Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Dead Til Dawn - cover

Dead Til Dawn

Kelli A. Wilkins

Publisher: Kelli A. Wilkins

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Dead ‘Til Dawn 
Disturbing the dead doesn’t prove you’re brave – it proves you’re stupid. 
After touring Gettysburg battlefield, Jessica, Tim, and Steve decide to sneak out to the Devil’s Den for some late-night fun. Jessica’s friend Kathy objects, and warns them about trespassing where they’re not wanted. 
 
Undaunted by ghost stories and fueled by his own arrogance, Tim races toward the Devil’s Den. When the group drives through mysterious battlefield fog, they find themselves surrounded by Civil War soldiers looking for a little fun of their own. 
 
Kathy leaves the others to fend for themselves and flees to Little Round Top. Although she’s rescued by a kind-hearted Union solider named Charlie, she refuses to believe that what she’s experiencing is real. As the nighttime battle rages on, Charlie introduces Kathy to other weary soldiers, and she quickly realizes she’s trapped in the land of the dead until dawn. 
Spend a night in the land of the dead in this 8,200-word ghost story set on the Gettysburg battlefield.

Other books that might interest you

  • The White Company - cover

    The White Company

    Arthur Conan Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A historical adventure set during the Hundred Years' War. The story follows a young man as he leaves the shelter of an abbey in England and becomes involved with Edward, the Black Prince's campaign in Spain. Doyle later wrote a prequel, titled "Sir Nigel", concerning the early life of one of the heroes in this novel.
    
     
    
    “We go to France, and from thence I trust to Spain, in humble search of a field in which we may win advancement and perchance some small share of glory. For this purpose I would have you know that it is not my wont to let any occasion pass where it is in any way possible that honor may be gained. I would have you bear this in mind, and give great heed to it that you may bring me word of all cartels, challenges, wrongs, tyrannies, infamies, and wronging of damsels. Nor is any occasion too small to take note of, for I have known such trifles as the dropping of a gauntlet, or the flicking of a breadcrumb, when well and properly followed up, lead to a most noble spear-running.”
    
     
    
    - Sir Nigel, “The White Company”
    Show book
  • Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER IN MAYFAIR, A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery, Book 2 by Marilyn Clay takes place in London. 
    Fresh from her terrifying fortnight at Morland Manor, eight-and-ten-year-old Miss Juliette Abbott and her friend Miss Cathleen Haworth are cataloguing Lady Carstairs' priceless artifacts in preparation to sell. But before they even approach the curiosity dealer, the handsome gentleman turns up dead! 
    With only two likely suspects and no funds to hire a Bow Street detective to investigate the crime, Juliette is left to unravel the mystery herself. Attempting to uncover who could have killed the kind gentleman, who made female hearts flutter and whom everyone declares was the most thoughtful man alive, keeps Juliette awake at night and on her toes each day. 
    Can Miss Abbott succeed without putting herself in jeopardy, or will the killer strike again before she sorts out the puzzle and brings the real killer to justice? 
    "Cleverly written with enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing! The final twist surprised even me, a voracious reader of British cozy mysteries..." Elizabeth Morrison 
    “I LOVED it! Author Marilyn Clay has penned a refreshing read from a different perspective, not the same old, same old. Marilyn Clay’s Regency-set mysteries breathe new life into the genre! Well done!!!  -A. Hall. 
    "You won't be able to put this one down!" -Hailey Stanhope 
    Look for MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book 1 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series, Book 2, MURDER IN MAYFAIR and Book 3, MURDER IN MARGATE. Coming soon Book 4, MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 
    For more information visit the Marilyn Clay Author website.
    Show book
  • Quicksilver - The Baroque Cycle #1 - cover

    Quicksilver - The Baroque Cycle #1

    Neal Stephenson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Quicksilver is the story of Daniel Waterhouse, fearless thinker and conflicted Puritan, pursuing knowledge in the company of the greatest minds of Baroque-era Europe, in a chaotic world where reason wars with the bloody ambitions of the mighty, and where catastrophe, natural or otherwise, can alter the political landscape overnight. 
    It is a chronicle of the breathtaking exploits of "Half-Cocked Jack" Shaftoe -- London street urchin turned swashbuckling adventurer and legendary King of the Vagabonds -- risking life and limb for fortune and love while slowly maddening from the pox. 
    And it is the tale of Eliza, rescued by Jack from a Turkish harem to become spy, confidante, and pawn of royals in order to reinvent Europe through the newborn power of finance. 
    A gloriously rich, entertaining, and endlessly inventive novel that brings a remarkable age and its momentous events to vivid life, Quicksilver is an extraordinary achievement from one of the most original and important literary talents of our time. 
    And it's just the beginning ...
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • The Relic - cover

    The Relic

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Yuri Varienski, a Ukranian emigré, dies in Jersey, he leaves his daughter Lucy an object—and a great responsibility. Lucy must take the gold filigree cross she is bequeathed to Geneva, and deliver it into the hands of exiled former dissident leader, Volkov. Lucy innocently accepts her father’s charge. But Volkov, broken by imprisonment, is not the man he used to be. And there are other people who wish to possess the cross too. For the object Lucy carries is the legendary relic, St. Vladimir’s Cross, and it has the power to unite or divide the volatile Soviet Union.   Lucy soon realizes that she will have to make sacrifices—of her home, her heart, and maybe even her life—if she is going to fulfill her father’s last wish.
    Show book
  • Bone Rattler - A Mystery of Colonial America - cover

    Bone Rattler - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In a novel rich in historical detail, acclaimed author Eliot Pattison reconsiders the founding of America and explores how disenfranchised people of any age and place struggle to find justice, how conflicting cultures can be reconciled through compassion and tolerance, and ultimately how the natural world has its own morality. Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, protagonist Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War. Duncan is indentured to the British Lord Ramsey, whose estate in the uncharted New York woodlands is a Heart of Darkness where multiple warring factions are engaged in physical, psychological, and spiritual battle. Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased.
    Show book