Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Hidden Body - Jo Durbin Mysteries #05 - cover

Hidden Body - Jo Durbin Mysteries #05

Norma Huss

Publisher: Norma Huss

  • 0
  • 0
  • 1

Summary

A Prequel Novelette 
Jo Durbin and her sister Sylvie visit a home for sale. When a black cat crosses their path, is it bad luck? Or, does the black cat lead to solving a crime?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Drowners - cover

    The Drowners

    Jennie Finch

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In Somerset it is carnival season once more, but Alex Hastings is not in the mood to join the festivities. Struck down by a potentially lethal illness, she is beset by problems both at workand within her family. Meanwhile, the demise of Derek Johns gang has left a power vacuum, and an uneasy alliance of criminals forms, determined to take control of the area for their own gain. Then, one night out on the marshes a local man is found dead amidst reports of flickering lights and strange music and rumours grow of the return of an ancient evil. This second book in the Alex Hastings series picks up the story six weeks after the finale to Death of the Elver Man, leading Alex and her friends further into the mystery and menace surrounding the Somerset Levels.
    Show book
  • A Sanctuary of Spirits - cover

    A Sanctuary of Spirits

    Leanna Renee Hieber

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    As the twentieth century approaches, New York’s Ghost Precinct crosses a threshold into the land of the dead in this paranormal gaslamp mystery.  New York City, 1899. The NYPD’s Ghost Precinct, an all-female team of psychics and spiritualists led by gifted young medium Eve Whitby, is unconventional to say the least. And now they’re stepping even further outside the bounds of normal police work—into an otherworldly realm known as the Ghost Sanctuary. It’s a place where the dead can provide answers. But will Eve and her colleagues pay a price for venturing beyond the land of the living?   Investigating a mortician’s sudden disappearance, Eve encounters a charismatic magician and mesmerist whose abilities are unlike any she’s seen before. Is he connected to the mysterious deaths around the city—or a link to the Ghost Sanctuary? Torn between the bonds of her team and her growing relationship with the dashing Detective Horowitz, Eve must discern truth from illusion and friend from foe before another soul vanishes into the ether.  Praise for The Eterna Files “Smart, boundlessly creative gaslamp fantasy.” —RT Book Reviews   “Will have readers chomping at the bit for more.” —Suspense Magazine on Eterna and Omega
    Show book
  • The Vendetta Defense - cover

    The Vendetta Defense

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Judy Carrier takes the case of her career to defend Anthony Lucia, fondly known as "Pigeon Tony," who freely admits to killing his lifelong enemy in order to settle a personal vendetta. Her client's guilt, however, is only the beginning of Judy's problems. The victim's family wants revenge and is determined to finish off Pigeon Tony and Judy before the case goes to trial. Then there's Pigeon Tony's hunky grandson, who makes Judy think about everything but the law. In a case steeped in blood and memory, it will take brains and a lot of luck to save Pigeon Tony. But if anyone will see justice done, it's this gutsy girl who'll risk everything to win -- including her life.
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Moment of Truth - cover

    Moment of Truth

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When attorney Jack Newlin discovers his wife dead in their home, he's convinced he knows who killed her—and is equally determined to hide the truth. He decides to frame himself for murder, and to seal his fate he hires the most inexperienced lawyer he can find: a reluctant rookie by the name of Mary DiNunzio from the hot Philadelphia firm of Rosato & Associates. But hiring Mary may turn out to be his biggest mistake. She doubts Jack's confession, and her ethics and instincts tell her she can't defend a man who wants to convict himself. Smarter, gutsier, and more persistent than she has any right to be, Mary sets out to prove what really happened—because, as any lawyer knows, a case is never as simple as it seems. And nothing is ever certain until the final moment of truth.
    Show book
  • The Parchment Notebook - cover

    The Parchment Notebook

    Jo Chumas

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Cairo, Egypt, 1919Hezba, the rebellious seventeen-year-old daughter of the Sultan of Egypt, lives a life of luxury in a mansion overlooking the river Nile. Locked away in the harem, she has everything she wants, except the one thing that will keep her from madness; her freedom.The Sultan has ordered Hezba back into the care of her husband, the ageing and abusive Khalil al-Shezira, but Hezba's secret lover has other ideas, so does Hezba. She wants al-Shezira gone from her life and she wants change. She'll stop at nothing to achieve her desires.In 1919, Egypt, and in a world reeling from the devastation of the First World War, Hezba is considered a dangerous female; as the daughter of the Sultan of Egypt, she is expected to do as she is told.But for Hezba, submission is impossible; love, revolution and freedom from repression are worth dying for.The Parchment Notebook was originally published by Thomas & Mercer, USA as The Hidden, a novel that won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA) in 2013, in the Mystery/Suspense category and became an overnight bestseller.Now published by 8dpress, Edinburgh, The Hidden has been split into two stories, The Parchment Notebook being the first in The Hidden series. Aimee's War is the second book in the series; The Zephyr, the third; and The Unforgiven the last in the series. 
    Show book