Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Dramatic Works - cover

Dramatic Works

Zygmunt Krasiński

Translator Charles Kraszewski

Publisher: Glagoslav Publications B.V.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“God hath denied me that angelic measure / Without which no man sees in me the poet,” writes Zygmunt Krasiński in one of his most recognisable lyrics. Yet while it may be true that his lyric output cannot rival in quality the verses of the other two great Polish Romantics, Adam Mickiewicz and Juliusz Słowacki, Krasiński’s dramatic muse gives no ground to any other.
 
The Glagoslav edition of the Dramatic Works of Zygmunt Krasiński provides the English reader, for the first time, with all of Krasiński’s plays in the translation of Charles S. Kraszewski. These include the sweeping costume drama Irydion, in which the author sets forth the grievances of his occupied nation through the fable of an uprising of Greeks and barbarians against the dissipated emperor Heliogabalus, and, of course, the monumental drama on which his international fame rests: the Undivine Comedy.
 
A cosmic play, which defies simple description, the Undivine Comedy is both a de-masking of the Byronic ideal of the poet, whose nefarious, and selfish devotion to the ideal has evil consequences for real human beings, and a prophetic warning of the fratricidal class warfare that was to roil the first decades of the twentieth century. The Undivine Comedy is intriguing in the way that the author presents both sides of this question — the republican and that of the ancien régime — with sympathy and understanding. It is also striking how — in 1830 — the author foresaw the problems of the 1930s.
 
As Czesław Miłosz once put it, Krasiński was insightfully commenting on Marxism while Karl Marx was still in high school. The Dramatic Works of Zygmunt Krasiński also include the unfinished play 1846, which hints at how the author would have handled a work meant for the traditional stage, and the Unfinished Poem — the Dantean “prequel” to the Undivine Comedy, on which Krasiński was working at his death.
 
This book was published with the support of the Hanna and Zdzislaw Broncel Charitable Trust.

Other books that might interest you

  • 1-800-Where-R-You #5: Missing You - cover

    1-800-Where-R-You #5: Missing You

    Meg Cabot

    • 0
    • 17
    • 0
    The fifth book in the 1-800-Where-R-You series by Meg Cabot, the New York Times bestselling author of the Princess Diaries series.  
    Ever since a lightning strike, Jessica Mastriani has had the psychic ability to locate missing people. But her life of crime-solving is anything but easy. If you had the gift, would you use it? 
     
     
    The fifth book in the beloved series, Missing You continues with fun adventure, crime-solving, and plenty of romance. Fans of the series will not be disappointed.   
      
     
    Show book
  • Dumplin' - cover

    Dumplin'

    Julie Murphy

    • 8
    • 130
    • 0
    Now a popular Netflix feature film, starring Jennifer Aniston, Danielle Macdonald, and Dove Cameron, as well as a soundtrack from Dolly Parton! 
    The #1 New York Times bestseller and feel-good YA of the year—about Willowdean Dixon, the fearless, funny, and totally unforgettable heroine who takes on her small town’s beauty pageant. 
    Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. 
    With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  
     
    Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Clover City beauty pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any girl does. 
    Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.
    Show book
  • Screenwriting for Teens - The 100 Principles of Screenwriting Every Budding Writer Must Know - cover

    Screenwriting for Teens - The...

    Christina Hamlett

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This books gives teens--who go to the movies more than any age group in the world--the tools to do more than just watch those movies. It gives them the tools to write their own films.
    Show book
  • An Uncertain Choice - cover

    An Uncertain Choice

    Jody Hedlund

    • 2
    • 32
    • 0
    Due to her parents’ promise at her birth, Lady Rosemarie has been prepared to become a nun on the day she turns eighteen. Then, shortly before her birthday, a friend of her father’s enters the kingdom and proclaims her parents’ will left a second choice—if Rosemarie can marry before the eve of her eighteenth year, she will be exempt from the ancient vow.  
    Before long, Rosemarie is presented with the three most handsome and brave knights in the land. But when the knights’ arrival results in a series of attacks within her land, she begins to wonder if the convent is the best place after all. If only one of the knights—the one who appears the most guilty—had not already captured her heart.
    Show book
  • The Last Time We Say Goodbye - cover

    The Last Time We Say Goodbye

    Cynthia Hand

    • 4
    • 66
    • 0
    In the tradition of Thirteen Reasons Why and All the Bright Places, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a deeply affecting novel that will change the way you look at life and death. 
    From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand comes a stunning, heart-wrenching novel of love and loss, which ALA Booklist called "both shatteringly painful and bright with life and hope" in a starred review. 
    Since her brother, Tyler, committed suicide, Lex has been trying to keep her grief locked away, and to forget about what happened that night. But as she starts putting her life, her family, and her friendships back together, Lex is haunted by a secret she hasn't told anyone—a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.
    Show book
  • Off the Rim - cover

    Off the Rim

    Fred Bowen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Chris desperately wants to be more than a benchwarmer on his basketball team. Hoping he can get more playing time, he asks his friend Greta, the high-scoring star of the girls’ team, for help with his shooting skills.But it is Greta’s mom—a former basketball star who never even scored a basket—who teaches Chris how to change his strategy and become a success on the court.
    Show book