Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Commoners' Festival (The Eternal Dungeon) - The Eternal Dungeon - cover

Commoners' Festival (The Eternal Dungeon) - The Eternal Dungeon

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Eternal Dungeon is celebrating the Commoners' Festival, and all the elite are feasting. Including a man who is secretly a commoner.

 
This short story of love and sacrifice can be read on its own or as a side story in The Eternal Dungeon, a speculative fiction series set in a nineteenth-century prison.

 
The Eternal Dungeon series is part of Turn-of-the-Century Toughs, a cycle of alternate history series (Waterman, Life Prison, Commando, Michael's House, The Eternal Dungeon, and Dark Light) about adults and youths on the margins of society, and the people who love them. Set in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the novels and stories take place in an alternative version of America that was settled by inhabitants of the Old World in ancient times. As a result, the New World retains certain classical and medieval customs.

Other books that might interest you

  • Pale Demon - cover

    Pale Demon

    Kim Harrison

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "I wouldn’t miss a Kim Harrison book for anything."—Charlaine Harris, author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels  
    New York Times bestselling urban fantasy superstar Kim Harrison is back with Pale Demon—her ninth electrifying adventure featuring contemporary witch Rachel Morgan. This time Rachel's leaving the Hollows, on a cross-country road trip with a pixy, an elf, and a vampire, as she races to clear her blackened name at a California witches' convention in order to avoid an eternity of torment at the claws of a soul-devouring demon. Pale Demon is Kim Harrison at her gothic best—combining mystery, action, intrigue, paranormal romance, and breathtaking dark fantasy in a delicious witches’ brew that fans of Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris, Stephenie Meyer, and Jim Butcher simply will not be able to resist.
    Show book
  • The Guardians - The Tempest Isle Series #1 - cover

    The Guardians - The Tempest Isle...

    Rena Marin, S.C. Storm

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Hidden in the beauty of a cluster of islands, unbeknownst to humans, a supernatural war rages. The Guardians, protectors of the Nexxus and the Goddess Selena, fight daily to ensure the survival of all races. Hidden agendas, supernatural politics, and sins of the past threaten to endanger the very world they all strive to protect. Led by two families who must embrace their destinies, the Guardians of Tempest must now step up to lead their races to victory.
    Show book
  • Kris Longknife - Emissary - Kris Longknife #15 - cover

    Kris Longknife - Emissary - Kris...

    Mike Shepherd

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Kris Longknife has discovered that this desk job is not at all what she expected.  Being desk bound hasn't even decreased the number of assassination attempts!  Then Kris gets home to find her two kids playing with an Iteeche.  Ron has come back to human space with a request.  Should Kris honor it?  Can she finally get some straight answeres from her Grampa Ray, King Raymond to most?  Does she risk taking the kids into a situation with a whole lot of unanswered questions?  Oh, and what can go wrong?  Kris knows something will go wrong.  Something always goes wrong.
    Show book
  • A Faerie's Curse - Creepy Hollow #6 - cover

    A Faerie's Curse - Creepy Hollow #6

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    A witch's curse. A world-ending prophecy. A daring rescue mission. Don't miss the heart-pounding finale to Calla's story!  
    On the run from the Guild of Guardians, Calla Larkenwood and her team of fellow outlaws plan a daring rescue operation into the Seelie Court itself. As if that isn't enough to keep them busy, the power-hungry Princess Angelica has begun preparations for a horrifying prophesied spell that will forever change both the magic and non-magic realms.  
     
    When Calla is blindsided by an unspeakable tragedy before the rescue can be carried out, she struggles to remain focused on her mission. She believes she's reached her lowest point—until a witch reveals the final blow: she has cursed Calla's magic. With time running out, can Calla save the one she loves and stop the prophecy from being carried out before the curse claims her life?  
     
    Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments, The Iron Fey, and Graceling. 
    Show book
  • Vowed (Book #7 in the Vampire Journals) - cover

    Vowed (Book #7 in the Vampire...

    Morgan Rice

    • 3
    • 14
    • 0
    "A book to rival TWILIGHT and VAMPIRE DIARIES, and one that will have you wanting to keep reading until the very last page! If you are into adventure, love and vampires this book is the one for you!" --Vampirebooksite.com (Turned)VOWED is Book #7 in the #1 Bestselling series THE VAMPIRE JOURNALS, which begins with TURNED (Book #1)! In VOWED (Book #7 of the Vampire Journals), Caitlin and Caleb find themselves in medieval Scotland, in 1350, a time of knights and shining armor, of castles and warriors, of the quest for the Holy Grail said to contain the key to true vampire immortality. Landing on the shores of the ancient Isle of Skye, a remote island off the Western coast of Scotland where only the most elite warriors live and train, they are ecstatic to reunite with Sam and Polly, Scarlet and Ruth, a human king and his warriors, and with all of Aiden’s coven. Before they can continue their mission for the fourth and final key, the time has come for Caleb and Caitlin to wed. Against the most amazing backdrop Caitlin could ever hope for, an elaborate vampire wedding is planned, including all of the ancient rituals and ceremonies that accompany it. It is the wedding of a lifetime, meticulously planned by Polly and the others, and Caitlin and Caleb are happier than they’ve ever been. Simultaneously, Sam and Polly, to their own surprise, are each falling deeply in love with one another. As their relationship accelerates, Sam surprises Polly with a vow of his own. And Polly surprises him with her own shocking news. But all is not well beneath the surface. Blake has appeared again, and his deep love for Caitlin might just threaten her union, on the day before her wedding. Sera has appeared again, too, and vows to break apart what she cannot have. Scarlet, too, finds herself in danger, as the source of her deep powers are revealed—along with the revelation of who are her true parents. Worst of all, Kyle has landed back in time, and has tracked down his old protégé, Rynd, to force him to use his shapeshifting skill to trick and kill Caitlin and her people. As they fall into his elaborate trap, Caitlin and the others find themselves in deeper danger than ever before. It will be a race to find the final key, before everyone Caitlin holds dear is wiped out for good. This time, she will have to make the hardest choices and sacrifices of her life.
    Show book
  • Chased by Fire - The Cloud Warrior Saga #1 - cover

    Chased by Fire - The Cloud...

    D.K. Holmberg

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An ancient artifact that must be found. Terrifying creatures from dark and dangerous Incendin. And long-forgotten elementals again unleashed on the world. 
    As an earth senser, Tan is tasked with helping guide the king's servant through the dangerous mountain passes in search for the artifact before Incendin can reach it first. But after losing his father to the war, Tan wants nothing to do with the king's demands. When everything he knows is lost, he is forced to risk himself to save the one person who can find the artifact, a beautiful girl who has lost as much as Tan. In doing so, power the world hasn't seen in nearly a thousand years is awoken, and a warrior long thought dead returns to claim the artifact for himself.
    Show book