Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Wingwatch - cover

Wingwatch

Marco Strazzi

Publisher: Pressision SA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

ON 6 JUNE 1944 IT WAS LOST IN NORMANDY. IT IS STILL THERE. WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BRING IT BACK HOME 
6 June 1944, 0:02: Roger Englin is aboard an aircraft headed for Normandy. He is seventeen years old and has a mission to accomplish. 
31 May 2014, 15:12: Cédric Roussel is coming back home from the high school where he teaches history. He does not know it yet, but he has a mission to accomplish. 
6 June 2014, 0:02: Gilbert Roussel turned eight years old two minutes ago. He will think about his party later on. Now, he has an appointment. And a mission to accomplish. 
A paratrooper receiving his baptism of fire. A father who has never gotten over his greatest heartache. A young boy fighting his fear. Three people separated by space and time, yet thay have something in common: a wristwatch, lost on D-Day and rediscovered seventy years later in an auction house catalogue. 
It is Cédric who spots it on the internet, finding out that he more than anyone has a good reason to bid for it. Can it really be mere coincidence? The answer is a date with destiny that will challenge what he thought he knew about his own past. 
Wingwatch is a tale of courage, a bridge between the heroes of yesterday and those of tomorrow, a voyage through time in the company of that most classic of time machines: a watch, whose rusted hands and faded dial measure more than just the limited span of a minute, an hour or a human life.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Big Wind - cover

    The Big Wind

    Beatrice Coogan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It all began on the night of the Big Wind. A wild and savage night in January 1839 when a storm struck Ireland, leaving such suffering and devastation in its path that a mark remained on the minds and hearts of Irishmen, and the land itself, ever after. It was the night Sterrin O'Carroll, 'blossom of the storm', was born in Kilsheelin Castle. 
     
    Growing up during Ireland's darkest hours, Sterrin forms a bond with a household servant called Young Thomas that deepens over the years into a forbidden love – a love as fierce and relentless as the storm that ushered her into the world. But their paths are divided by devastating events that change the course of Ireland's history. After the bitterness and the sorrow finally wane, Sterrin's indomitable spirit never weakens because, Thomas, like her beloved land, will return to her.
    Show book
  • The Liberators of Willow Run - cover

    The Liberators of Willow Run

    Marianne K. Martin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    During World War II, Allied victory rested on the wings of America's Liberator, the B-24 bomber. The only way to build them fast enough was to bring women into the work force. Join Audrey and Ruth as their search for freedom leads them to risk everything to rescue an abused young girl, somehow finding love and redemption along the way.
    Show book
  • Stranger in Savannah - cover

    Stranger in Savannah

    Eugenia Price

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller: In the triumphant conclusion of the Savannah Quartet, the hearts of three families and the soul of a nation are torn by the passions of the Civil War.       Savannah, 1854. Throughout the city's elegant streets, stirrings of the Civil War are taking hold. For three families, the Brownings, the Mackays, and the Stileses, the war has already begun within their hearts, drawing battle lines where once there was love. Mark Browning's unwavering faith in the Union sparks a battle of conscience that threatens all that he holds dear . . . and challenges the loyalty of his headstrong daughter, Natalie. The elderly Mackay matriarch, Miss Eliza, is Mark's only ally in a city divided within itself. For the Stileses, their lives are forever changed as the legacies of the past clash with an uncertain future.   A beautiful tale of “momentum, power and passion,” Stranger in Savannah reveals a realistic portrait “of how the Civil War broke the hearts of Rebels and Yankees alike.” (PW)
    Show book
  • The Galliard - cover

    The Galliard

    Margaret Irwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Queen of Scotland at six days old. Queen of France at seventeen years old. A widow at eighteen. The young and trusting Mary, Queen of Scots, is sailing home to her kingdom after years in exile. The danger from her cousin, the English Queen, has not lessened since then. Religious divides threaten to tear the nation apart and, across the border, Elizabeth keenly watches this new threat to her throne. Amid the furious turmoil and uncertainty in her Scottish kingdom, Mary finds she has one loyal servant James Hepburn, Earl of Bothwell, a glorious, rash and hazardous young man known to all as the Galliard. In Bothwell's courage and love for her, Mary finds serenity, and though fate works against them, no force can conquer their spirit. This stunning novel from the acclaimed author of Young Bess breathes new life into the little known story of the great love of Mary, Queen of Scots.
    Show book
  • The Irish Girl - A Novel - cover

    The Irish Girl - A Novel

    Santa Montefiore

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Ireland. The early twentieth century.  
      
    Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.  
      
    Read their story — and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore."  
      
    Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...  
      
    Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. 
      
    As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.  
      
    A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. 
    Previously published as The Girl in the Castle
    Show book
  • Anna and the King of Siam - cover

    Anna and the King of Siam

    Margaret Landon

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Based on the incredible true story of one woman’s journey to the exotic world of nineteenth-century Siam, the riveting novel that inspired The King and I.   In 1862, recently widowed and with two small children to support, British schoolteacher Anna Leonowens agrees to serve as governess to the children of King Mongkut of Siam (present-day Thailand), unaware that her years in the royal palace will change not only her own life, but also the future of a nation. Her relationship with King Mongkut, famously portrayed by Yul Brynner in the classic film The King and I, is complicated from the start, pitting two headstrong personalities against each other: While the king favors tradition, Anna embraces change.   As governess, Anna often finds herself at cross-purposes, marveling at the foreign customs, fascinating people, and striking landscape of the kingdom and its harems, while simultaneously trying to influence her pupils—especially young Prince Chulalongkorn—with her Western ideals and values. Years later, as king, this very influence leads Chulalongkorn to abolish slavery in Siam and introduce democratic reform based on the ideas of freedom and human dignity he first learned from his beloved tutor.   This captivating novel brilliantly combines in-depth research—author Margaret Landon drew from Siamese court records and Anna’s own writings—with richly imagined details to create a lush portrait of 1860s Siam. As a Rodgers & Hammerstein Broadway musical and an Academy Award–winning film, the story of Anna and the King of Siam has enchanted millions over the years. It is a gripping tale of cultural differences and shared humanity that invites readers into a vivid and sensory world populated by unforgettable characters.  
    Show book