Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brown Boy Wouldn't Bark! - Playground Pocket Books - cover

Brown Boy Wouldn't Bark! - Playground Pocket Books

Kathy Warnes

Publisher: Kathy Warnes

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Boy Brown wouldn't bark until his boy Jasper Jones said a special word.  What is the special word?

Who read this book also read:

  • Sky Rider - cover

    Sky Rider

    Nancy Springer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Everything changes when a handsome stranger rides off into the night on Dusty’s horse There’s no way around it: Dusty’s horse Tazz needs to be put down. Once a champion jumper, Tazz can barely walk now due to hoof pain. And that’s not the only thing that’s wrong in Dusty’s life. Since her mother’s death, Dusty’s dad hasn’t stopped drinking—even after his drunk driving put Dusty in the hospital with a now-chronic back injury. Why don’t they just put me down too? she wonders. While Dusty is giving Tazz one last grooming, his ears suddenly prick up as a stranger approaches: a young boy with an otherworldly beauty. He offers to take Tazz with him, and the two race off into the distance as though Tazz were in perfect health, with the boy perched on his back. Who could this person be? And what is he doing here? It’s only when Dusty returns to school the next day that she hears about the boy who was killed. When she sees his photo in the newspaper, she knows that he’s the mysterious guy who rode off on Tazz. What she doesn’t know is that he will soon return.
    Show book
  • Anything But Hank - cover

    Anything But Hank

    Rachel Lebowitz, Zachariah Wells

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Anything But Hank! Rachel Lebowitz and Zachariah Wells combine the whimsical humour of Lewis Carroll with the adventure-narrative balladeering of Robert Service to spin an unforgettable tale of a baby -- and a pig! -- in search of a name. Their quest takes them from the city to the mountains, as they seek an audience with the Wizard and his baby-naming Mexican beaded lizard. The story, accompanied by the gorgeously lush paintings of Eric Orchard, is a delight for readers of all ages.
    Show book
  • Airplanes - A LOOK BOOK Easy Reader - cover

    Airplanes - A LOOK BOOK Easy Reader

    P.J. Harding

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Written and published by P.J. Harding. Another in the 'LOOK BOOK' series - Your child will love this easy reader and brilliant color picture book of airplanes. Each page has a photographic image of all kinds of airplanes from all over the world. The simple text is easily understood by young pre-readers and easy to learn for emerging readers.
    Show book
  • Desayuno Breakfast - cover

    Desayuno Breakfast

    Publishing Xist

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Discover Series Books for Babies & Toddlers  
    Rise and shine!  It's time to have breakfast.  Mouthwatering photos of pancakes and waffles, bacon and eggs make this picture book a delightful treat for children who wonder why can't we always have breakfast for dinner. Used as a jumpstart for interaction, Discover Series Picture Books are a great way to introduce new images, words and concepts to kids.  
    Discover series bilingual titles feature word picture association in both English and Spanish. Descubra libros de la serie para bebés y niños pequeños   
     ¡Sube y brille!  Es hora de desayunar.  Fotos deliciosas de panqueques y galletas, tocino y huevos hacen de este libro de imágenes un delicioso regalo para los niños que se preguntan por qué no siempre podemos tener el desayuno para la cena. Utilizado como un salto para la interacción, Discover Series Picture Books son una gran manera de introducir nuevas imágenes, palabras y conceptos a los niños.   Los títulos bilingües de la serie Discover cuentan con asociación de imágenes de palabras en inglés y español.
    Show book
  • The Thief - cover

    The Thief

    Megan Whalen Turner

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief 
    New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 
    Eugenides, the queen’s thief, can steal anything—or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king’s magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he’s in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. 
    This edition of The Thief includes an exclusive piece by Megan Whalen Turner about her inspiration for the setting of the story, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen's Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen's Thief.   
    A Newbery Honor Book 
    An ALA Notable Book 
    A YALSA Best Book for Young Adults 
    A Horn Book Fanfare Book 
    A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age 
    A Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon Book 
    A Junior Library Guild Selection 
    “The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer 
    "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again.”—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows 
    “Trust me. Just read it. Then read it again, because it will not be the same river twice.”—Lois McMaster Bujold, acclaimed and Hugo Award-winning author of the Vorkosigan Saga, the Chalion Series, and the Sharing Knife series 
    "In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all—a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
    “To miss this thief’s story would be a crime.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review) 
    “A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 
    “A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel.”—The Horn Book (starred review)
    Show book
  • How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids - cover

    How to Read Literature Like a...

    Thomas C. Foster

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    The go-to bestselling guide to help young people navigate from a middle school book report to English Comp 101 
    In How to Read Literature Like a Professor: For Kids, New York Times bestselling author and professor Thomas C. Foster gives tweens the tools they need to become thoughtful readers. 
    With funny insights and a conversational style, he explains the way writers use symbol, metaphor, characterization, setting, plot, and other key techniques to make a story come to life. 
    From that very first middle school book report to that first college course, kids need to be able to understand the layers of meaning in literature. Foster makes learning this important skill fun and exciting by using examples from How the Grinch Stole Christmas to The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, from short stories and poems to movie scripts. 
    This go-to guide unlocks all the hidden secrets to reading, making it entertaining and satisfying.
    Show book