Come on board for a journey through literature!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Elizabeth Alone - cover

Elizabeth Alone

William Trevor

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Alone together in a London hospital ward, four women take stock of their lives in this “deeply moving novel” by the award-winning author of The Old Boys (The New York Times).  At forty-one, the news that she requires a hysterectomy strikes Elizabeth Aidallbery as something of a nonevent. But from her bed at Cheltenham Women’s Hospital, the divorced mother of three comes to realize that she is at a crossroads. She meets two other women admitted for the same operation: Young Sylvie Clapper, who is preoccupied with her dishonest boyfriend; and poor Miss Samson, with her disfiguring birthmark, who runs a Christian boarding house. In the ward with them is Lily Drucker, determined to have a child despite insurmountable difficulties.   With compassion and wry humor, these very different women share their lives, concerns, and regrets. Elizabeth faces a lonesome life that includes a childhood friend turned hapless suitor, and a teenage daughter who has run off to a commune. But there is a hard-won grace in the companionship these women find in Trevor’s “finely observed, gently sensitive comedy” that is “delightful to read” (Daily Telegraph).  

Other books that might interest you

  • The Pumilio Child - cover

    The Pumilio Child

    Judy McInerney

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ya Ling’s cultured life of privilege in Beijing is cruelly cut short when she is abducted and shipped to the slave market in Venice. When Mantegna sees her chained to a post, his initial intention is to paint her exotic beauty, but he soon he desires her company for pleasures of a more private nature. Ya Ling has two ambitions, to ruin Mantegna, then to escape back to her family in China. However, Mantegna’s latest commission, two huge frescos for the ruling Gonzaga family, make him invincible. 
    Will Ya Ling survive? And can she succeed?
    Show book
  • The Greek Persuasion - A Novel - cover

    The Greek Persuasion - A Novel

    Kimberly K. Robeson

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Consumed by a myth about Zeus, a magic sword, and soul mates, Greek-American professor Thair Mylopoulos-Wright has spent much of her life searching for her Other Half. At thirty-one, she spends a summer in Greece; there, alone on a tranquil island, she begins writing stories about her grandmother’s experiences in 1940s Egypt, her mother’s youth in 1960s Greece, and finally, her own life in contemporary America—trying to make sense of her future by exploring the past.  
    
    Spanning Thair’s life from thirty-one to thirty-six, The Greek Persuasion explores human sexuality, the complexity of mother-daughter relationships, and the choices women of different generations make when choosing—or settling—for “Mr. (or Ms.) Good Enough.” Will Thair ever find that missing part of her that Zeus chopped off with his magic sword? Or is the concept of The One just one big fairy tale that has left her searching for someone who doesn’t exist?
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 69
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Season of the Witch - A Novel - cover

    Season of the Witch - A Novel

    James Leo Herlihy

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    By the author of Midnight Cowboy: A teenage girl runs away to the East Village in “one of the best and most convincing novels . . . of the Woodstock generation” (Publishers Weekly).   As she explains in her diary, seventeen-year-old Gloria Random is running away from her Midwest childhood home. It’s the fall of 1969, and her best friend John has been called up for the draft. It’s time to escape the Big Finger, and their mundane lives.   Renaming themselves Witch and Roy, they head to New York City in search of Witch’s biological father. Landing in the East Village, they fall into an underground world of mysticism, drugs, and free love as they burrow further into hiding from the realities they left behind.   In his last novel, the iconic author of Midnight Cowboy and All Fall Down captures the heady mix of anxiety and experimentation that permeated New York at the height of the anti-war movement. With his trademark wit and insight, James Leo Herlihy brings together a colorful cast of characters straight from the heart of the countercultural revolution.   “A tour de force!” —The New York Times   “Herlihy writes with an edge of iron.” —Nelson Algren, National Book Award–winning author of The Man with the Golden Arm
    Show book
  • The Gamekeeper's Wife - An emotional saga set in 1920s England - cover

    The Gamekeeper's Wife - An...

    Clare Flynn

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    A gripping story of love, duty, sacrifice and determination in the aftermath of the First World War.
     
    Martha Walters is the widow of an abusive man. She has nothing and is about to lose her home. Christopher Shipley is the reluctant heir to a substantial family fortune. He has more money than he needs or wants, and responsibilities he cannot shirk. They were never meant to fall in love, but sometimes the wrong person is the right one. Then a terrible secret is revealed, which could force them apart and turn their lives upside down.
     
    From an English country house to the jungles of Borneo, The Gamekeeper’s Wife, is "one of the best novels of its type I have reviewed for the HNS. Pace. Plot. Emotion." Historical Novels Review
    Show book
  • The Summer Demands - cover

    The Summer Demands

    Deborah Shapiro

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A moody, psychological, and compulsively page-turning novel of one woman’s shifting ambitions and desires over the course of an aimless Massachusetts summer at an abandoned summer camp
     Emily and her husband meant to fix up the abandoned summer camp they’d inherited; instead, Emily finds herself grieving a miscarriage and her missing ambition alone while her husband, David, works in the city. That is, until she discovers Stella, a guileless young woman squatting in one of the abandoned cabins. Their immediate and intense connection expands and contracts over the course of a dreamlike summer, calling all of Emily’s relationships into closer scrutiny. 
     A smart and accessible summer must-read to be devoured in a single sitting, The Summer Demands begins with no preamble; we are immediately plunged into Stella's appearance and the consequences that unfold
     Shapiro is a master at exploring the inertia of ambition, at sprinkling sharp little daggers in her sentences, and at involving the reader as a bystander in her taut, tense, and subvertly sexy plot
     Paradoxically very little and yet so much happens over the course of a short amount of time in this slim novel, where characters' nostalgia and (lack of) control propel the story forward
     The Massachusetts lakeside camp setting for The Summer Demands is evocative and menacing and dreamlike, and will remind readers of their own summers on the brink of adulthood
     The Summer Demands is a wryly intelligent look at women’s interior lives that calls to mind Rachel Cusk’s Outline, is page-turning like Edan Lepucki’s Woman No. 17, and deftly explores complex relationships like Julie Buntin’s Marlena. Shapiro reflects on relationships among women wherein there is a substantial age difference, and how the act of watching, viewing, judging ourselves and women changes as we age, and as we have more of our life to look back on.
     The Summer Demands is also a look at the transitional points in our lives; nearing forty and grappling with the idea that she may never be a mother, Emily finds herself experiencing a summer out of time, at a place she knew intimately as a child, and delicately exploring what might be next
     Shapiro is a well-connected journalist who’s written for New York, Elle, The New York Times Book Review, Los Angeles Review of Books, and more, with ties to Chicago, New York, Boston, Los Angeles, and San Francisco. Her debut novel, The Sun in Your Eyes, was a New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice.
    
     
    Bookseller Praise for The Summer Demands
    "A summer camp, maybe a chance to change directions in life. Well, yes, that is possible. Who knows what a summer will bring when you discover a young, beautiful stranger living in a cabin on the property you and your husband just inherited. Or what comes next when closeness becomes a reality, and then Alice arrives to complicate matters. Diving deeply into the mind and heart of Emily and her past, Ms. Shapiro brings us the reality that isn’t found in reality TV. Self-discovery can be a painful experience, but it can also set us free to find a brighter, wiser future. I think you’ll enjoy this one!" —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)
    "A beach read for the introspective set looking to read something cover-to-cover in a day. Both heady like a balmy night and refreshing like a dip in a cool lake. Shapiro captures a portrait of an aching and confused woman and lets her breathe in the exuberant air of summer." —Luis Correa, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)
     "Emily doesn't know what to do with herself. She and her husband had plans to renovate the camp she inherited from her aunt, but work has stalled. With no other job prospects in sight, she is adrift in a listless echo of the eternity of childhood summers. So when she discovers a magnetic young woman staying on their property, she is more intrigued than alarmed. Despite her better judgment, Emily is drawn to Stella, and they quickly become very close—friends, or maybe something more. But a powerful current runs beneath their relationship, one that threatens to become an undertow. I was enchanted with this dreamy novel, with the questions Shapiro raises about intimacy, identity, and purpose. With its hypnotic pacing and prose, The Summer Demands is as seductive as a secret." —Lauren Peugh, Powell's Books (Portland, OR)
    "A nuanced and emotionally compelling portrait of a woman in her forties recalibrating her life and identity through shifting interactions with a young woman squatting on her property. Their relationship strays across lines of friend, daughter, lover, and even self, as seen through a flawed lens of introversion, grief, and midlife crisis. Engaging but also dreamy, the perfect summer read." —Genevieve Taylor, Boulder Book Store (Boulder, CO)
    "The writing is elegant! Love it." —Joanne Berg, Mystery to Me (Madison, WI)
    Show book