Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Hidden Body - Jo Durbin Mysteries - cover

Hidden Body - Jo Durbin Mysteries

Norma Huss

Publisher: Norma Huss

  • 0
  • 0
  • 1

Summary

A Prequel Novelette 

Jo Durbin and her sister Sylvie visit a home for sale. When a black cat crosses their path, is it bad luck? Or, does the black cat lead to solving a crime?

Who read this book also read:

  • Watson's Apology - A Novel - cover

    Watson's Apology - A Novel

    Beryl Bainbridge

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A novel of marital bickering—and murder—based on a historical case in Victorian England, from the bestselling author of The Birthday Boys. In the winter of 1884, John Selby Watson, a clergyman and headmaster living in London, writes a series of love letters—including a marriage proposal—to a woman he met only briefly at a social gathering many years before. Though Anne Armstrong does not remember Watson, she is desperate to escape poverty and the miserable life she shares with her sister in a moldy Dublin boarding house. So she accepts.   Despite the abrupt circumstances of their engagement—and Anne’s initial distaste for her betrothed—several years of happy marriage follow. But Watson soon becomes entrenched in his studies of classical literature, leaving his wife feeling alienated and dejected. Trivial disputes agitate the couple’s domestic life with increasing frequency—a letter goes missing, the page of a book gets stained—until the bickering erupts into full-blown abuse and, during a night of drinking, their toxic environment reaches its destructive climax.   Based on a real nineteenth-century murder case, Watson’s Apology is a speculative novel about the complex psychological motivations that underlie a seemingly straightforward domestic tragedy. Using dark irony and twisted humor, award-winning British author Beryl Bainbridge reveals the terror that resides in the banal, and the suspense that can be found in the mysteries of the mind and heart.    
    Show book
  • EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #4 - cover

    EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page."—Fresh Fiction 
    Lawyer Kate Lange has survived some terrible things. And it has changed her. What scares her is that it may not be for the better. 
    Determined to take charge of her career and make sense of her life, she embarks on a bold plan—she will leave private practice and become a Crown Prosecutor. But she soon discovers that she must learn the ropes as a criminal defense lawyer to achieve her goal. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to... the accused? 
    Joining forces with Eddie Bent, a recovering alcoholic and top criminal defense lawyer, Kate takes on the case of a young woman shot while committing a puzzling crime. The shooter is none other than golden boy Member of Parliament Harry Owen.  Just months before, he had refused Kate’s plea for compassion for a dying client. And now he is both victim—and shooter—of her new client. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to… us all? 
    While Kate races to piece together the case, the lines between innocence and guilt become blurred as an online vigilante forum seeks its own brand of justice—and a devious cyber mastermind puts the final touches on an explosive plan. 
    "Intertwined in the storyline are devious cyber plots to rival anything ripped from today's political nightmares. Who is behind what plot? Can these disasters be averted? Can any illegal activity ever be for the public good? ... Although this was read as a standalone, I really want to read the first three volumes. I HIGHLY recommend this book."–Book Review Crew  
    Set in a 36-hour time period, EXPLOITED is an edge-of-the-seat thriller for fans of John Grisham, James Patterson and Lisa Scottoline. 
    The series has sold over three hundred thousand copies and is now under option for television development. 
     
     
    Praise for the novels of Pamela Callow: 
     
    "Pamela Callow's debut thriller Damaged reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical...and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning." 
    — James Rollins, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    "...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..." 
    — Atlantic Books Today on Damaged 
     
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
     
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing. The insidious villain destroys a life, a reputation and a family, all as part of a chilling plan." 
    —RT Book Reviews on Indefensible, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
     
    “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; Tattooed has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.”  
    —The Eclectic Reader  
     
    Show book
  • The Man Who Walked Like a Bear - cover

    The Man Who Walked Like a Bear

    Stuart M. Kaminsky

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With his wife in the hospital, Porfiry Rostnikov tries to protect Moscow from chaosPorfiry and Sarah Rostnikov have been in love since the end of World War II, growing old together as the Soviet Union lurches towards modernity. Sarah is recovering from a brain operation, her police inspector husband at her side, when a bearlike man staggers into her hospital room. Hulking, naked, and insensible, he is about to leap out the window when Rostnikov talks him off the ledge. But before the orderlies take him away, the giant whispers a secret to the investigator. Someone has been stealing from the factory where he works. As he puzzles over the colossal madman’s clue, Rostnikov must also focus on his colleagues in the Moscow police, as their team contends with a sudden jump in crime. Rebels are planting bombs, teenagers are plotting assassinations, and the KGB lurks in every shadow. Surviving all this without Sarah by his side will be a challenge for the limping policeman, but he has long proven adept at talking down the Russian bear.   
    Show book
  • TATTOOED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #3 - cover

    TATTOOED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The discovery of a bog body could crack a cold case that has haunted the city – and unravel the darkest secrets of Kate’s oldest foe in the third installment of the bestselling Kate Lange thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    She is obsessed with tattoos.   
    He is obsessed with her. 
    When a body is found on the outskirts of Halifax, rumors run wild about the victim’s identity. But tattoo artist Kenzie Sloane knows exactly who she is. They share a tattoo… and a decade-old secret. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange remembers Kenzie Sloane. The former wild child was part of the same crowd that attracted her little sister, Imogen, before her death. Now Kenzie needs her help. And Kate needs answers. 
    But there are others who know about the tattoo and its history. And one of them is watching Kenzie’s every move, waiting for the perfect moment to fulfill a dark promise that had been inked in her skin. 
    “… there is no shortage of drama and suspense to keep readers on the hook right through to the heart-pounding finale.” —Chronicle Herald 
    “The story is suspenseful and well-plotted, and the characters — even the villains —are intriguing and multidimensional.” —RT Book Reviews 
     “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; TATTOOED has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.” —The Eclectic Reader 
    Book 3 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    364 pages
    Show book
  • Always Kill a Stranger - cover

    Always Kill a Stranger

    Robert L. Fish

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    At an international summit, Da Silva searches for an assassin Off the coast of Rio de Janeiro, a freighter battles the waves. The steward has been stricken with appendicitis, but the sea is too rough for the ship to dock. A coast guard helicopter brings him to shore, where he is put in an ambulance and rushed the hospital. But when the ambulance arrives, the patient has disappeared. He was never sick, and he is not a sailor. He is an assassin, and he’s vanished into thin air. The Organization of American States is holding a summit in Rio, and Argentinian representative Juan Dorcas is planning an incendiary speech. When Interpol liaison José Da Silva hears whispers that Dorcas will be assassinated before he has a chance to speak, his thoughts turn to the sailor who jumped ship, to commit a murder that will rock a hemisphere.
    Show book
  • The House of Closed Doors Boxed Set: Nell's Story - cover

    The House of Closed Doors Boxed...

    Jane Steen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in the American Midwest of the 1870s, this three-novel story blends mystery, romance, history, and family drama in over 30 hours of entertaining, fast-paced reading. See why readers rave about the writing, the plot twists, and the characters. 
     
    NELL LILLINGTON is a spoiled, headstrong 16-year-old when she finds herself pregnant after letting a flirtation with handsome Cousin Jack get out of hand. More willing to bear the consequences of an illegitimate pregnancy than marry, she refuses to name the father and agrees to give birth in a Poor Farm and give the baby up for adoption. At the Poor Farm she meets Tess O’Dugan, a woman the world calls an imbecile but who soon becomes the sister Nell never had. 
     
    MARTIN RUTHERFORD, Nell’s childhood friend, only learns of baby Sarah when Nell seeks to escape from the Poor Farm—with the child. His own aversion to marriage stems from his dark, unhappy childhood, and despite his attachment to Nell he makes no objection to her plan to move to Kansas, away from prying eyes, with Tess and Sarah. Martin, now free of family ties, has his own plans—he wishes to build a grand department store in Chicago and become one of that growing city’s merchant princes. 
     
    But Nell and Martin’s plans are steered off course by the secrets and lies of other people, and their paths to happiness are strewn with murder. Nell’s story will take you from the Illinois prairie, to frontier Kansas, and back to a Chicago teeming with opportunistic new Americans and ruthless hardmen.
    Show book