Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Dramatic Works - cover

Dramatic Works

Zygmunt Krasiński

Translator Charles S. Kraszewski

Publisher: Glagoslav Publications B.V.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“God hath denied me that angelic measure / Without which no man sees in me the poet,” writes Zygmunt Krasiński in one of his most recognisable lyrics. Yet while it may be true that his lyric output cannot rival in quality the verses of the other two great Polish Romantics, Adam Mickiewicz and Juliusz Słowacki, Krasiński’s dramatic muse gives no ground to any other.
 
The Glagoslav edition of the Dramatic Works of Zygmunt Krasiński provides the English reader, for the first time, with all of Krasiński’s plays in the translation of Charles S. Kraszewski. These include the sweeping costume drama Irydion, in which the author sets forth the grievances of his occupied nation through the fable of an uprising of Greeks and barbarians against the dissipated emperor Heliogabalus, and, of course, the monumental drama on which his international fame rests: the Undivine Comedy.
 
A cosmic play, which defies simple description, the Undivine Comedy is both a de-masking of the Byronic ideal of the poet, whose nefarious, and selfish devotion to the ideal has evil consequences for real human beings, and a prophetic warning of the fratricidal class warfare that was to roil the first decades of the twentieth century. The Undivine Comedy is intriguing in the way that the author presents both sides of this question — the republican and that of the ancien régime — with sympathy and understanding. It is also striking how — in 1830 — the author foresaw the problems of the 1930s.
 
As Czesław Miłosz once put it, Krasiński was insightfully commenting on Marxism while Karl Marx was still in high school. The Dramatic Works of Zygmunt Krasiński also include the unfinished play 1846, which hints at how the author would have handled a work meant for the traditional stage, and the Unfinished Poem — the Dantean “prequel” to the Undivine Comedy, on which Krasiński was working at his death.
 
This book was published with the support of the Hanna and Zdzislaw Broncel Charitable Trust.

Other books that might interest you

  • Milk and Honey - cover

    Milk and Honey

    Rupi Kaur

    • 24
    • 210
    • 0
    The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.
    Show book
  • A Double Life - cover

    A Double Life

    Karolina Pavlova

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    An unsung classic of nineteenth-century Russian literature, Karolina Pavlova’s A Double Life alternates prose and poetry to offer a wry picture of Russian aristocratic society and vivid dreams of escaping its strictures. Pavlova combines rich narrative prose that details balls, tea parties, and horseback rides with poetic interludes that depict her protagonist’s inner world—and biting irony that pervades a seemingly romantic description of a young woman who has everything. 
    A Double Life tells the story of Cecily, who is being trapped into marriage by her well-meaning mother; her best friend, Olga; and Olga’s mother, who means to clear the way for a wealthier suitor for her own daughter by marrying off Cecily first. Cecily’s privileged upbringing makes her oblivious to the havoc that is being wreaked around her. Only in the seclusion of her bedroom is her imagination freed: each day of deception is followed by a night of dreams described in soaring verse. Pavlova subtly speaks against the limitations placed on women and especially women writers, which translator Barbara Heldt highlights in a critical introduction. Among the greatest works of literature by a Russian woman writer, A Double Life is worthy of a central place in the Russian canon.
    Show book
  • Mind Platter - cover

    Mind Platter

    Najwa Zebian

    • 4
    • 76
    • 0
    Mind Platter is a compilation of reflections on life as seen through the eyes of an educator, student, and human who experienced her early days in silence. It is written in the words of a woman who came from Lebanon to Canada at the age of sixteen and experienced what it was like to have fate push her to a place where she didn't belong. It is written in the voice of every person who has felt unheard, mistreated, misjudged, or unseen. The book contains over 200 one-page reflections on topics we encounter in our everyday lives: love, friendship, hurt, inspiration, respect, motivation, integrity, honesty, and more. Mind Platter is not about the words it contains, but what the reader makes of them. May this book give a voice to those who need one, be a crying shoulder for those who yearn for someone to listen, and inspire those who need a reminder of the power they have over their lives.
    Show book
  • The Magic That is Life - cover

    The Magic That is Life

    Jessica Higgins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A seamless mixture of poetic writings and constructive self-help, this beautiful compilation of poems, prose, and inspiration is strung together to be a guide and a helpful reminder of the magic that life offers. The author uses imagery and lessons learned through travels, expansion, heartache, her spiritual walk, and all of the joys in-between, to reach out a hand to the reader — with the constant message, “Look back dreamer, you are more than a conqueror. Victories abound.” 
     
    Taken from a deep desire for a more full life and the authors unique personal perspective, this collection is constructed to be a tool to help reframe the eyes — to see the magic in the every day moments, to inspire the want for growth, to connect with those around us, and to celebrate the journey along the way.
     
    Perfect for fans of Jen Sincero, Cleo Wade, and Cheryl Strayed!
    Show book
  • Ambiguous Desires! - cover

    Ambiguous Desires!

    Loverboy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ambiguous Desires is more than surface poetry. Its meanings are meant to inspire the brain to react to education. 
    
    EROGENOUS MOON
         EROGENOUS MOON, FIRMAMENT INDUCED INTRICATE PLEASURES. SPONTANEOUS IMPULSES BEYOND ALL MEASURE; AROUSED BY NATURE. HAR THE THUNDER ROAR!! FALL SECRET DESIRES, WE DO ADORE;' COME TO ME' SURRENDER YOUR WILL! FILL MY POWER! AS TIME STANDS STILL! FEEL THE PASSION, FEAR THE PAIN. HEAR MY HEARTBEAT, SOUNDS THE SAME. FALL FROM THE SKY, O' FULL MOON, AND LAY DOWN BESIDE ME. BRIDE AND GROOM.
    Show book
  • Garden of Ravens - cover

    Garden of Ravens

    Krystal Jane Ruin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A collection of dark poetry that journeys through folklore, twisted tales, mental breakdowns, and depression.  
    We hide in shadows 
    We wither under layers 
    Sunlight is for beautiful people 
    Darkness is for us
    Show book