Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Prairie Bloomin' - Butter in the Well #2 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have 800,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Prairie Bloomin' - Butter in the Well #2

Linda K. Hubalek

Publisher: Butterfield Books Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Prairie Bloomin’: The Prairie Blossoms for an Immigrant's Daughter, 1889-1900.  
Butter in the Well Series, Book 2 . 
Popular Kansas author Linda K. Hubalek continues the story of a Swedish immigrant family featured in the Butter in the Well series with the second book Prairie Bloomin' (formerly titled Prärieblomman).  
Prairie Bloomin' features the 1889 to 1900 diary of daughter Alma Swenson, as she grows up on the farm her parents homesteaded.  
Even though born on the same farm in two different centuries, Prairie Bloomin’s main character, Alma Swenson Runneberg, and the author shared uncanny similarities while growing up in the Smoky Valley region of central Kansas. Both the third child of their families, they lived in the same house, played in the same yard and worked the same acres until each married and moved off the farm.  
“…is a tender and touching diary…Hubalek has succeeded in blowing life into both Alma and the fascinating times she lived through. Hubalek’s books give Swedish-Americans a perspective of the past.” Anders Neumueller, Swedish Press, Vancouver, BC Canada.  
“Hubalek takes the reader on a journey to another time and place with this sequel to Butter in the Well. Swedish traditions are intertwined with tidbits from Kansas history in this unique historical diary.” Andrea Glenn, Editor of KANSAS! Magazine.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Borgias - cover

    The Borgias

    Alexandre Dumas

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    There are many dreadful -- and perhaps scurrilous -- rumors about the Borgia family of renaissance Italy, and Alexandre Dumas (author of "The Three Musketeers" and many other period classics) reveals one possible truth in all its ugly glory. Dumas minces no words in describing the violent acts of a violent time.
    Show book
  • The Meaning of Flowers - Myth Language & Lore - cover

    The Meaning of Flowers - Myth...

    Ann Field, Gretchen Scoble

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Should you send a rose of crimson or of white to the one you love? What gift of flowers best expresses thanks to a dear friend? From ancient days, long before words complicated what we say to one another, flowers have been our messengers, invested with our most cherished feelings. Illustrated with luscious collages by acclaimed artist Ann Field, this enchanting tribute to the power and symbolism of flowers offers a contemporary introduction to an age-old tradition. The text draws on botanical, historical, and mythological sources worldwide, from ancient Rome to Victorian England, from Asia to the Americas, presenting portraits of almost 50 blossoms favored for all time. In Persia, for instance, the black medulla of the red tulip was said to represent the lover's heart, burnt to a coal by love's passion. To Victorians, lavender signified a broken trust, hollyhocks fertility, and nasturtiums a jest or whimsy. Blending fact, folktale, natural history, and original art, The Meaning of Flowers explores the language and lore of nature's most intimate and beautiful gifts.
    Show book
  • America's Secret Aristocracy - cover

    America's Secret Aristocracy

    Stephen Birmingham

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    America’s Secret Aristocracy is a report from inside the shush-shush inner circle of America’s upper crust. Full of eccentric family members and well-sourced gossip, bestselling writer Stephen Birmingham spins an entertaining social history.  
    Show book
  • Words of Silk: A Classic Love Story - cover

    Words of Silk: A Classic Love Story

    Sandra Brown

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    When Laney McLeod finds herself stuck in a Manhattan high-rise elevator, she must rely on the handsome stranger with her to help her overcome her claustrophobia. The man, Deke Sargent, finds himself equally drawn to this beautiful and vulnerable woman. When the power goes back on, Deke and Laney find themselves in a heated embrace that leads to an even more passionate night in Deke's apartment. The next morning, shocked at her brazenness, Laney disappears. Unable to forget the chemistry between them, but afraid that she is just another notch on the handsome playboy's bedpost, Laney must risk her heart or forever lose the one man she can't resist.
    Show book
  • In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

    In Manchuria - A Village Called...

    Michael Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
        
      Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
    Show book
  • How to Analyze People on Sight - cover

    How to Analyze People on Sight

    Elsie Lincoln Benedict, Ralph...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Modern science has proved that the fundamental traits of every individual are indelibly stamped in the shape of his body, head, face and hands-an X-ray by which you can read the characteristics of any person on sight.
    The most essential thing in the world to any individual is to understand himself. The next is to understand the other fellow. For life is largely a problem of running your own car as it was built to be run, plus getting along with the other drivers on the highway.
    From this book you are going to learn which type of car you are and the main reasons why you have not been getting the maximum of service out of yourself.
    Also you are going to learn the makes of other human cars, and how to get the maximum of co-operation out of them. This co-operation is vital to happiness and success. We come in contact with our fellowman in all the activities of our lives and what we get out of life depends, to an astounding degree, on our relations with him. 
    ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
    Elsie Lincoln Benedict was a famous human analyst and her views, especially as put forward in this book, captured an enormous audience and were massively famous in their day.
    Show book