Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Blackwater Lake - a Psychological Suspense Novella - cover

Blackwater Lake - a Psychological Suspense Novella

Maggie James

Publisher: Orelia Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Matthew Stanyer fears the worst when he reports his parents missing.  His father, Joseph Stanyer, has been struggling to cope with his wife Evie, whose dementia is rapidly worsening. When their bodies are found close to Blackwater Lake, a local beauty spot, the inquest rules the deaths as a murder-suicide. A conclusion that's supported by the note Joseph leaves for his son. 
Grief-stricken, Matthew begins to clear his parents' house of decades of compulsive hoarding, only to discover the dark enigmas hidden within its walls. Ones that lead Matthew to ask: why did his father choose Blackwater Lake to end his life? What other secrets do its waters conceal? 
A short (26,000 words) novella, Blackwater Lake examines one man's determination to uncover his family's troubled past.

Who read this book also read:

  • Fortified Dreams - Dreams and Reality #11 - cover

    Fortified Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    There is a conspiracy afoot, one involving some of the most dangerous people on the planet. A network of organized serial killers exists; Aislinn Cain and the SCTU have found evidence of it. Yet, they have very few leads.  
     
    Until the serial killers go on the offensive and Aislinn Cain wakes up to find herself living her worst fears. They have stormed the Federal Offices where Nyleena Clachan works and staged an uprising within the serial killer prison, The Fortress.  
     
    To bring an end to this madness and find out who is behind it all, sacrifices will have to be made. The costs will be high as Aislinn and the team go up against some of the baddest serial killers that exist.
    Show book
  • Hour of the Assassins - A Novel - cover

    Hour of the Assassins - A Novel

    Andrew Kaplan

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    To prevent the rebirth of the Nazi regime, an ex-CIA agent turns SS hunter in this thriller of deception, buried history, and a far-reaching conspiracy.   In the hell of Auschwitz, the devil was named Mengele. His atrocities were unspeakable, and among his victims were the wife and child of a man named Wasserman, who was forced to watch them die. Mengele survived the war, disappearing into hiding in South America, and Wasserman ran too—fleeing to the United States to make a fortune as a Hollywood porn king. Now he is dying of cancer, but before he goes, he wants Mengele dead.   To see the Angel of Death hunted down and killed, Wasserman recruits former Vietnam vet and ex-CIA agent John Caine. Caine’s journey into the heart of darkness takes him from a neo-Nazi Odessa network in Paraguay to Jerusalem to a sinister cadre in Vienna and finally to the South American jungles. It is here, deep in the Amazon, that Caine believes he’s met his match—a doctor revered by the headhunting natives, and determined to keep his isolated clinic a secret from the civilized world.   But Caine’s mission is only beginning. The victim of a shocking deception, he’ll soon be the hunted, as an unwitting key player in one of the greatest conspiracies of our time.   From a master of the spy thriller, the author of the award-winning novels based on the Showtime series Homeland: Carrie’s Run and Homeland: Saul’s Game, this is a tale of twists and vengeance that’s “like a ride on the Magic Mountain rollercoaster” (Los Angeles Times).  
    Show book
  • A Trace of Vice (a Keri Locke Mystery--Book #3) - cover

    A Trace of Vice (a Keri Locke...

    Blake Pierce

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    “A dynamic story line that grips from the first chapter and doesn't let go.”
    --Midwest Book Review, Diane Donovan (regarding Once Gone)
    
    From #1 bestselling mystery author Blake Pierce comes a new masterpiece of psychological suspense.
    
    In A TRACE OF VICE (Book #3 in the Keri Locke mystery series), Keri Locke, Missing Persons Detective in the Homicide division of the LAPD, follows a fresh lead for her abducted daughter. It leads to a violent confrontation with The Collector—which, in turn, offers more clues that may, after all this time, reunite her with her daughter.
    
    Yet at the same time, Keri is assigned a new case, one with a frantic ticking clock. A teenage girl has gone missing in Los Angeles, a girl from a good family was who duped into drugs and abducted into a sex trafficking ring. Keri is hot on her trail—but the trail is moving fast, with the girl being constantly moved and with her abductors’ single, nefarious goal: to cross her over the border with Mexico.
    
    In an epic, breathtaking, cat and mouse chase that takes them through the seedy underworld of trafficking, Keri and Ray will be pushed to their limits to save the girl—and her own daughter—before it is all too late.
    
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, A TRACE OF VICE is book #3 in a riveting new series—and a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night.
    
    “A masterpiece of thriller and mystery! The author did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side that is so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone)
    
    Book #4 in the Keri Locke series will be available soon.
    Show book
  • Two for Sorrow - A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey - cover

    Two for Sorrow - A New Mystery...

    Nicola Upson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “A new and assured talent….Nicola Upson is to be congratulated.”—P.D. James 
    Author Nicola Upson brings legendary mystery writer Josephine Tey back for a third investigation in Two for Sorrow, the spellbinding follow-up to An Expert in Murder and Angel with Two Faces. Fans of P.D. James, Agatha Christie, and Jacqueline Winspear will relish this ingenious literary creation, as one of the most beloved mystery writers of the twentieth century, while doing research for a new novel based on a horrific case of multiple child murder in 1903 London, is drawn into a chillingly related hunt for a sadistic, present-day killer.
    Show book
  • Pearls - cover

    Pearls

    DAVID PHILLIPS

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Relive the horror of the vicious, bloody, dolphin hunts of Taijii, Japan and the hard life of the people of the area that resulted in young men being sent to Broome in far north-western Australia to life, and often to terrible death,as divers on the luggers plying the seas in search of the pearl. Join a chase through outback Australia as various groups are in pursuit of the man who has the ornamental koala package containing secrets of interest to Hong Kong, mainland china, Broome, Darwin and London. Meet a master jeweller and his wealthy clients at a Paris auction of a beautiful piece incorporating a magnificent pearl. Follow a cat burglar with interesting rivals and acquaintances. Feel the tension as Miles Howard negotiates with pearl company executives in Kobe, Japan and members of the Yakuza become involved in conflicts around and within the criminal cartels.
    Show book
  • The Warrior - Warriors Series #1 - cover

    The Warrior - Warriors Series #1

    Ty Patterson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    INTRODUCING U.S. SPECIAL FORCES OPERATIVE ZEB CARTER AND HIS WARRIORS 
    Mercenaries in the Congo have gone rogue. They burn villages, murder innocents, and illegally acquire mines. They are beyond the law and rule the jungle as if it is their kingdom. 
    And then Zeb Carter arrives. 
    One lethal operative. Cold-blooded killers. The Congo. 
    'Simply mind-blowing' 
    'Your thriller reading is incomplete if you haven't read Ty Patterson' 
    Check out the USA TODAY BESTSELLING WARRIORS SERIES 
    The Warrior 
    The Reluctant Warrior 
    The Warrior Code 
    The Warrior's Debt 
    Flay 
    Behind You 
    Hunting You 
    Zero 
    Death Club 
    Trigger Break 
    Scorched Earth 
    RUN!
    Show book