Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Sol's World: Somebody To Love - cover

Sol's World: Somebody To Love

Jeanette Aw

Publisher: Candid Creation Publishing LLP

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

You search… and search… and search. Life is best journeyed with the one you love, but where does the search for that somebody begin? And where does it all end? Sometimes, the answer may not be as complicated as it seems.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Baddest Bitch in the Room - A Memoir - cover

    The Baddest Bitch in the Room -...

    Sophia Chang

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is powerful as hell and the author is a total badass. 
    A poignant blend of memoir and actionable inspiration that goes beyond stories of celebrities and eschews insider gossip for a clear-eyed and open-hearted perspective on motherhood, desire and sexuality, aging, music, and professional life as an Asian woman in a male-dominated industry.
    This author is a juggernaut of self-promotion, confident, well-spoken, experienced, widely and deeply well-connected, and frequently speaks to audiences of hundreds of people (most recently at places like Spotify corporate, Conde Nast corporate, etc) 
    The marketplace has seen outstanding sales for books like The Last Black Unicorn, Let Love Have the Last Word, and Go Ahead in the Rain in recent years; however, there are still very few memoirs published by powerful Asian American women in the arts. The Baddest Bitch in the Room is groundbreaking as one of the only books at the intersection of memoir, personal growth, and inspiration written by a powerful, middle-aged, Asian American pioneer of the music business 
    Catapult is publishing this as TPO after Reese Witherspoon personally persuaded the author to take an audio-only deal with Hello Sunshine / Audible as part of the partnership's 6-title audio-only publication in September 2019; Six weeks after the audio book was released, THE BADDEST BITCH IN THE ROOM was still a #1 Audible bestseller; so this book is also groundbreaking in its very publishing model, an angle we'll be exploring
    To appeal to readers of Brene Brown, Michelle Obama, Nicole Chung, or Elizabeth Gilbert's Big Magic; it's also for fans of hip-hop, including artists Wu-Tang Clan, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, D'Angelo, and for fans of popular music history 
    Sophia Chang is a Korean-Canadian who left Vancouver for New York in 1987, when she first worked as an assistant to Paul Simon, and from there built her storied career at such record companies as Atlantic, Jive, and Universal Music Group. In 1993, Sophia met a Staten Island rapper named Prince Rakeem, now known as the RZA, founder of the Wu-Tang Clan, perhaps the most revered and influential rap group in hip-hop history. This meeting not only led to a deep, lasting friendship between Sophia and the Wu-Tang Clan that continues to this day, but also took Sophia’s life in new directions. Since then, she has managed Wu-Tang members ODB, GZA, RZA as well as Q-Tip, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, and D'Angelo. In 1995, Chang left the music business to be trained in kung fu and to manage the USA Shaolin Temple with her then partner with whom she has two children. She currently splits her time between LA and New York
    Catapult's edition will feature expanded content and extensive visuals
    Author will speak at major venues and corporate partners (Spotify, MailChimp, Google, Apple), and we're pitching 92nd St Y, Los Angeles Public Library, Asian American museums and cultural institutions
    Show book
  • Visualizing Equality - African American Rights and Visual Culture in the Nineteenth Century - cover

    Visualizing Equality - African...

    Aston Gonzalez

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The fight for racial equality in the nineteenth century played out not only in marches and political conventions but also in the print and visual culture created and disseminated throughout the United States by African Americans. Advances in visual technologies--daguerreotypes, lithographs, cartes de visite, and steam printing presses--enabled people to see and participate in social reform movements in new ways. African American activists seized these opportunities and produced images that advanced campaigns for black rights. In this book, Aston Gonzalez charts the changing roles of African American visual artists as they helped build the world they envisioned. 
      
    Understudied artists such as Robert Douglass Jr., Patrick Henry Reason, James Presley Ball, and Augustus Washington produced images to persuade viewers of the necessity for racial equality, black political leadership, and freedom from slavery. Moreover, these activist artists' networks of transatlantic patronage and travels to Europe, the Caribbean, and Africa reveal their extensive involvement in the most pressing concerns for black people in the Atlantic world. Their work demonstrates how images became central to the ways that people developed ideas about race, citizenship, and politics during the nineteenth century.
    Show book
  • The True Story Behind Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds - Stranger Than Fiction #2 - cover

    The True Story Behind Alfred...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Birds was different from most of Hitchcock's work.  
     
    For admirers of Hitchcock, The Birds also raises disturbing questions about the director as a person. He was a complex and confusing character in many ways, and perhaps it's not surprising that someone who built a career out of creating suspense and fear on-screen might also have had some darker sides to his personal life. 
     
    Beyond the details of the story and how it came to be filmed, though, one of the most interesting questions about The Birds is why Hitchcock made it in the first place. It took its title from a short story by English author Daphne du Maurier, but beyond the basic idea of people being attacked by birds, it didn't take much else from it. The storyline was pure Hitchcock. So where did it come from? 
     
    It turns out that his inspiration was a strange and alarming incident that happened just a few miles from his home in California.  
     
    This book uncovers the truth behind the plot as well as other factoids that fascinate any fan of the film.
    Show book
  • The Perfect Crime: The Real Life Crime that Inspired Hitchcock’s Rope - Stranger Than Fiction #5 - cover

    The Perfect Crime: The Real Life...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Real crimes are stranger than fiction! 
      
    Leopold and Loeb were two wealthy law students who could buy anything. But they wanted the one thing that no amount of money could buy: life.  
      
    They wanted to create the Perfect Crime--to kidnap and murder a 14-year-old boy for the thrill of getting away with murder. 
     
    The crime was so horrifying that even legendary filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock took notice, and directed his version of the story: Rope. But the real story of the Rope is much more brutal and suspenseful than even Hitchcock could do justice to. 
      
    Read the real history in this thrilling true crime book.
    Show book
  • The True Story Behind Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho - Stranger Than Fiction #1 - cover

    The True Story Behind Alfred...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For movie buffs Alfred Hitchcock will always be associated with a long list of Hollywood classics. Between 1921 and 1976 the English director known as the Master of Suspense released 52 feature films, many of which are still thrilling new audiences today. To most people, though, he's best known for a film that was very different – Psycho. 
     
    The most fascinating part of the movie, however, is actually the real story behind it. This book tells the chilling true story behind of the movie.
    Show book
  • The Madman - His Parables and Poems - cover

    The Madman - His Parables and Poems

    Kahlil Gibran

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gibran Khalil Gibran (1883 – 1931) was a Lebanese-American poet, writer, and artist best known as the author of “The Prophet” (1923), which is one of the best-selling books of all time. Gibran's work covers such themes as justice, religion, science, free will, love, happiness, the soul, the body, and death. He is widely considered to have been one of the most important figures in Arabic poetry and literature during the first half of the twentieth century. Originally published in 1918, “The Madman" is a thought-provoking collection of aphoristic parables and poetry that explores the desires and motivations of humankind. Contents include: “How I Became a Madman," "The Two Hermits," "The Wise Dog," "The Good God and the Evil God," "Night and the Madman," "The Three Ants," "When My Sorrow Was Born," "And When My Joy Was Born," etc. Other notable works by this author include: “Music” (1905), “Rebellious Spirits” (1908), and “Broken Wings” (1912). This volume is highly recommended for fans Gibran's seminal work and it would make for a worthy addition to any collection. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially-commissioned new biography of the author.
    Show book