Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Beginnings - Same Face Different Place #1 - cover

Beginnings - Same Face Different Place #1

Helen J. Christmas

Publisher: Helen J. Christmas

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When sixteen year old Eleanor Chapman returned home for the school holidays, she never expected her life to spin out of control. She had no idea her father was mixed up in organised crime nor that a series of unforeseen events would pitch her into an ultimate game of cat and mouse. 
Step into the criminal underworld of the 1970s. 
On the day Eleanor's father is forced to go on the run, she is left at the mercy of dangerous people.  
With no choice but to escape, she stumbles across a mysterious prisoner.  
His name is Jake, a rock musician from Holland and he has a contract on his life. 
As two young people, thrown together by fate they find love. It doesn't take long for Eleanor to realise that she will do anything to keep Jake alive. 
Forced to exist on a knife edge, they are desperate to escape from London.  
Will they outrun the deadly gangland villains who stalk them?  
Or are the people at the top more powerful than they think? 
Beginnings: Book 1 of the series "Same Face Different Place" a British thriller mystery through the decades.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”—New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens  
    “Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”—Washington Times 
    Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.
    Show book
  • Willful Behavior - cover

    Willful Behavior

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this “powerful” novel in the New York Times–bestselling series, an Italian police detective delves into two deaths and a dark era of history (The Times, London).   When Commissario Guido Brunetti first meets her, Claudia Leonardo is merely one of his wife’s students. Intelligent and serious, she asks for his help in obtaining a pardon for a crime once committed by her now-dead grandfather. Brunetti thinks little of it—until Claudia is found dead.   Unable to find any living relatives, he visits the elderly Austrian woman who was once Claudia’s grandfather’s lover and with whom Claudia was close—and is stunned by the extraordinary art collection she keeps in her otherwise modest apartment. When she, too, is murdered, Brunetti’s investigation uncovers shocking skeletons in the closet of Nazi collaboration that few in Italy want revealed . . .   “[A] widely admired series.” —Chicago Tribune   “The appeal of Guido Brunetti, the hero of Donna Leon’s long-running Venetian crime series, comes not from his shrewdness, though he is plenty shrewd, nor from his quick wit. It comes, instead, from his role as an Everyman . . . [his life is] not so different from our own days at the office or nights around the dinner table. Crime fiction for those willing to grapple with, rather than escape, the uncertainties of daily life.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The Art of Vanishing - cover

    The Art of Vanishing

    Cynthia Kuhn

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A quirky mystery set in “the treacherous world of academia—seething with manipulation, jealousy, and relentless ambition. A terrific plot.” —Hank Phillippi Ryan, Mary Higgins Clark Award–winning author of Trust Me   A Lefty Award Nominee for Best Humorous Mystery   When Professor Lila Maclean is sent to interview celebrated author and notorious cad Damon Von Tussel, he disappears before her very eyes. The English department is thrown into chaos by the news, as Damon is supposed to headline Stonedale University’s upcoming Arts Week.   The chancellor makes it clear that he expects Lila to locate the writer and set events back on track immediately. But someone appears to have a different plan: Strange warnings are received, valuable items go missing, and a series of dangerous incidents threaten the lives of Stonedale’s guests. After her beloved mother, who happens to be Damon’s ex, rushes onto campus and into harm’s way, Lila has even more reason to bring the culprit to light before anything—or anyone—else vanishes.   This mystery in the Agatha Award–winning series is “tightly plotted with a deliciously memorable cast of characters . . . Kuhn’s smart sense of humor made every page a pleasure” (Marla Cooper, author of the Kelsey McKenna Destination Wedding Mysteries).   “Whether Stonedale University English professor Lila is confronting a backstabbing colleague or investigating a murder attempt on a cantankerous bestselling author, readers will root for this enormously likeable heroine.” —Ellen Byron, USA Today–bestselling author of Plantation Shudders
    Show book
  • The Faking of the President - Nineteen Stories of White House Noir - cover

    The Faking of the President -...

    Peter Carlaftes

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Follows similar content and marketing model of The Obama Inheritance, which received prominent national media coverage
    Inclusive collection, with a focus on stories by diverse authors 
    Release date is timed to coincide with election frenzy and the need to have a humorous perspective on politics
    Extensive ARC distribution planned with extra marketing focus on national media outlets including NPR, New York Times, Vanity Fair, Atlantic, Entertainment Weekly, and more.
    A unique act of creative resistance, with quality writing that will resonate long beyond the current era.
    Show book
  • Obsession - A Crime Of The Heart - cover

    Obsession - A Crime Of The Heart

    Robin Storey

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    He’s lonely and desperate. 
     
    But he wants far more than her attention…
     
    The one thing Benny wants more than anything is a relationship. But he's not smart or good-looking, so women ignore him or run the other way. ​​Then Olivia moves into the neighbourhood. It’s love at first sight for Benny. Olivia is beautiful and kind, his fairy tale princess.
     
    But there are two big obstacles.
     
    Olivia doesn't love him. Yet.
     
    And her abusive ex-husband Lucas is still hanging around, making life difficult for her.  ​​ There's only one course of action. But will it give Benny what he wants?
     
    If you love suspenseful stories with flawed characters who’ll touch your heart, you’ll love this novel you can read in one sitting.
    Show book
  • The First Eagle - cover

    The First Eagle

    Tony Hillerman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When Acting Lt. Jim Chee catches a Hopi poacher huddled over a butchered Navajo Tribal police officer, he has an open-and-shut case--until his former boss, Joe Leaphorn, blows it wide open. Now retired from the Navajo Tribal Police, Leaphorn has been hired to find a hot-headed female biologist hunting for the key to a virulent plague lurking in the Southwest. The scientist disappeared from the same area the same day the Navajo cop was murdered. Is she a suspect or another victim? And what about a report that a skinwalker--a Navajo witch--was seen at the same time and place too? For Leaphorn and Chee, the answers lie buried in a complicated knot of superstition and science, in a place where the worlds of native peoples and outside forces converge and collide.
    Show book