Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The New Freedom - The Old Order Changeth: Freemen Need No Guardians - cover

The New Freedom - The Old Order Changeth: Freemen Need No Guardians

Woodrow Wilson

Publisher: Madison & Adams Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The book is an attempt to express the new spirit of American politics and to set forth, in large terms which may stick in the imagination, what it is that must be done if we are to restore the politics to their full spiritual vigor again, and the national life, whether in trade, in industry, or in what concerns us only as families and individuals, to its purity, its self-respect, and its pristine strength and freedom. The New Freedom is only the old revived and clothed in the unconquerable strength of modern America.
Contents:
The Old Order Changeth
What is Progress?
Freemen Need No Guardians
Life Comes from the Soil
The Parliament of the People
Let There Be Light
The Tariff--"Protection," or Special Privilege?
Monopoly, or Opportunity?
Benevolence, or Justice?
The Way to Resume is to Resume
The Emancipation of Business
The Liberation of a People's Vital Energies
Available since: 06/05/2018.
Print length: 127 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Modern Political Promethean - cover

    A Modern Political Promethean

    Daniel Ellsberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A look into the motives, insights and visions of a modern political promethean and pacifist. Alive with inspirations and practical observations on the challenging times we live in.
    Show book
  • God in the White House - A History: How Faith Shaped the Presidency from John F Kennedy to George W Bush - cover

    God in the White House - A...

    Randall Balmer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Historian Randall Balmer takes us on a tour of presidential religiosity in the last half of the twentieth century—from Kennedy's 1960 speech that proposed an almost absolute wall between American political and religious life to the soft religiosity of Lyndon B. Johnson's Great Society; from Richard Nixon's manipulation of religion to fit his own needs to Gerald Ford's quiet stoicism; from Jimmy Carter's introduction of evangelicalism into the mainstream to Ronald Reagan's co-option of the same group; from Bill Clinton's covert way of turning religion into a non-issue to George W. Bush's overt Christian messages, Balmer reveals the role religion has played in the personal and political lives of these American presidents.God in the White House explores the paradox of Americans' expectation that presidents should simultaneously trumpet their religious views and relationship to God while supporting the separation of church and state. Balmer tells the story of the politicization of religion in the last half of the twentieth century, as well as the "religionization" of our politics. He reflects on the implications of this shift, which have reverberated in both our religious and political worlds, and offers a new lens through which to see not only these extraordinary individuals, but also our current political situation.
    Show book
  • Escape from Freedom - cover

    Escape from Freedom

    Erich Fromm

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Why do people choose authoritarianism over freedom? The classic study of the psychological appeal of fascism by a New York Times–bestselling author.  The pursuit of freedom has indelibly marked Western culture since Renaissance humanism and Protestantism began the fight for individualism and self-determination. This freedom, however, can make people feel unmoored, and is often accompanied by feelings of isolation, fear, and the loss of self, all leading to a desire for authoritarianism, conformity, or destructiveness. It is not only the question of freedom that makes Fromm’s debut book a timeless classic. In this examination of the roots of Nazism and fascism in Europe, Fromm also explains how economic and social constraints can also lead to authoritarianism. By the author of The Sane Society and The Anatomy of Human Destructiveness, this is a fascinating examination of the anxiety that underlies our darkest impulses, an enlightening volume perfect for readers of Eric Hoffer or Hannah Arendt.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Erich Fromm including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.   
    Show book
  • A Slobbering Love Affair - The True (and Pathetic) Story of the Torrid Romance Between ckck Obama and the Mainstream Media - cover

    A Slobbering Love Affair - The...

    Bernard Goldberg

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do the mainstream media have a liberal bias? Sure they do, says CBS veteran and New York Times bestselling author Bernard Goldberg. But the media crossed an important line in the 2008 presidential race, moving from their usual unthinking liberal bias to crass partisanship of the crudest kind, practically acting as spin doctors for the presidential campaign of Barack Obama. In A Slobbering Love Affair, his most provocative book yet, Goldberg demonstrates how the media launched an unparalleled effort to ensure the election of the man they regarded as the One. From the thrill Obama sent up Chris Matthews's leg to the outrageously slanted "news" reports of the New York Times, Goldberg shows in exacting detail how the media, abandoning even the pretense of objectivity, moved from media bias to media activism. With his trademark blunt, honest insider's perspective, Goldberg reveals: —How the media ignored, downplayed, or sanitized the rantings of the Reverend Jeremiah Wright, Obama's long-standing "spiritual" adviser, and the radicalism of former terrorist (and Obama associate) Bill Ayers—How the Obama campaign, while claiming to be "post-partisan," kicked reporters off Obama's plane after their newspapers endorsed McCain—Why Obama's election makes it more likely conservative talk radio will be stifled by a new "Fairness Doctrine" that has nothing to do with fairness at all—Why the liberal media preferred Obama to Hillary—What we can expect from the media's coverage of Obama's presidency—BONUS: An exclusive interview with Rush Limbaugh on the unholy alliance between Obama and the mainstream mediaA blistering takedown of the media's slavish support for Obama, A Slobbering Love Affair highlights how the mainstream media has not only surrendered its integrity and objectivity but could even endanger our democracy.
    Show book
  • Stalin and the Bomb - cover

    Stalin and the Bomb

    David Holloway

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The classic and “utterly engrossing” study of Stalin’s pursuit of a nuclear bomb during the Cold War by the renowned political scientist and historian (Foreign Affairs).For forty years the U.S.-Russian nuclear arms race dominated world politics, yet the Soviet nuclear establishment was shrouded in secrecy. Then, shortly after the collapse of the Soviet Union, David Holloway pulled back the Iron Curtain with his “marvelous, groundbreaking study” Stalin and the Bomb (The New Yorker).How did the Soviet Union build its atomic and hydrogen bombs? What role did espionage play? How did the American atomic monopoly affect Stalin's foreign policy? What was the relationship between Soviet nuclear scientists and the country's political leaders? David Holloway  answers these questions by tracing the dramatic story of Soviet nuclear policy from developments in physics in the 1920s to the testing of the hydrogen bomb and the emergence of nuclear deterrence in the mid-1950s. This magisterial history throws light on Soviet policy at the height of the Cold War, illuminates a central element of the Stalinist system, and puts into perspective the tragic legacy of this program―environmental damage, a vast network of institutes and factories, and a huge stockpile of unwanted weapons.
    Show book
  • Howard Zinn Speaks - Collected Speeches 1963-2009 - cover

    Howard Zinn Speaks - Collected...

    Howard Zinn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A wide-ranging collection of speeches—many published here for the first time—by the historian and author of A People’s History of the United States.   Howard Zinn has illuminated our history like no other US historian. This collection of his speeches on protest movements, racism, war, and American history covers more than four decades of his active engagement with the audiences he inspired with his humor, insight, and clarity.   This volume features Zinn’s impassioned and erudite statements on the war in Vietnam, abolishing the death penalty, the legacy of Emma Goldman, the myth of American exceptionalism, the Obama Administration, and much more.   “Reading Howard’s spoken words, I feel that I am almost hearing his voice again—his stunning pitch-perfect ability to capture the moment and the concerns and needs of the audience, whoever they may be, always enlightening, often stirring, an amalgam of insight, critical history, wit, blended with charm and appeal.” —Noam Chomsky, leading public intellectual and author of Hopes and Prospects   “With ferocious moral clarity and mischievous humor, Howard turned routine antiwar rallies into profound explorations of state violence and staid academic conferences into revival meetings for social change.” —Naomi Klein, author of No Is Not Enough and The Battle For Paradise
    Show book