Lilly: Bride of Illinois - American Mail-Order Brides #21 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have 800,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Lilly: Bride of Illinois - American Mail-Order Brides #21

Linda K. Hubalek

Publisher: Butterfield Books Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A sweet wholesome historical romance set in 1890. 
Lilly Lind was forced to emigrate from Sweden two years ago, due to circumstances beyond her control. She finds a job as a garment maker in the Brown Textile Mill in Lawrence, Massachusetts, finally feeling as though she is settling in her new country. Then a suspicious fire burns the mill, making Lilly seek another way to survive. She answers a mail-order bride ad in the Grooms’ Gazette and sets off for Chicago, believing she will be a business owner’s wife. 
Kansas rancher Seth Reagan travels to the Union Stockyards in Chicago to attend the 1890 American Fat Stock Show, the American Horse Show, and to purchase horseflesh to augment his herd. When arriving at the train station, he overhears a conversation between a young woman and a shady-looking man. Seth becomes concerned for the mail-order bride who is whisked away to a saloon, not to her new husband’s home. 
When Seth goes to the saloon to check on the young woman, he finds her in trouble and offers to help her escape. While buying horses and arranging their return travel to Kansas, Seth realizes he would like to bring Lilly home with him, too, but she is still being hunted by the saloon owner’s thugs. 
Lilly’s good fortune in meeting Seth makes her want to start a life with this man, but he came to Illinois for horses, not a bride. Would he want her after he learns of her secrets?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Fire of Love - cover

    The Fire of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Arriving at an employment agency in the West End of London in search for some way to support herself and her beloved old Nanny after her father’s gambling debts have left her in penury, the beautiful young Carina is offered a very unusual post in which she must take charge young of a young boy, the son of one, Lady Lynche. 
    On visiting her at her lodgings Carina is dismayed to find that Lady Lynche, an Oriental lady, is at death’s door and so is reluctantly persuaded to take her child, Dipa, to his father in the English countryside.
    Arriving at the vast and imposing Lynche Castle in the depths of Gloucestershire, however, she finds that the child is far from welcome and that Lord Lynche, although more handsome than any other man she has ever seen, is living a dissolute bachelor’s life with his disreputable friends, who only want to gamble day and night at cards. 
    As well as the ghosts that apparently linger behind The Castle’s imperious walls, the place is haunted by a sense of shame and misery, for what Carina knows not, but she is determined to find out. 
    Slowly the veils of secrecy and mystery are peeled away and the darkness is lit up with the fire of love.
    Show book
  • Accidentally on Purpose - A Heartbreaker Bay Novel - cover

    Accidentally on Purpose - A...

    Jill Shalvis

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    (A standalone Heartbreaker Bay novel) 
    There’s no such thing as a little in love . . . 
    Elle Wheaton’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .   
    There’s no such thing as a little in lust . . . 
    Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco earthquake and he craves her 24/7, but Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . . 
    There is such a thing as . . . 
    As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along . . .
    Show book
  • Why Do Dukes Fall in Love? - A Dukes Behaving Badly Novel - cover

    Why Do Dukes Fall in Love? - A...

    Megan Frampton

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    In Megan Frampton’s captivating new Dukes Behaving Badly novel, we learn the answer to the question: 
    Why do dukes fall in love? 
    Michael, the Duke of Hadlow, has the liberty of enjoying an indiscretion . . . or several. But when it comes time for him to take a proper bride, he ultimately realizes he wants only one woman: Edwina Cheltam. He’d hired her as his secretary, only to quickly discover she was sensuous and intelligent. 
    They embark on a passionate affair, and when she breaks it off, he accepts her decision as the logical one . . . but only at first. Then he decides to pursue her. 
    Michael is brilliant, single-minded, and utterly indifferent to being the talk of the ton. It’s even said his only true friend is his dog. Edwina had begged him to marry someone appropriate–—someone aristocratic . . . someone high-born . . . someone else. But the only thing more persuasive than a duke intent on seduction is one who has fallen irrevocably in love.
    Show book
  • His Wicked Seduction - cover

    His Wicked Seduction

    Lauren Smith

    • 0
    • 16
    • 0
    Fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton Series and Johanna Lindsey’s Malory Series will love the passionate romances and gripping adventures of the League of Rogues.Can the League’s most wicked rakehell be tamed? Or has this Rogue fallen too far?Horatia Sheridan has been hopelessly in love with Lucien, her brother’s best friend, ever since he rescued her from the broken remains of her parents’ wrecked carriage. His reputation as London’s most notorious rakehell doesn’t frighten her, for under his veneer of cool authority she has glimpsed a man whose wicked desires inspire her own.Lucien, Marquess of Rochester, has deliberately nurtured a reputation for debauchery that makes every matchmaking mother of the ton quake with fear. His one secret: he is torn between soul-ripping lust for Horatia, and the loyalty he owes her brother.That loyalty is put to the test when an old enemy of the League threatens Horatia’s life. With Christmas drawing near, he sweeps her away to his country estate, where he can’t resist granting her one wish—to share his bed and his heart.But sinister forces are lurking, awaiting the perfect moment to exact their revenge by destroying not only whatever happiness Lucien might find in Horatia’s arms, but the lives of those they love.Warning: This book contains an intelligent lady who is determined to seduce her brother’s friend, a brooding rake whose toy of choice in bed is a little bit of bondage with a piece of red silk, a loyal band of merry rogues and a Christmas love so scorching you’ll need fresh snow to extinguish it. *Includes Exclusive Scene Art and Illustrations!This book was previously published by Samhain Publishing and is now re-released.
    Show book
  • The Perfect Duchess - cover

    The Perfect Duchess

    Erica Taylor

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    After his fiancée elopes with a footman, Andrew Macalister, the brooding Duke of Bradstone, is hesitant to trust any woman ever Andrew Macalister, oft regarded as the Stone Duke of Bradstone, hates his annual birthday ball tradition. He dislikes facing those around him who only see him for his title, and has given up on a chance to live a normal life. That is, until he spots Lady Clara Masson across the ballroom. Clara's twin sister is the woman who infamously jilted Andrew at the altar five years ago, but little does Clara know, Andrew had been smitten with her since childhood, and he finds her presence a ray of sunshine in a dreary dukedom. When Clara's life is threatened by her evil brother, Johnathan, Andrew must do the only thing he can think of to save her: propose marriage. Between Clara's trust issues and Andrew's battle with societal norms, two find romance under dangerous circumstances. 
    Show book
  • Punished with Love - cover

    Punished with Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Almost identical in their golden-haired, blue-eyed beauty and similarly named, cousins Antonia ‘Toni’ Combe and Latonia Hythe are nevertheless very different personalities. 
    Desperate to avoid a journey to India forced on her by her stern uncle, Kenrick Combe, the new Lord Branscombe, and which would prevent her marrying the man she desperately loves , the flirtatious and capricious Toni beseeches her cousin to take her place as her Uncle Kenrick has not seen Toni for many years. 
    So conscientious Latonia nervously accepts the pretence, assumes the role of her cousin and then sets sail with her stern protector for India. 
    Berated and frowned upon by his Lordship for her cousin’s ‘misdeeds’, Latonia nevertheless looks forward to the adventure of visiting and seeing India, until her deception is revealed to his Lordship’s fury!
    But, when she overhears a sinister plot to kill him, she rushes in the night to warn him and is rewarded with passionate kiss, she suddenly knows that it is not hate but love that burns in her heart – love for a man who must surely despise her forever –
    Show book