Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Christmas Library: 250+ Essential Christmas Novels Poems Carols Short Storiesby 100+ Authors - cover

The Christmas Library: 250+ Essential Christmas Novels Poems Carols Short Storiesby 100+ Authors

William Shakespeare, José María de Pereda, Lope de Vega, Charles Dickens, Lewis Carroll, Louisa May Alcott, Robert Ervin Howard, L. Frank Baum, Washington Irving, Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Hans Christian Andersen, Harriett Beecher Stowe, John John, William Makepeace Thackeray, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, O. Henry, Saki Saki, Robert Burns, Robert Louis Stevenson, Eugene Field, Kate Douglas v, William Dean Howells, Adelaide Ann Procter, John Kendrick Bangs, Robert Browning, Bret Harte, HESBA STRETTON, Florence L. Barclay, Lyman Frank Baum, Ella Wheeler Wilcox, Martha Finley, Anton Chekhov, James Whitcomb Riley, Robert Ingersoll, John Greenleaf Whittier, Theodore Parker, Edward Payson Roe, Juliana Horatia Ewing, Hezekiah Butterworth, Paul Laurence Dunbar, S. Weir Mitchell, Thomas Nelson Page, Mary Louisa Molesworth, H.P. Lovecraft, Willa Cather, G. K. Chesterton, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Frost, Henry Van Dyke, Sara Teasdale, Kenneth Grahame, Algernon Blackwood, Letitia Elizabeth Landon, Zona Gale, Lucy Maud Montgomery, A. A. Milne, Andy Adams, Arthur Conan Doyle, Brothers Grimm, Clement Clarke Moore, Berthold Auerbach, William J. Locke, Margery Williams, Laura Lee Hope, Ellis Parker Butler, Mary Wilkins Freeman, Stephen Leacock, Elizabeth Anderson, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, John Masefield, Richmal Crompton, Thomas Chatterton, Eleanor Hallowell Abbott, Beatrix Potter, John Strange Winter, Viktor Rydberg, Katharine Lee Bates, Amy Ella Blanchard, L. M. Montgomery, Alice Duer Miller, Grimm brothers, Charles Edward Carryl, Ralph Henry Barbour, Ernest Vincent Wright, Don Marquis, R. L. Stevenson, Meredith Nicholson, George Robert Sims, Newton Booth Tarkington, Evaleen Stein, Thomas Hardy, Jacob August Riis, Montague Rhodes James, Annie Roe Carr, Thomas Hill, Alice Hale Burnett, Banjo Paterson, Elia W. Peattie, William Henry Davies, Nahum Tate, Frank Stockton, Olive Thorne Miller, Dylan Thomas, Anonymous Anonymous, Rose Terry Cooke, Anne Hollingsworth Wharton, Leo Tolstoy, Annie Eliot Trumbull, Santa Claus, John Bowring, Francis Pharcellus Church, Mother Goose, Mrs. W. H. Corning, H. W. Collingwood, Julia Schayer, Margaret E. Sangster, Peter Christen Asbjornsen, Cecil Frances Alexander, Elizabeth Margaret Chandler, George A. Baker, George Augustus Sala, C.H. Mead, Christopher North, Cornelia Redmond, M.E.S

Publisher: JA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This holiday, we proudly present to you this unique collection of the greatest Christmas stories. Over 250 of them are included by your favourite authors:Charles Dickens, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Leo Tolstoy, Willa Cather, Beatrix Potter, Louisa May Alcott, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Hans Christian Andersen, E.T.A. Hoffmann, O. Henry, Mark Twain and many more!

Other books that might interest you

  • Death of the Snake Catcher - cover

    Death of the Snake Catcher

    Ak Welsapar

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book features people from one of the most closed countries of today's world, where the passage of time resembles the passage of a caravan through the waterless desert. This world has been recreated by a true-born son of that mysterious country, a Turkmen who, at the will of fate, has now  been living for a quarter of a century in snowy Scandinavia. Is that not why two different worlds come together in Ryazan horseradish and Tula gingerbread, to come apart in Love in Lilac, in which a student from the non-free world falls in love with a girl from the West?
     
    In the story Death of the Snake Catcher, an old snake catcher meets one on one with a giant cobra in the heart of the desert. In the dialogue between them the author unveils the age-old interdependence of Man and untamed nature, where the fear and mistrust of the strong and the hopes and apprehensions of the weak change places but co-exist as ever.  Egyptian night of fear, in which a boy goes to an Eastern bazaar and falls into the clutches of depraved forces, is created in the writer's characteristic style of magical realism, while the novella Altynai celebrates first love, radiant and sad, pure as virgin snow.
     
    Now mythical, now lyrical, Welsapar's characters face life's injustice with a surprising optimism and fortitude. The intense Asiatic colour not only of nature but of human feelings and relationships, is expressed by the author in striking, expressive language making the reader unable to close the book until the last page.
    Show book
  • Quiet Pine Trees - cover

    Quiet Pine Trees

    T. R. Darling

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The book grew out of the cult Twitter account @QuietPineTrees, which has 17k followers.It is a perfect gift for the sci-fi/fantasy fan in your life, as well as a rich source of inspiration for writers, artists and other creators.Features illustrated chapter openers throughout.For fans of Richard Matheson, The Twilight Zone, A Small Fiction by James and Jefferson Miller.
    Show book
  • Blue Food … and Other Menu Items - cover

    Blue Food … and Other Menu Items

    Ken La Salle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The works of Ken La Salle range from the bizarre to the whimsical and even further beyond still. In Blue Food and other menu items, Ken La Salle treats you to a dozen tales, hilarious and deeply strange.You’ll be introduced to Blue Food and find out why it never seemed to catch on in America.You’ll meet Bigfoot’s Older Brother and find out just what it’s like to set Bigfoot up on a date.You’ll be learn about how the dead make the best matchmakers, even if they can be a bit unconventional.You’ll see for yourself just what the Problem With Swings is.You’ll read about how saving earth might be just the thing for a little girl with Muscular Dystrophy.You’ll be warned about Bobby’s Brother and his unusual habit.You’ll know just how to stop an invading horde with the proper use of pizza.You’ll delve into the mind of a madman whose madness is often served on a cone.You’ll read from the lost book of Houston with a story about when Jesus met the Soothsayers.You’ll encounter a strange married couple who would rather stay together if they can avoid killing each other.You’ll witness a great new game show: What’s My Afterlife!And you’ll finally find out the secret behind pheromones.Blue Food and other menu items is a little taste of craziness to lighten the soul – with bonus material specially written for the audiobook!
    Show book
  • The Middleman - And Other Stories - cover

    The Middleman - And Other Stories

    Bharati Mukherjee

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A National Book Critics Circle Award winner and New York Times Notable Book: “intelligent, versatile . . . profound” stories of migration in America (The Washington Post Book World).   Illuminating a new world of people in migration that has transformed the essence of America, these collected stories are a dazzling display of the vision of this critically-acclaimed contemporary writer.   An aristocratic Filipina negotiates a new life for herself with an Atlanta investment banker. A Vietnam vet returns to Florida, a place now more foreign than the Asia of his war experience. An Indian widow tries to explain her culture’s traditions of grieving to her well-intentioned friends. And in the title story, an Iraqi Jew whose travels have ended in Queens suddenly finds himself an unwitting guerrilla in a South American jungle.   Passionate, comic, violent, and tender, these stories draw us into a cultural fusion in the midst of its birth pangs, expressing a “consummated romance with the American language” (The New York Times Book Review).
    Show book
  • The Art of Rendition - A Robin Monarch Story - cover

    The Art of Rendition - A Robin...

    Mark Sullivan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mark Sullivan, the co-author of James Patterson's Private Games, has, in Robin Monarch, created a compelling new hero. Monarch is a world-class thief and a highly skilled operative — a man with skills, a rigid code of honor, powerful friends and implacable enemies.  In The Art of Rendition, Monarch is an agent for the CIA, called upon to use his unique skills to kidnap and interrogate a Russian nuclear scientist suspected of selling technology to the Iranians.  But that's only part of the challenge — one that many trained agents could handle effectively.  They've called upon Monarch because, after the interrogation, he must return the scientist without the Russians, the Iranians, or the scientist himself ever knowing he's been grabbed. 
    Meet Robin Monarch in The Art of Rendition, a thrilling, compelling story which showcases the author and character, each at the top of their form. As a bonus, included is a  special excerpt from Rogue, the first Robin Monarch novel.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • In Kareem's Hands - A Sexy BDSM Billionaire Bondage Short Story from Steam Books - cover

    In Kareem's Hands - A Sexy BDSM...

    Sandra Sinclair, Steam Books

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    After a series of unfortunate events, Yvette is ready to give up on life. And so she jumps off a bridge, thinking that by doing so she would put an end to everything.She thought wrong.To her surprise, she wakes up to find herself in a strange room with a strange man, a man with exotic looks who claims to be a prince. At first she fears him, but with his touches and his unusual devices, he teaches her that there are pleasures worth living for…WARNING: This 4,754-word (about 24 pages) short story is a steamy read that features explicit scenes including erotic BDSM content and may be too much for some readers to handle!
    Show book