As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Other People's Worlds - cover

Other People's Worlds

William Trevor

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An Englishwoman is taken in by a duplicitous suitor in this “constantly surprising work” from the Whitbread Award–winning author of Love and Summer (John Updike, The New Yorker).  Forty-seven-year-old widow Julia Ferndale can’t believe her good luck—she’s about to remarry. What’s more, her fiancé, Francis Tyte, is a charming actor and magazine model fourteen years her junior. Her daughters are thrilled. Her mother is suspicious. But unfortunately for Julia, she keeps those suspicions to herself.   After the wedding, Francis reveals a past that includes an abandoned wife, a mistress and child, and the many others he’s used and left behind to deal with his wreckage. Finding herself suddenly added to their number, Julia is shocked out of her dream and onto a sobering journey that leads into the savage realities of the world. “Pungent with the sense of evil and corruption.” —John Updike, The New Yorker   “All the gifts that were obvious in Mr. Trevor’s earlier books are even more apparent here. . . . A book filled with narrative surprise and shrewd social observation, and has, in addition, an edge of genuine moral interest.” —The New York Times   “Trevor is a master of both language and storytelling.” —Hilary Mantel on Felicia’s Journey  

Other books that might interest you

  • Exile - The Lunnaria Trilogy - cover

    Exile - The Lunnaria Trilogy

    Luiza Dobrzynska

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the distant future the humanity is subject to meticulous control and class segregation. The criterion for belonging to one of the classes is IQ, determined at birth according to measurements of synaptic density of the brain. Permits to have a child are issued by committees that severely assess the physical and mental health of future parents, and marriages between castes are prohibited.
     
    The young librarian, Leeta finds herself accidentally at the center of political game and as the only witness to an attack on members of the global government she becomes a threat to many prominent figures. Her protector, Citizen Hakat, decides to send the girl to the moon, to an industrial city where she would be safer than on Earth.
     
    The city of Lunnaria is completely dependent on supplies from Earth and theoretically falls under its jurisdiction, but it is really ruled by large mining corporations. Leeta gets assigned to the local police.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote His Life and Crimes - cover

    Inspector Ghote His Life and Crimes

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The best of the shorter adventures of Inspector Ghote, 'one of the great creations of detective fiction' (Alexander McCall Smith), are brought together in this page-turning collection of short stories - with a brand-new introduction by bestselling author Vaseem Khan.
     
    Inspector Ganesh Ghote of the Bombay CID stands alongside Hercule Poirot and Sherlock Holmes as one of the best-loved of fictional detectives. Mild mannered, often hamstrung by his refusal to accept bribes or force false confessions, but unparalleled in his determination to catch his killer, Ghote has delighted readers since his first appearance in print in 1967.
     
    This collection of short stories brings together some of the best of Ghote's shorter adventures. From 'The All-Bat Hat' to 'Murder Mustn't At All Advertise, Isn't It?', these stories celebrate Ghote and his painstaking investigative powers. Plus, an introduction by H. R. F. Keating himself gives a fascinating insight into the creation of the good detective, and how his life as a policewalla changed and evolved over the years to reflect real-life police work in the contemporary Bombay of the past.
    Show book
  • The Perfect Fraud - A Novel - cover

    The Perfect Fraud - A Novel

    Ellen LaCorte

    • 1
    • 8
    • 1
    In this propulsive debut thriller, two women with deep secrets are thrown together by an unexpected meeting that plunges both their lives into chaos. But it’s a sick little girl whose fate hangs in the balance. 
    Motherhood is tough. But then, so is daughterhood. When we first meet Claire, she’s living in Sedona, Arizona with her boyfriend Cal and ducking calls from her mother.  Her mom is a world class psychic on the East Coast and Claire doesn’t want her to discover the truth. Claire works in the family business and calls herself a psychic, but she doesn’t really have “the gift” and hasn’t for a long time. She’s a fraud. 
    Meanwhile, on the other side of the country, Rena, a young mother, has family issues of her own. She’s divorced and her four-year-old daughter, Stephanie, suffers from mysterious, seemingly incurable stomach problems. No matter how many specialists Rena drags her to, no matter how many mommy-blog posts she makes about her child’s health issues, trying to get help and support from her online community, Stephanie only gets sicker. 
    When Claire and Rena meet by chance on an airplane, their carefully constructed lives begin to explode.  Can these two women help each other and can they help Stephanie before it’s too late?   
     
     
    Show book
  • Kill the Queen - cover

    Kill the Queen

    Jennifer Estep

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Gladiator meets Game of Thrones: a royal woman becomes a skilled warrior to destroy her murderous cousin, avenge her family, and save her kingdom in this first entry in a dazzling fantasy epic from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Elemental Assassin series—an enthralling tale that combines magic, murder, intrigue, adventure, and a hint of romance. 
    In a realm where one’s magical power determines one’s worth, Lady Everleigh’s lack of obvious ability relegates her to the shadows of the royal court of Bellona, a kingdom steeped in gladiator tradition. Seventeenth in line for the throne, Evie is nothing more than a ceremonial fixture, overlooked and mostly forgotten. 
    But dark forces are at work inside the palace. When her cousin Vasilia, the crown princess, assassinates her mother the queen and takes the throne by force, Evie is also attacked, along with the rest of the royal family. Luckily for Evie, her secret immunity to magic helps her escape the massacre. 
    Forced into hiding to survive, she falls in with a gladiator troupe. Though they use their talents to entertain and amuse the masses, the gladiators are actually highly trained warriors skilled in the art of war, especially Lucas Sullivan, a powerful magier with secrets of his own. Uncertain of her future—or if she even has one—Evie begins training with the troupe until she can decide her next move. 
    But as the bloodthirsty Vasilia exerts her power, pushing Bellona to the brink of war, Evie’s fate becomes clear: she must become a fearsome gladiator herself . . . and kill the queen.
    Show book
  • The Warrior's Call - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 3 - cover

    The Warrior's Call - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    Darkness threatens the land.With an evil creature killing dragons and riders alike, the False King’s reign of terror spills across the border. While the king of Osnen and the Citadel’s riders struggle to stem the assault, Eldwin flies to the Conclave to plead for help from the other schools.
     
    Unless the schools unite and arrive in time, the world is doomed.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Warrior's Call is the third episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror
    Show book
  • Bite Me If You Can - cover

    Bite Me If You Can

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    Once Bitten . . . 
    One minute Leigh is walking home in the early hours of the morning, and the next a vampire is sinking his teeth into her neck. Turns out it was a rogue vampire marked for termination, but it does Leigh little good because the damage's already been done. She's become one of them. 
    Lucian Argeneau, hunter of rogue vampires, has been alive for over two thousand years, and there's very little to excite him anymore. Food has become tasteless, sex is ordinary. Then Leigh drops into his life. Suddenly he finds himself craving coffee . . . and imagining the sassy brunette atop the black satin sheets on his nice big bed. It's Lucian's job now to enlighten Leigh on the inner workings of being immortal . . . and tutoring her is igniting a fire in him that hasn't burned in centuries. 
    But until they stop a renegade bloodsucker from destroying the human race, passion will have to wait!
    Show book