Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Blackwater Lake - a Psychological Suspense Novella - cover

Blackwater Lake - a Psychological Suspense Novella

Maggie James

Publisher: Orelia Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Matthew Stanyer fears the worst when he reports his parents missing.  His father, Joseph Stanyer, has been struggling to cope with his wife Evie, whose dementia is rapidly worsening. When their bodies are found close to Blackwater Lake, a local beauty spot, the inquest rules the deaths as a murder-suicide. A conclusion that's supported by the note Joseph leaves for his son. 
Grief-stricken, Matthew begins to clear his parents' house of decades of compulsive hoarding, only to discover the dark enigmas hidden within its walls. Ones that lead Matthew to ask: why did his father choose Blackwater Lake to end his life? What other secrets do its waters conceal? 
A short (26,000 words) novella, Blackwater Lake examines one man's determination to uncover his family's troubled past.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Rising - An Inspector Devlin Thriller - cover

    The Rising - An Inspector Devlin...

    Brian McGilloway

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Little Girl Lost comes a compelling new series … 
    Inspector Devlin is called to investigate a case of arson: a burning barn and, inside, the charred remains of a local drug dealer. 
    Suspicions quickly fall on a local vigilante group that calls itself "the Rising." 
    But Devlin stumbles onto a more pressing case when his old partner's teenage son goes missing. With quiet determination, he attempts to make sense of the boy's disappearance … 
    That is, until another drug dealer is killed and Devlin realizes that the case goes far deeper and darker than he ever imagined. 
    Gripping, heartbreaking, and always surprising, The Rising is a tour de force from one of Ireland's greatest crime writers.
    Show book
  • Death in Profile - cover

    Death in Profile

    Guy Fraser-Sampson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The genteel façade of London’s Hampstead is shattered by a series of terrifying murders, and the ensuing police hunt is threatened by internal politics, and a burgeoning love triangle within the investigative team. Pressurised by senior officers desperate for a result a new initiative is clearly needed, but what?
     
     
     
    Intellectual analysis and police procedure vie with the gut instinct of ‘copper’s nose’, and help appears to offer itself from a very unlikely source – a famous fictional detective. A psychological profile of the murderer allows the police to narrow down their search, but will Scotland Yard lose patience with the team before they can crack the case?
     
    Praised by fellow authors and readers alike, this is a truly original crime story, speaking to a contemporary audience yet harking back to the Golden Age of detective fiction. Intelligent, quirky and mannered, it has been described as ‘a love letter to the detective novel’. Above it all hovers Hampstead, a magical village evoking the elegance of an earlier time, and the spirit of mystery-solving detectives.
     
     
     
    Guy Fraser-Sampson is an established writer best known for his series of ‘Mapp and Lucia’ novels which have been featured on BBC Radio 4 and optioned by BBC television. This is his debut work of detective fiction, and the first title in the Hampstead Murders series.
    Show book
  • Murder At Medley Park - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery #4 - cover

    Murder At Medley Park - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK is Book 4 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series. What happens when clever young sleuth Miss Juliette Abbott accepts an assignment to catalogue the precious artifacts belonging to the wealthy Lord and Lady Medley at their country estate? First, a stable lad is found murdered, and soon thereafter Lady Medley's entire collection of valuable jewels is discovered missing! Following yet another murder, Juliette is drawn into the mystery when it's noted that she was the last person to see the deceased alive and an item belonging to that person is found in her bedchamber! 
    Juliette has no choice now but to clear her name. Among the suspects on her list include the attractive housekeeper, a prim governess who quotes the Bible while correcting everyone's behavior, a pair of handsome young gentlemen twins, a visiting cousin who has no proof that she truly is a cousin and two meddlesome children who chase kittens. 
    When Juliette receives an ominous threat on her life, she knows time is running out. Can she expose the killer, or will she find her neck in a noose as payment for both the theft and murders at Medley Park? 
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay's Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay's traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, MURDER IN MAYFAIR, and MURDER AT MARGATE. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written numerous Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity's Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza's Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    Look for all of Marilyn Clay's historical suspense novels available from major online retailers!
    Show book
  • No Enemy but Time - cover

    No Enemy but Time

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The wife of a prominent British politician returns to Ireland to find her missing half-brother—and plunges into a hotbed of political unrest and murder   The wife of an important British Cabinet minister, Claire Fraser lives the kind of life that fills the society pages. But when the disappearance of her half-brother, Frank Arbuthnot, makes international headlines, she abandons her very public life in London to search for him in her native Ireland.   On returning to her homeland, Claire is besieged by memories of a childhood full of innocent adventures and games, family dogs to feed, ponies to ride—and Frank ever at her side. Her half-brother had always been there, keeping her safe, her dearest and closest ally.   And now he’s vanished—kidnapped, possibly murdered. Clare knows she has to find him; Frank needs her now, more than ever.   Cross-cutting between past and present, England and the political unrest of strife-torn Ireland, No Enemy but Time is a page-turning thriller as well as a tragic love story.
    Show book
  • A Calculated Risk - cover

    A Calculated Risk

    Katherine Neville

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    A female computer expert at the world’s largest bank plans the perfect heist in this New York Times Notable Book from the #1 international bestselling author of The Eight   Verity Banks is the one of the most powerful women in finance, but she still reports to a man. Her boss not only refuses to implement her security plan to safeguard customers’ deposits, he also sabotages her shot at becoming director of security at the Federal Reserve. Outraged, Verity decides to take revenge by hitting her boss where it will hurt the most: right in his company’s balance sheet. She is about to begin her assault when she hears from the last person she ever expected to see again, Zoltan Tor.   A brilliant computer scientist who taught Verity everything she knows, Zoltan will help her if she agrees to an outlandish wager: Which of them can steal $1 billion, invest it to make $30 million in three months, and return it before anyone notices? Verity can use a computer; Zoltan will do it the old-fashioned way. To beat Zoltan at his own game, Verity will risk her fortune, her professional reputation—and her life.   This ebook features an illustrated biography of Katherine Neville including rare images from her life and travels.
    Show book
  • Merlin at War - A DCI Frank Merlin Novel - cover

    Merlin at War - A DCI Frank...

    Mark Ellis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    War rages across Europe. France is under the Nazi thumb. Britain has its back to the wall. In London, Scotland Yard detective Merlin investigates a series of disturbing events – a young girl killed in a botched abortion, a French emigré shot in a seedy Notting Hill flat, a mysterious letter written by a British officer, gunned down in Crete.
    
     
    With action spanning Buenos Aires, New York, Cairo and Occupied France, Merlin and his team are plunged into a dark world of espionage, murder, love and betrayal.
    Show book