Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Years Months Days - Two Novellas - cover

The Years Months Days - Two Novellas

Yan Lianke

Translator Carlos Rojas

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 2
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Yan Lianke’s reputation continues to grow as one of the most renowned novelists writing from inside China today. In a recent New York Times “By the Book” column, Amos Oz called Yan Lianke “a great Chinese writer.” And in Jiayang Fan’s NYTBR of The Explosion Chronicles, she wrote: “ I can think of few better novelists than Yan, with his superlative gifts for storytelling and penetrating eye for truth.”







Yan was twice short-listed for the Man Booker International Prize (most recently for The Four Books), as well as the Prix Femina Etranger, the Financial Times Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, and long-listed for the Man Asian Literary Award. He recently won the Franz Kafka Prize for his body of work (the first Chinese writer to receive the award) and the prestigious Dream of the Red Chamber Award in China.







Yan’s books have landed on Best of the Year lists and have been chosen as New York Times Editors’ Choice picks.







These two short novellas are more approachable for new readers than Yan’s longer political and cultural satires







Written just before his breakthrough novel Serve the People, they demonstrate Yan’s early genius. They are fable-like tales focusing on everyday villagers struggling to overcome personal hardship.







Marrow is about a single mother grappling to overcome the stigma of mental illness in her children. Colm Toibin has called it “a masterpiece” and the Asian Review of Books said the story is “timeless” and “marvelous.”







The Days, The Months, The Years is a bestselling classic in China—every schoolchild reads this fable and it has sold over a million copies. It tells the story of an old man keeping his sense of purpose alive by tending to his abandoned village. Yan won the prestigious Lu Xun Literary Prize (China’s equivalent of our National Book Award) for this novella.

Other books that might interest you

  • Anatomy of Fear - cover

    Anatomy of Fear

    Jonathan Santlofer

    • 3
    • 22
    • 0
    NYPD sketch artist Nate Rodriguez possesses a remarkable gift. From the smallest clues—an off-hand comment, a brief flash of fear in a victim's eyes—he is able to create an uncanny likeness of the assailant. Now Detective Terri Russo needs his help to solve a particularly shocking series of murders, perpetrated by a psychopath who enjoys drawing pictures of his crimes before committing them. Nate is being asked to enter the dark, twisted mind of a monster—to re-create a face that no one has lived to identify. But as a portrait slowly begins taking shape in Nate's mind and on the page, an electrifying game of cat and mouse reaches an unexpected new level—as a brilliant killer uses his own unique talents to turn the investigation in a terrifying new direction... 
    A breathtakingly original novel of suspense, Jonathan Santlofer's Anatomy of Fear mixes prose and pictures to create a story that burns its way into the brain and brilliantly revitalizes the crime fiction genre.
    Show book
  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book
  • Without Mercy - Siobhan Dunmoore #5 - cover

    Without Mercy - Siobhan Dunmoore #5

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    What is the value of one life in an interstellar war that has already claimed millions?  And if that single life doesn't matter, are any others worth saving? 
    A distress signal draws Siobhan Dunmoore's Q-ship Iolanthe, a battlecruiser disguised as a bulk freighter, away from her devastatingly successful hunt through Shrehari occupied space and plunges Dunmoore into a dark, merciless universe of competing government organizations, undercover warfare, and organized crime on a galactic scale.  Along the way, she crosses paths with an old foe and an uncertain ally as she and her crew race against time and determined opposition to rescue innocent civilians condemned merely because they were in the wrong place at the wrong moment.  Powerful forces within the Commonwealth would call a handful of lives collateral damage in humanity's existential struggle against the Shrehari Empire.  But Dunmoore won't accept that they aren't worth saving even if it puts her at cross-purposes with her new commanding officer and the Commonwealth's fearsome security bureau.  After all, her oath to serve and defend has no limitations and no expiry date.
    Show book
  • Deadly Sins: Sloth Sloane Monroe Stories #1 - Sloane Monroe Series #15 - cover

    Deadly Sins: Sloth Sloane Monroe...

    Cheryl Bradshaw

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fed up with her her lazy, unruly neighbor, Mary Pritchard sprints across the street, determined to give Darryl a piece of her mind.  
    She arrives to find he's been shot, the bullet piercing the center of his forehead. He's been executed, and that's not all. A mysterious woman is sprawled out on the floor in Darryl's hallway. She's dead too. Who is the woman? Why is she there? And why have they both been murdered? 
    If you enjoy the twists and turns of a good suspense story, the Deadly Sins series will thrill you.  
    The Deadly Sins stories series a part of Cheryl Bradshaw's New York Times bestselling mystery series.  
    "Full of surprises!"  
    "Many twists and turns."  
    "Kept my attention the entire time."
    Show book
  • Rings of a Tree - cover

    Rings of a Tree

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Carolyn Arnold deviates from her typical genre and delves into literary fiction to bring readers Rings of a Tree. This short story draws a poetic correlation between the changing seasons and the stages of our lives and was inspired by the author’s observations of the human journey. It is told through the viewpoint of an oak tree in snapshots of events that take place over generations. 
    “It’s a well-told tale. One that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.” 
    –Ann Swann, Bestselling author 
    “The generational tale she weaves is so true, so honest, that anyone can relate to it and feel compassion for the characters as they go through the trials and successes of life. We only get a sneak peek into their experiences, as we see them through the eyes of an eternal oak tree, but it is no less impactful.” 
    –Katie Jennings, Bestselling author 
    Another season begins… 
    Childhood sweethearts Jake and Cassidy always knew they’d end up getting married, but what they hadn’t been prepared for were the ups and downs that life would present to them. 
    Follow their family through generations of celebrations and trials, as told through the eyes and ears of an oak tree.
    Show book
  • Goodness - cover

    Goodness

    Tim Parks

    • 1
    • 20
    • 0
    George Crawley has finally got his life running along satisfyingly straight lines. Having made a success of his career and saved his faltering marriage, he is secure in the belief that he is master of his own destiny. Then comes the tragic blow - fate presents him with an apparently insoluble problem. Except that the word 'insoluble' just isn't part of the man's vocabulary. George will stop at nothing, nothing, to get his life back on the rails again.
    Show book