If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Elizabeth Alone - cover

Elizabeth Alone

William Trevor

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Alone together in a London hospital ward, four women take stock of their lives in this “deeply moving novel” by the award-winning author of The Old Boys (The New York Times).  At forty-one, the news that she requires a hysterectomy strikes Elizabeth Aidallbery as something of a nonevent. But from her bed at Cheltenham Women’s Hospital, the divorced mother of three comes to realize that she is at a crossroads. She meets two other women admitted for the same operation: Young Sylvie Clapper, who is preoccupied with her dishonest boyfriend; and poor Miss Samson, with her disfiguring birthmark, who runs a Christian boarding house. In the ward with them is Lily Drucker, determined to have a child despite insurmountable difficulties.   With compassion and wry humor, these very different women share their lives, concerns, and regrets. Elizabeth faces a lonesome life that includes a childhood friend turned hapless suitor, and a teenage daughter who has run off to a commune. But there is a hard-won grace in the companionship these women find in Trevor’s “finely observed, gently sensitive comedy” that is “delightful to read” (Daily Telegraph).  

Other books that might interest you

  • Blood on the Bayou - cover

    Blood on the Bayou

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In this New Orleans–set mystery, the author of Cajun Nights “combines an insider’s knowledge with a real flair for making the reader’s skin crawl” (Booklist).   There’s a killer stalking the New Orleans French Quarter. Each victim is found in the same gruesome condition: the body bloodied by a gardening fork, and the throat torn out by . . . what exactly?   That’s the question on the minds of medical examiner Andy Broussard and his young partner, criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn. Broussard suspects the perpetrator isn’t human at all, but a monster of terrifying legend. Only when their investigation draws them deep into Bayou country do Broussard and Franklyn discover just how monstrous some humans can be . . .   With this second sharp-witted mystery in the series featuring Broussard and Franklyn, “it’s hard to beat [Donaldson’s] combination of cool science and explosive passion in the heart of humid Louisiana” (The Commercial Appeal, Memphis).
    Show book
  • Monument Road - A Florida noir mystery - cover

    Monument Road - A Florida noir...

    Michael Wiley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shortlisted for the Shamus Awards 2018 - Best PI Hardcover NovelIntroducing former death-row inmate turned private investigator Franky Dast in the first of an intriguing new crime noir series.Having spent eight years on death row for a crime he didn’t commit, Franky Dast now works as an investigator for the Justice Now Initiative, seeking to help others in the same situation. But when he learns that Bill Higby, the detective whose testimony helped convict him, is facing his own murder charge, Franky is torn. Should he help the man he hates more than any other, the man who remains convinced of Franky’s guilt to this day?As Franky delves further, he comes to realize that in order to prove Higby’s innocence, he must also prove his own. Unless he finds out what happened that fateful night eight years before, the night 15-year-old Duane Bronson and his 13-year-old brother were murdered, Franky will always be under suspicion, and the real killer will remain free. What really happened that dark, wet night on Monument Road?  And is Franky prepared for the shocking truth? 
    Will appeal to fans of GREG ILES and MICHAEL CONNELLY
    Show book
  • How to Knit a Love Song - A Cypress Hollow Yarn Book 1 - cover

    How to Knit a Love Song - A...

    Rachael Herron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “The perfect book to curl up with, as warm and cozy as your favorite sweater.”—New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs Author Rachael Herron spins a delightful yarn in her wonderful debut novel How to Knit a Love Song. The first in her Cypress Hollow Yarn series of smart, witty, and wonderful love stories woven around a knitting theme, How to Knit a Love Song is a delightful indulgence certain to charm every reader who loved The Friday Night Knitting Club, as well as devoted fans of the heartwarming fiction of Debbie Macomber, Sheryl Woods, and Susan Wiggs.
    Show book
  • Refuge - A Novel - cover

    Refuge - A Novel

    Merilyn Simonds

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    To whom do we offer refuge — and why?
     
    After a life that rubbed up against the century’s great events in New York City, Mexico, and Montreal, 96-year-old Cassandra MacCallum is surviving well enough, alone on her island, when a young Burmese woman contacts her, claiming to be kin. Curiosity, loneliness, and a slender filament of hope prompts the old woman to accept a visit. But Nang’s story of torture and flight provokes memories in Cass that peel back, layer by layer, the events that brought her to this moment — and forces her, against her will, to confront the tragedy she has refused for half a century. Could her son really be Nang’s grandfather? What does she owe this girl, who claims to be stateless because of her MacCallum blood? Drawn, despite herself, into Nang’s search for refuge, Cass struggles to accept the past and find a way into whatever future remains to her.
    Show book
  • How to Knit a Heart Back Home - A Cypress Hollow Yarn Book 2 - cover

    How to Knit a Heart Back Home -...

    Rachael Herron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A warm-hearted hug from a talented author—and knitter. It’s a sweet comfort read, with an edge of humor and irony that strikes just the right note.”—New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs “Rachael Herron charms with an emotional, heart-warming story of family, friendship and love in a town you’ll never want to leave.”—USA Today bestselling author Barbara Freethy Return with rising romance star Rachael Herron to the town of Cypress Hollow—site of her unforgettable debut, How to Knit a Love Song—and learn How to Knit a Heart Back Home. Fans of Debbie Macomber will adore this joyous tale of a fiery independent lady whose life interweaves with a bad-boy ex-cop’s and the shared mission that knits their hearts together.
    Show book
  • DRIVE - A NASCAR novel - cover

    DRIVE - A NASCAR novel

    Susan Strecker

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Piper Pierson is on her way to becoming a NASCAR superstar driving for her family’s team, Pierson Racing. But a terrible wreck nearly takes her father's life, so Piper trades her dreams of racing for a journalism degree. Writing for the famed NASCAR Weekly newspaper, Piper meets Colt Porter, Pierson Racing’s hot-shot new driver and sparks fly. In a world filled with danger and crashes, Colt’s mantra is that life is beautiful and must be lived as if every day is the last. He helps Piper realize all she has to live for in spite of the past. But when another senseless accident happens, someone she loves is taken from her, testing her new-found philosophy. Drive is the story of hard truths and disappointments, growing up, and embracing what matters most.
    Show book