Read as much as you want at your own pace!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Distance - A feel-good heartwarming romance perfect for holiday reading - cover

The Distance - A feel-good heartwarming romance perfect for holiday reading

Zoë Folbigg

Publisher: Aria

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Every love story has a beginning, it's how you get the end that counts... 
 
Under the midnight sun of Arctic Norway, Cecilie goes online looking for friends, and stumbles across Hector Herrera. They start chatting and soon realise that 'love at first word' might just be possible. But there are two big problems: Hector lives thousands of miles away in Mexico. And he's about to get married. 
 
Cecilie's whole life has been anchored by sticking to what she knows, and her job at the cafe in the town in which she grew up. Can she really change her whole life for someone she's never met? And will Hector escape his turbulent past, not to mention his imminent marriage, and make a leap of faith to change the path he's on? 
 
This is a story of two people, living two very different lives, and whether they can cross a gulf, ocean, sea and fjord to give their love a chance. 
 
Praise for The Distance: 
 
'Right from the first few pages it had me hooked!' Harriet. 
 
'Her writing is beautiful' E C Simpson. 
 
'Loved it as much, maybe even more than The Note!' Jean Kirk. 
 
'A beautifully written book about love, life and far away places' Hannah Alexander-Wright. 
 
'A very readable and heartwarming story' Heather. 
 
'The mix of different cultures places and plot between Cecilie and Hector was magical' Kat.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Year of Second Chances - A heartwarming emotional story perfect for summer reading - cover

    A Year of Second Chances - A...

    Kendra Smith

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Three women. Three very different lives. One life-changing adventure. 
     
    Charlie is a single mum unlucky in life. Her multiple jobs make barely enough to feed the family cat, never mind being able to give her son the life he deserves. So when an opportunity to make a lot of cash comes along, she simply has to take it. 
     
    Suzie has always wanted to be a mother. But fate has been cruel and now time is running out. Soon her final frozen egg will be destroyed and her last chance of having a baby will go with it. With her husband resolved to their childless life Suzie takes matters into her own hands. 
     
    Dawn is about to turn fifty and seems to have misplaced her mojo along with the car keys. But with an interfering mother-in-law and a gaggle of judgemental mums at her children's school, it's proving harder to find than a decent fitting bra. Especially after a series of highly embarrassing incidents... 
     
    Over the course of a year three lives are about to collide and as they do be prepared to laugh, cry and fall in love with these women as they discover how life can give you a second chance. 
     
    Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Paige Toon.
    Show book
  • Did That Really Happen? - cover

    Did That Really Happen?

    Errol Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is a brief collection of some of the humorous anecdotes from the workplace, the drinking place, the living place and a lot of other places. All information in this book is from sources and recollections considered to be trustworthy and reliable. However, no warranty is made to the accuracy thereof.
    Show book
  • Otherhood - cover

    Otherhood

    William Sutcliffe

    • 2
    • 15
    • 1
    First published as Whatever Makes You Happy, the hilarious and moving novel about mothers and their adult sons will soon be a Netflix original movie starring Felicity Huffman, Angela Bassett and Patricia Arquette 
     
    Three sons. Three mums. One week. 
     
    Matt, Daniel and Paul were childhood friends. Now in their thirties, they've lost touch and have only one thing in common: their mothers. Little do they know that, having spent a cardless Mother's Day discussing how their emotionally dysfunctional offspring should be settling down, Carol, Gillian and Helen have decided to pay their wayward sons a visit. On the same day, they turn up on their sons' doorsteps, uninvited and unannounced. Their plan is to reestablish the mother-son bond by moving in for one week. Just a week. Surely that's not a lot to ask...
    Show book
  • The Man Upstairs - And Other Stories - cover

    The Man Upstairs - And Other...

    P. G. Wodehouse

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    Nineteen tales of romantic entanglements from one of British literature’s comedic stars, the author of the Jeeves novels.   First published in 1914, these short stories by P. G. Wodehouse deal with matters of the heart in all their complicated glory. From the struggling artist and his lovely downstairs neighbor in “The Man Upstairs” to a playwright’s romantic rescues in “Deep Waters” to a matrimonial sweepstakes in “The Good Angel,” Wodehouse captures the circumstances—both mundane and mysterious, contrived and spontaneous—that bring two strangers together in love.  Praise for P. G. Wodehouse   “Wodehouse’s idyllic world can never stale. He will continue to release future generations from captivity that may be more irksome than our own. He has made a world for us to live in and delight in.” —Evelyn Waugh   “He exhausts superlatives.” —Stephen Fry   “Pure word music.” —Douglas Adams
    Show book
  • The Kitten Psychologist and The Kitten Come To A Conclusion - Inklet #18 - cover

    The Kitten Psychologist and The...

    Thea van Diepen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Welcome to Inklets, a series of short (and sometimes short-short) stories ranging from sci-fi to fantasy to lingering just on the edge of normal. One thing's for sure: you won't look at the world the same way again.
    Show book
  • The Kitten Psychologist - Inklet #3 - cover

    The Kitten Psychologist - Inklet #3

    Thea van Diepen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A kitten for a client? Preposterous.  
    A talking kitten, at that? Beyond reason.  
    Trying to get the kitten to see reason? Completely, utterly, one-hundred-percent impossible. See: kitten.  
    But for the sake of their best friends, this psychologist's going to give it their absolute best shot.  
    A humorous tale about overcoming obstacles and making the most of the time we have.  
    800 words / Humorous Animal Tale 
    Welcome to Inklets, a series of short (and sometimes short-short) stories ranging from sci-fi to fantasy to lingering just on the edge of normal. One thing's for sure: you won't look at the world the same way again.
    Show book