Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Amaz'n Murder - A Cozy Mystery Novel  - cover

Amaz'n Murder - A Cozy Mystery Novel 

William Maltese

Publisher: Wildside Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Move over, Jessica Fletcher and Miss Marple! Make room for another aging woman amateur sleuth--Carolyne Santire, plant-hunter extraordinaire! Carolyne's search for the next major botanical find takes her to Brazil in South America, where she encounters political machinations, mayhem, and...murder. The suspect list is long--fellow scientists, Brazilian land barons, prospectors, a cuckolded video director, a rock star--and, eventually, even her! During the shooting of an entertainment film in the Amazon jungle, amidst threats from a man-eating jaguar, cannibals, and a mysterious British kidnapper, Carolyne finds the prospect of ferreting out the real killer anything but a leisurely stroll in the park. Can she solve the mystery before the next murder occurs? 

A great "cozy" mystery read by a master storyteller.

Who read this book also read:

  • Florida Firefight - cover

    Florida Firefight

    Randy Wayne White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A disgraced Chicago cop launches a one-man war against organized crime in this novel by the New York Times–bestselling author of the Doc Ford series.  A man holds twelve children hostage at gunpoint. Across the street, James Hawker dangles from a skyscraper, watching the terrorist through a sniper’s scope. Hawker has a shot, and he wants to take it, but the police brass say no. By the time he gets permission, it will be far too late. The terrorist opens fire, killing two of the children before Hawker can take him out. When the smoke clears, the madman is dead, and Hawker’s career is toast. No longer a cop, he’s about to become America’s deadliest defender.   The father of one of the murdered children hires Hawker as a private vigilante, and gives him an unlimited bankroll to wage a nationwide fight against organized crime. The first battle will be fought in Florida, where drug smugglers have taken root like a cancer—and Hawker will have to cut them out. From the author of Mangrove Lightning and the Hannah Smith series, who “raises the bar of the action thriller,” this is a hard-charging story of one man’s quest for justice (The Miami Herald).  Florida Firefight is the 1st book in the Hawker series, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Murder on the Orient Express - A Hercule Poirot Mystery - cover

    Murder on the Orient Express - A...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    THE MOST WIDELY READ MYSTERY OF ALL TIME—NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY KENNETH BRANAGH AND PRODUCED BY RIDLEY SCOTT! 
      
    “The murderer is with us—on the train now . . .” 
      
    Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift. By morning, the millionaire Samuel Edward Ratchett lies dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside. Without a shred of doubt, one of his fellow passengers is the murderer. 
      
    Isolated by the storm, detective Hercule Poirot must find the killer among a dozen of the dead man's enemies, before the murderer decides to strike again. 
      
    “What more . . . can a mystery addict desire?”—New York Times 
     
    Show book
  • Mistress of Death - cover

    Mistress of Death

    Piers Anthony, Roberto Fuentes

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the second novel of the series, Jason Striker runs afoul of the black karate mistress Ilunga and a deadly drug conspiracy. These are fast-moving and violent stories, without ignoring human values.
    Show book
  • The Exploits of Dr Sam Johnson Detector - cover

    The Exploits of Dr Sam Johnson...

    Lillian de la Torre

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Literary legend Samuel Johnson and his biographer, James Boswell, solve mysteries in eighteenth-century London in this delightful story collection.  A brilliant thinker and his trusted assistant sit in their drawing room, pondering a story in the newspaper, when the door opens and the subject of the article enters, begging for help. It’s a classic scene from English detective fiction, set not at 221B Baker Street, but 1 Inner Temple Lane—the home of Dr. Samuel Johnson and his biographer, James Boswell. This mystery, concerning a disputed title, a kidnapped earl, and one of the greatest fortunes in England, will be no match for Dr. Johnson.   Based on true criminal cases of the era and inspired by Boswell’s legendary Life of Johnson, the seven stories in this volume touch on witchcraft, murder, theft, and the scientific breakthroughs of the Enlightenment.   “I am lost without my Boswell,” said Sherlock Holmes—and Dr. Johnson was no different. Lillian de la Torre’s delightful stories of Boswell and Johnson show the original Watson and Holmes in action.    
    Show book
  • A Soldier's Revenge - A Will Cochrane Novel - cover

    A Soldier's Revenge - A Will...

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Former intelligence agent Will Cochrane must evade US authorities hunting him down for a murder he didn’t commit in this captivating sixth entry in the acclaimed action-thriller series. 
    Former operative Will Cochrane wakes up in New York’s Waldorf Astoria and is horrified to see blood on his hands—something he remembers absolutely nothing about. When he then finds a woman murdered in his bathroom he knows he’s stepped into a wilderness of terror that is far more dangerous than anything he’s ever faced. 
    With no memory of the night before nor of the unfortunate woman, Will believes he is being framed and needs to outrun the police who will be looking for him very soon. Until this moment, Will has been on the precipice of a new life, one outside the intelligence service, and one that includes fatherhood. He’s agreed to adopt the twin sons of his former colleague and Navy SEAL operative Roger Koenig, and had been on his way to pick them up before he’d awakened to the carnage in New York. 
    Will knows his only chance to clear his name is to find the real killer while he’s still free. But he also has to find the twins, suspecting that they’re in danger as well. In Virginia, he discovers one boy alive and his brother missing and most likely kidnapped. What he also finds is the killer’s trail in the form of a man’s voice, which Will recognizes and believes belongs to an old nemesis, a Russian agent he has tangled with before. With local police, the FBI, and even his friends pursuing him, the clever and ruthless operative must track down his adversary, save the boys, and prove his innocence before it’s too late.  
    A superb blend of action and thrills that will keep readers on the edge of their seats, A Soldier’s Revenge is perfect for fans of Brad Thor, Daniel Silva, and Lee Child.
    Show book
  • Bill Hodge - cover

    Bill Hodge

    Stephen King

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One: In the frigid pre-dawn hours, in a distressed Midwestern city, hundreds of desperate unemployed folks are lined up for a spot at a job fair. Without warning, a lone driver plows through the crowd in a stolen Mercedes, running over the innocent, backing up, and charging again. Eight people are killed; fifteen are wounded. The killer escapes.
    Two: The genius is John Rothstein, an iconic author who created a famous character, Jimmy Gold, but who hasn’t published a book for decades. Morris Bellamy is livid, not just because Rothstein has stopped providing books, but because the nonconformist Jimmy Gold has sold out for a career in advertising. 
    Three: Retired police detective Bill Hodges, the unlikely hero of Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers, now runs an investigation agency with his partner, Holly Gibney, who delivered the blow to Hartsfield's head that put him on the brain injury ward.
    Show book