A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Untold Stories of Female Athletes - cover

The Untold Stories of Female Athletes

Yvonne Bertovich

Publisher: Atlantic Publishing Group, Inc.

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Watching women take home gold medals and sparkling trophies from sporting competitions was not always as commonplace as it is in today’s society. Like in many aspects of our culture, women throughout history struggled against prejudice and dealt with condescending male counterparts before reaching their place in the spotlight of athletics.
 
Before Venus Williams volleyed her way to her fourth Grand Slam, Lucy Diggs Slowe proved African-American women could win titles alongside men. Before Danica Patrick raced past the finish line in the Indy Japan 300, Odette Siko helped to pave the racetrack for women in auto-racing. And Madge Syers was breaking rules and changing the course of figure skating history long before Michelle Kwan spiraled onto the ice.
 
Their names may have been forgotten in history, outshined by men like Babe Ruth, Michael Jordan, and Muhammed Ali, but the legacies of women in sports live on today through their predecessors. The athletic women of history have stories filled with dramatic struggles, game-changing firsts, and historic victories. They deserve to be told.

Other books that might interest you

  • I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Navigator - cover

    I Am Number Four: The Lost...

    Pittacus Lore

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    In this astonishing one-hundred-page companion novella to the New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series, meet Lexa, a Loric hacker whose unrivaled skills helped her narrowly escape her doomed planet, and who's been hiding on Earth ever since. 
    Lexa was never part of the Elders' plan. She had no idea the Garde children were being evacuated to our planet. But when the Mogadorian attack began, she used her expertise to get an old spaceship in a museum operational once more and became irrevocably entwined with the Garde's fate. In addition to her friend, a pack of Chimæra, and a Cêpan named Crayton, her relic of a ship also carried Ella, the tenth Garde. 
    With all of their Cêpans now gone, the Garde think they are the last of the Loric people. But they are wrong. They have forgotten all about the crew that brought them to Earth. Where have the pilots for both ships been all these years? And why haven't they joined in the fight against the Mogs? In The Navigator, discover the truth behind their escape from Lorien and what happened to them after they arrived on our planet.
    Show book
  • Victoria and the Rogue - cover

    Victoria and the Rogue

    Meg Cabot

    • 0
    • 15
    • 0
    Victoria 
    Growing up in far-off India, wealthy young heiress Lady Victoria Arbuthnot was accustomed to handling her own affairs -- not to mention everyone else's. But in her sixteenth year, Vicky is unceremoniously shipped off to London to find a husband. With her usual aplomb, however, Lady Victoria gets herself engaged to the perfect English gentleman, even before setting foot on British soil. 
    The Rogue 
    Hugo Rothschild, ninth earl of Malfrey, is everything a girl could want in a future husband: he is handsome and worldly, if not rich. Lady Victoria has everything just as she'd like it. That is, if raffish young ship captain Jacob Carstairs would leave well enough alone. 
    Jacob's meddling is nothing short of exasperating, and Victoria is mystified by his persistence. But when it becomes clear that young Lord Malfrey just might not be all that he's professed to be, Victoria is forced to admit, for the first time in her life, that she is wrong. Not only about her fiance, but about the reason behind the handsome ship captain's interference.
    Show book
  • Pretty Little Liars #5: Wicked - cover

    Pretty Little Liars #5: Wicked

    Sara Shepard

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    #1 New York Times bestselling series 
    The fifth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series that inspired the hit ABC Family TV show Pretty Little Liars. 
    In idyllic Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four very pretty girls just can't help but be bad. Hanna will do anything to be Rosewood's queen bee. Spencer's digging up her family's secrets. Emily can't stop thinking about her new boyfriend. And Aria approves a little too strongly of her mom's taste in men. The girls think they’re in the clear now that Ali's killer is finally behind bars. But someone new is mimicking “A’s” blackmailing ways with wicked and mysterious messages. And it’s only a matter of time before they let some secrets slip.Full of unexpected twists and shocking revelations, Wicked is the fifth book in New York Times bestselling author Sara Shepard’s compelling Pretty Little Liars series. 
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 11
    • 44
    • 0
    THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.   
     
    As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.
    Show book
  • How to Draw Animals in 5 Simple Steps - Drawing Animals for Kids and Beginners - cover

    How to Draw Animals in 5 Simple...

    Richard M. Sparks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Want to learn drawing but don't know where to begin? Well, your search is over.
    
     
    This book will teach you basic techniques of drawing. It's OK if you don't have any experience with drawing. I can bet that you can learn to draw whatever your age might be or even if you are holding a pencil for the first time in your life. All you need is a slight interest in the subject and the patience to practice till you can draw with intention. The techniques that you will learn in this book will surely make your journey fun and easy. 
    
     
    In this book you will find step by step instructions to draw 56 animals in five simple steps. 
    
     
    Before we begin, I wish you the confidence of a toddler doodling all over the wall, being joyful and proud of his creation. Remember that every artist has a unique perspective and way of drawing and he keeps on improving and perfecting his craft through practice. But during all the stages of his journey right from the moment he first decides to hold a pencil, he is an Artist, just like You.
    
     
    Now let us learn the basics of drawing before we learn how to draw animals.
    Show book
  • Dreamology - cover

    Dreamology

    Lucy Keating

    • 5
    • 14
    • 0
    Vibrantly offbeat and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel combines the unconventional romance of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind with the sweetness and heart of Jenny Han. 
    For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together, they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist. 
    But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. Real Max is nothing like Dream Max. He’s stubborn and complicated. And he has a whole life Alice isn’t a part of. Getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped. 
    Alarmingly, when their dreams start to bleed into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?
    Show book