Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Hijab and Red Lipstick - cover

Hijab and Red Lipstick

Yousra Imran

Publisher: Hashtag Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Being a teenager isn't easy. All Sara wants to do is experiment with make-up and hang out with friends. It doesn't help when you have a super-strict Egyptian dad who tells you that everything is "haram" a.k.a. forbidden. But when her family move to the Arabian Gulf, it feels like every door is being closed on Sara's future. Can Sara find her voice again? Will she ever be free?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Toot Fairy - cover

    The Toot Fairy

    Mark Huffman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Sorry, Walter the Farting Dog. I think it’s fair to say that this is probably the best picture book about toots I’ve ever read.” —A Fuse #8 Production, School Library Journal 
     
    When it’s time for Jessa the fairy to proclaim what kind of fairy she wants to be, she accidentally says “toot” instead of “tooth!” Now she’ll be in charge of finding all the toots from all the bottoms in the world. This is not exactly what she had in mind . . . 
     
    Read by the author! Play on any Kindle device with color and audio support, including Kindle Fire, Kindle for PC or the Kindle app for iOS. 
     
    “A good giggle. In this day and age, it’s fun to read something so . . . ‘refreshing!’” —Craig Smith, award-winning, international bestselling author of The Wonky Donkey 
     
    “Wish I had thought of it first!” —Adam Rex, author/illustrator of On Account of the Gum
    Show book
  • Rita wants a Robot - cover

    Rita wants a Robot

    Máire Zepf

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Rita. Rita has a messy bedroom and wishes for a robot that could tidy her bedroom for her. But after thinking about how much chaos a super-sorting robot could make, especially at dinnertimes and Christmas, Rita decides she is much better at sorting.
    Show book
  • Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Vivian French

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A quirky school comedy from Vivian French. Perfect for fans of Wigglesbottom Primary and Kes Grey's Daisy books. 
     
    When Dan gets into trouble at school for being untidy, he teams up with his best friend Billy to find out who's throwing his lunchbox on the floor. With chalk fingerprints and missing sardine sandwiches as clues, Detective Dan is on the case! 
     
    This humorous mystery from award-winning author Vivian French has appealing black-and-white illustrations by Daniel Duncan and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    'Patrice Lawrence, Tony Bradman, Margaret Mahy, Joan Aiken, Andrew Fusek Peters, Michaela Morgan, Geraldine McCaughrean and Narinder Dhami: any list that brings together such a quality line up of authors is going to be welcomed.' - Books for Keeps on the Bloomsbury Readers series 
     
    Book Band: Lime 
    Ideal for ages 7+ 
    Quizzed for Accelerated Reader
    Show book
  • Five Total Strangers - cover

    Five Total Strangers

    Natalie D. Richards

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times Bestseller
     
    A "page-turning thriller that will keep readers guessing until the very end" (School Library Journal) about a road trip in a snowstorm that turns into bone-chilling disaster, from New York Times bestselling mystery author and "master of tension" (BCCB) Natalie D. Richards.
     
    She thought being stranded was the worst thing that could happen. She was wrong.
     
    Mira needs to get home for the holidays. Badly. But when an incoming blizzard results in a canceled connecting flight, it looks like she might get stuck at the airport indefinitely.
     
    And then Harper, Mira's glamorous seatmate from her initial flight, offers her a ride. Harper and her three friends can drop Mira off on their way home. But as they set off, Mira realizes fellow travelers are all total strangers. And every one of them is hiding something.
     
    Soon, roads go from slippery to terrifying. People's belongings are mysteriously disappearing. Someone in the car is clearly lying, and may even be sabotaging the trip—but why? And can Mira make it home alive, or will this nightmare drive turn fatal?Perfect for readers who love:YA horror books for teensMystery books for teensNatasha Preston, Megan Miranda, Karen McManus and Ruth Ware 
    Praise for Five Total Strangers:"A twisty thrill ride that will leave you breathless. I stayed up after midnight just to see how it all ended."—April Henry, New York Times bestselling author of Girl, Stolen"Richards is a master of tension. Suspense fans will get all the ups-and-downs of a well-paced narrative, but they may never want to drive on a snowy road again."—BCCB"A page-turning thriller that will keep readers guessing until the very end. Just the kind of fun book one needs for a hot summer day or a cold winter's night."—School Library Journal on Five Total Strangers"High thrill factor."—Booklist
     
    Also by Natalie D. Richards:Six Months LaterGone Too FarMy Secret to TellOne Was LostWe All Fall DownWhat You Hide
    Show book
  • The Tooth Fairy and the Crocodile King - cover

    The Tooth Fairy and the...

    Catusha Warry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Tooth Fairy and the Crocodile King is a fairy tale told in simple rhyming couplets. It is the story of a sleepy child who is visited by the Tooth Fairy; they take a journey together to the North Pole to meet King Crocodile, an avid collector of little teeth:
    
    "King Crocodile's home is made of teeth,
    And shimmers quite beyond belief,
    But in his mouth there is not one;
    His gums are bare as a baby's bum.
    He eats jam, soup and ice cream too,
    With mashed up pea and dumpling stew."
    
    In return for her tooth the Crocodile King gives our heroine a gold coin which allows her to travel anywhere she wishes to go and so she visits the bottom of the sea:
    
    “She swims with whales and talks to seals, 
    And slithers with some slippery eels. 
    She makes a hat from seaweed strands,
    And comfy shoes from giant clams.”
    
    Next morning she wakes to find the gold coin beneath her pillow and on her cupboard shelf:
    
    “There sits a playful fairy there, 
    Who waves her wand about the air. 
    No-one can see her only you - 
    And me of course, that makes just two."
    Show book
  • I am Winter - cover

    I am Winter

    Denise Brown

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Summer’s best friend Cee dies from cardiac arrest after both girls have taken pills, the accusations on social media begin, but as the bullying intensifies, Summer grows closer to revealing the secret both families are harbouring.
    Show book