Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Queen Bee: Reflections on Life and Other Rude Awakenings - cover

Queen Bee: Reflections on Life and Other Rude Awakenings

Catherine Sevenau

Publisher: Tintype Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Catherine Sevenau is an opener of doors,  an irreverent teller of tales, and the family scribe. Her first book, Passages from Behind These Doors, A Family Memoir, sets the pace for Queen Bee, Reflections on Life and Other Rude Awakenings. These 88 stories include posts from her blog, stories from her heart, and musings from her past. Join her on this roller coaster journey of reflections, as life,  with its continual barrage of rude awakenings, is always a ride!

Who read this book also read:

  • Breaking Point - cover

    Breaking Point

    Suzy Spencer

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of THE FORTUNE HUNTER
    Andrea Yates, a suburban Houston mother of five, horrified the nation on June 20, 2001, when she dialed 911 and said, "I killed my children."
    While her husband Rusty, a NASA engineer, was at work, Andrea filled the family bathtub with water and systematically drowned their children, ages six months to seven years. As her eldest child lay lifeless in the bathtub and the bodies of her four youngest rested in her bed, Andrea, a devoted Christian wife and former nurse, called the police to confess her sin.
    The investigations by the prosecutors, by the defense, and by the press delved deeper into Andrea’s mind and history, revealing a disturbing web of suicidal tendencies, depression, and psychoses. While her husband struggled between his overwhelming grief and his loyalty to his incarcerated wife, an outraged nation asked one question after another: How could anyone do this? What would drive a mother to kill her children?
    Drawing from hundreds of hours of interviews, court testimony, and medical records, including new access to psychiatric and legal files, BREAKING POINT traces the story of an all-American family struggling with the darkness of a mental illness that twisted a loving mother into a killer obsessed with hellfire.
    "BREAKING POINT is a truly spellbinding read."—Aphrodite Jones, bestselling author of CRUEL SACRIFICE
    “Suzy Spencer weaves the dark threads of mental illness, infanticide, and punishment into a classic true-crime tapestry that is both thorough and gut-wrenching.”—Ron Franscell, bestselling author of THE DARKEST NIGHT
    This new edition of BREAKING POINT has been updated throughout.
    Show book
  • Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir - cover

    Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir

    Dave Mustaine, Joe Layden

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.
    Show book
  • As Bad as They Say? - Three Decades of Teaching in the Bronx - cover

    As Bad as They Say? - Three...

    Janet Mayer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rundown, vermin-infested buildings. Rigid, slow-to-react bureaucratic systems. Children from broken homes and declining communities. How can a teacher succeed? How does a student not only survive but also come to thrive? It can happen, and As Bad as They Say? tells the heroic stories of Janet Mayer’s students during her 33-year tenure as a Bronx high school teacher.
    
    In 1995, Janet Mayer’s students began a pen-pal exchange with South African teenagers who, under apartheid, had been denied an education; almost uniformly, the South Africans asked, “Is the Bronx as bad as they say?” This dedicated teacher promised those students and all future ones that she would write a book to help change the stereotypical image of Bronx students and show that, in spite of overwhelming obstacles, they are outstanding young people, capable of the highest achievements.
    
    She walks the reader through the decrepit school building, describing in graphic detail the deplorable physical conditions that students and faculty navigate daily. Then, in eight chapters we meet eight amazing young people, a small sample of the more than 14,000 students the writer has felt honored to teach.
    
    She describes her own Bronx roots and the powerful influences that made her such a determined teacher. Finally, the veteran teacher sounds the alarm to stop the corruption and degradation of public education in the guise of what are euphemistically labeled “reforms” (No Child Left Behind and Race to the Top). She also expresses optimism that public education and our democracy can still be saved, urgently calling on all to become involved and help save our schools.
    Show book
  • The Great American Guru: A Mystic in the Bible Belt - cover

    The Great American Guru: A...

    E.V. Elam

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Great American Guru is a complete "how to" guide for spiritual enlightenment.  Read a page, this begins a spellbinding journey of Audle Allison through his luminous life, fully transforming into an enlightened man-God man!  His seventy years of difficult transformation and crystallizing pain also reveals the joy and humor of becoming more of the true self.
    Audle, born in Missouri during the First World War, suffers from multiple health issues with amazing results.  Nevertheless, his mother Effie dies of influenza before Audle fully recovers. Audle's father Oscar is a workaholic, expressing a wealthy mentality. However, he loses everything in the Depression Era when the banks fail.  After the family moves from their mansion to the poor side of town, Audle faces the hardships of poverty, family disagreements, and the cruelty of teenage gang fighters-yet inspires himself to get tough with body-building and sports. 
    Finally, he achieves the status of athletic hero, war veteran, and successful businessman. However, a midlife crisis brings him to his knees, asking, "What is life all about, and why am I here?"  He is desperate for answers, which attract his teachers and gurus, who open his mind to a direct experience into God consciousness.  Audle crystallizes his pain into wisdom as he propels his consciousness beyond the human veil.  With mastery comes the amazing realization that to serve the divine self is the first priority.  As a result, he realizes the Great Laws of the Universe and wants to share this philosophy.  He begins his spiritual job by teaching meditation in Oklahoma City-a mystic in the Bible Belt.  God has a sense of humor.  The results of his teaching are astounding: emotional people smile; hippies get a job; happiness resolves depression; atheists find God; alcoholics transform their lives; hundreds of people find incredible peace in meditation.  A new consciousness is born to humanity.  Follow a master's pattern.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book
  • I AM~A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - cover

    I AM~A Book of Unintentional...

    Anonymous

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young man's girl friend aborts their child spinning the author into a soul searching depression which he writes about in detail.
    Show book