Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
TekLords - cover

TekLords

William Shatner

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

When anybody can be an assassin, a detective with many enemies can only trust one person: himself Jake Cardigan has just returned from Mexico, where he fell in love, nearly died, and broke up the infamous Hokori cartel. But the drug kingpins whose fortunes rest on pushing Tek are still trying to do away with this devilish private eye. During a routine trip to the mall, a well-dressed man tries to stab Cardigan through the heart. After a quick scuffle, the would-be assassin is dead on the floor, and Cardigan is the one who winds up in handcuffs. The dead man was an executive at a hydroponics company—an ordinary worker drone with no apparent reason to kill the detective. An evil mastermind has learned how to make innocent civilians obey his commands, and he will sacrifice an army of zombie assassins if it means getting a clean shot at Cardigan. To stay alive, and out of jail, Cardigan will have to learn to steer clear of the mindless killers of Greater Los Angeles. This ebook features an illustrated biography of William Shatner including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s personal collection.  

Who read this book also read:

  • Witch Way to Murder - cover

    Witch Way to Murder

    Shirley Damsgaard

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Bewitched meets Murder She Wrote in this delightful new cozy mystery series featuring Ophelia Jensen, small town librarian and reluctant psychic, and her grandmother Abby, a benevolent witch.   
    Thirty something Ophelia Jensen wants to live a quiet life as a small town librarian. She's created a comfortable existence with her kooky, colorful grandmother Abby, and if it were up to her, they could live out their days—along with Ophelia's dog Lady and cat Queenie—in peace and quiet. But, to Ophelia's dismay, she and Abby aren't a typical grandmother/granddaughter duo. She possesses psychic powers, and Abby is a kindly witch. And while Ophelia would do anything to dismiss her gift—harboring terrible guilt after her best friend was killed and she was unable to stop it—threatening events keep popping up, forcing her to tap into her powers of intuition. To make matters worse, a strange—yet devastatingly attractive—man is hanging around Ophelia's library, and no matter how many times she tells him she's sworn off men forever, he persists. Soon this handsome newcomer reveals he's following a lead on a local drug ring, and then a dead body shows up right in Abby's backyard. And much as Ophelia would like to put away her spells forever, she and Abby must use their special powers to keep themselves, and others, out of harm's way.
    Show book
  • The Man Who Walked Like a Bear - cover

    The Man Who Walked Like a Bear

    Stuart M. Kaminsky

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With his wife in the hospital, Porfiry Rostnikov tries to protect Moscow from chaosPorfiry and Sarah Rostnikov have been in love since the end of World War II, growing old together as the Soviet Union lurches towards modernity. Sarah is recovering from a brain operation, her police inspector husband at her side, when a bearlike man staggers into her hospital room. Hulking, naked, and insensible, he is about to leap out the window when Rostnikov talks him off the ledge. But before the orderlies take him away, the giant whispers a secret to the investigator. Someone has been stealing from the factory where he works. As he puzzles over the colossal madman’s clue, Rostnikov must also focus on his colleagues in the Moscow police, as their team contends with a sudden jump in crime. Rebels are planting bombs, teenagers are plotting assassinations, and the KGB lurks in every shadow. Surviving all this without Sarah by his side will be a challenge for the limping policeman, but he has long proven adept at talking down the Russian bear.   
    Show book
  • The Legend - cover

    The Legend

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Peter Arundsen is bored—bored with his conventional wife, and bored with his conventional city job. He hankers after his dangerous past, when he was a spy with the SIS, and cherishes his contact with ex-colleagues at weekend parties hosted by their old chief, Philip Wetherby.   When one of these parties is overshadowed by news of a defection, Arundsen resists Wetherby’s request to investigate. But he cannot resist Wetherby’s beautiful and mysterious niece. He finds himself, against his better judgement, drawn into the investigation, and so into a tangle of treason, intrigue—and a trap from which it seems there is no escape.
    Show book
  • Otherwise Occupied - Evan Arden #2 - cover

    Otherwise Occupied - Evan Arden #2

    Shay Savage

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Evan Arden is a hit man for a Chicago mob boss and moves through life with darkness in his soul and a gun in his hand.  Those who know him for what he is fear him, and those who find out the hard way never get a chance to tell anyone else.  The few people who get a glimpse inside his head wish they never had.  A merciless killer, his only loyalty resides with his employer, the man who calls the shots that rain from Evan’s weapon. 
    As a POW of the Gulf War, Evan spent months in captivity, and the memories of his confinement combine with thoughts of the woman he left in Arizona.  He lives his life day-to-day with little more than the company of his dog, Odin.  As insomnia overtakes him, he seeks comfort from an unlikely source, but will confiding in her be his undoing? 
    He’s struggling to forget his past and to keep himself Otherwise Occupied.
    Show book
  • EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #4 - cover

    EXPLOITED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page."—Fresh Fiction 
    Lawyer Kate Lange has survived some terrible things. And it has changed her. What scares her is that it may not be for the better. 
    Determined to take charge of her career and make sense of her life, she embarks on a bold plan—she will leave private practice and become a Crown Prosecutor. But she soon discovers that she must learn the ropes as a criminal defense lawyer to achieve her goal. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to... the accused? 
    Joining forces with Eddie Bent, a recovering alcoholic and top criminal defense lawyer, Kate takes on the case of a young woman shot while committing a puzzling crime. The shooter is none other than golden boy Member of Parliament Harry Owen.  Just months before, he had refused Kate’s plea for compassion for a dying client. And now he is both victim—and shooter—of her new client. 
    What if the face of justice belongs to… us all? 
    While Kate races to piece together the case, the lines between innocence and guilt become blurred as an online vigilante forum seeks its own brand of justice—and a devious cyber mastermind puts the final touches on an explosive plan. 
    "Intertwined in the storyline are devious cyber plots to rival anything ripped from today's political nightmares. Who is behind what plot? Can these disasters be averted? Can any illegal activity ever be for the public good? ... Although this was read as a standalone, I really want to read the first three volumes. I HIGHLY recommend this book."–Book Review Crew  
    Set in a 36-hour time period, EXPLOITED is an edge-of-the-seat thriller for fans of John Grisham, James Patterson and Lisa Scottoline. 
    The series has sold over three hundred thousand copies and is now under option for television development. 
     
     
    Praise for the novels of Pamela Callow: 
     
    "Pamela Callow's debut thriller Damaged reminded me of the best of Robin Cook: lightning paced, innovative, topical...and most of all, frightening. Part medical mystery, part bloody thriller, here is a debut that had me flipping pages until the wee hours of the morning." 
    — James Rollins, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    "...this debut novel by a member of the Nova Scotia bar is one utterly complete, complex and convincing book that has one hooked from the first line...While the mystery may be medical with sophisticated and high technology required to improve lives, it’s dark and dangerously suspenseful..." 
    — Atlantic Books Today on Damaged 
     
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
     
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing. The insidious villain destroys a life, a reputation and a family, all as part of a chilling plan." 
    —RT Book Reviews on Indefensible, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
     
    “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; Tattooed has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.”  
    —The Eclectic Reader  
     
    Show book
  • Death at Pompeia's Wedding - cover

    Death at Pompeia's Wedding

    Rosemary Rowe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Libertus Mystery, set in Roman Britain - Libertus is at a society wedding on behalf of his patron when the father of the bride is poisoned after testing the wedding wine. Pompeia, the bride, declares that she has caused the death, but Libertus is retained by the bridegroom to prove her innocence. His investigations uncover hidden tensions, and when another guest is discovered murdered at his home, events take a different and more sinister turn . . .
    Show book