Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Rough Road - cover

The Rough Road

William John Locke

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The Rough Road" by William John Locke. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Star - cover

    Dead Star

    Simon Kewin

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    The last survivor from a planet of eight billion
     
    The galaxy is in flames under the harsh theocratic rule of Concordance, the culture that once thrived among the stars reduced to scattered fragments. Selene Ada, last survivor of an obliterated planet, joins forces with the mysterious renegade, Ondo Lagan.
     
    Together they attempt to unravel the mystery of Concordance’s rapid rise to galactic domination. They follow a trail of shattered starship hulks and ancient alien ruins, with the ships of the enemy always one step behind.
     
    But it’s only when they find the mythical planet of Coronade that they uncover the true scale of the destruction Concordance is capable of unleashing…
    Show book
  • Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales of Mystery and Murder - cover

    Tiny Crimes - Very Short Tales...

    Lincoln Michel, Nadxieli Nieto

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Immensely fun to read, Tiny Crimes is a playful mashup of crime genres (noir, sci-fi, cozy, absurdist, humor, international, and more); the collection is also a "who's who" of literature today:  Carmen Maria Machado, J. Robert Lennon and Amelia Gray, Laura van den Berg and Brian Evenson, Yuri Herrera and Amber Sparks, to name just a few
    Perfect gift for the fans of True Detective, Fargo, and Westworld; quickly digestible stories make it great read for commuting and short attention spans
    The reader can begin anywhere she likes, with each story a stellar entry point into the collection's immersive, punchy, and cinematic tone
    Includes stories in translation by Yuri Herrera (Spanish), Fuminori Nakamura (Japanese), Fabien Clouette & Quentin Leclerc (French), with both the English version and the original appearing sequentially in the collection, and featuring celebrated translators including Lisa Dillman, Allison Powell, and Jeffrey Zuckerman
    Featuring several comics among the stories in the collection
    For readers who loved My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales, and the Akashic City Noir series
    Contributors located in Berkeley, CA; Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria; Brooklyn, NY; Cambridge, MA; Chicago, IL; Columbia, SC; Decatur, GA; Denver, CO; Irvine, CA; Ithaca, NY; Lincolnville, ME; Los Angeles, CA; Madison, WI; Merida, Mexico; New Orleans, LA; New York, NY; Minneapolis, MN; Oswego, NY;  Philadelphia, PA; Rennes, France; Salt Lake City, UT; Tokyo, Japan; Toronto, Canada; Washington, D.C. 
    List of every contributor's favorite independent bookstore available on request
    Physical ARCs will include endorsements from independent booksellers, and digital ARC available on Edelweiss
    
    Bookseller Praise for Tiny Crimes
    "I picked up this book for two primary reasons: (1) Elizabeth Hand. 'Nuff said. (2) I really liked a previous Catapult anthology called Watchlist. Well, I was not disappointed. As with any multi-author anthology, some stories were more to my taste than others. But the editors have put together a wonderful array of voices, each of whom brings a different perspective to the overall crime theme. I also loved that the translated stories included the original text on facing pages. Tiny Crimes has definitely given me a list of new authors to check out, which, as far as I'm concerned, means an anthology has done its job!" —Rebecca, Kramerbooks (Washington, D.C.)
    
     
    "Tiny Crimes is a flash fiction redefinition of the crime genre, encompassing a wide array of stunningly original voices. Asking 'What is criminal in this moment?,' the collection is imbued with a wild sense of wrongness. It’s haunted by the ghosts of murdered prairie dogs, held hostage by loneliness. The tiny crimes within are everyday offenses, cheeky explorations, and heinous acts (the index, perhaps the greatest delight, includes such entries as: PENIS—glowing faintly in the dark, DOG—eaten down to spine, and TURNSTILE—hopped by nun). Ultimately, it places a mirror before the reader. It demands an interrogation of one’s own understanding of criminality and personal culpability." —Elizabeth Willis, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)
    Show book
  • A Sanctuary of Spirits - cover

    A Sanctuary of Spirits

    Leanna Renee Hieber

    • 4
    • 24
    • 0
    As the twentieth century approaches, New York’s Ghost Precinct crosses a threshold into the land of the dead in this paranormal gaslamp mystery.  New York City, 1899. The NYPD’s Ghost Precinct, an all-female team of psychics and spiritualists led by gifted young medium Eve Whitby, is unconventional to say the least. And now they’re stepping even further outside the bounds of normal police work—into an otherworldly realm known as the Ghost Sanctuary. It’s a place where the dead can provide answers. But will Eve and her colleagues pay a price for venturing beyond the land of the living?   Investigating a mortician’s sudden disappearance, Eve encounters a charismatic magician and mesmerist whose abilities are unlike any she’s seen before. Is he connected to the mysterious deaths around the city—or a link to the Ghost Sanctuary? Torn between the bonds of her team and her growing relationship with the dashing Detective Horowitz, Eve must discern truth from illusion and friend from foe before another soul vanishes into the ether.  Praise for The Eterna Files “Smart, boundlessly creative gaslamp fantasy.” —RT Book Reviews   “Will have readers chomping at the bit for more.” —Suspense Magazine on Eterna and Omega
    Show book
  • The Hollow Gods - cover

    The Hollow Gods

    A. J. Vrana

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Black Hollow is a town with a dark secret. For centuries, residents have foretold the return of the Dreamwalker—an ominous figure from local folklore said to lure young women into the woods and possess them. Yet the boundary between fact and fable is blurred by a troubling statistic: occasionally, women do go missing. And after they return, they almost always end up dead. When Kai wakes up next to the lifeless body of a recently missing girl, his memory blank, he struggles to clear his already threadbare conscience. Miya, a floundering university student, experiences signs that she may be the Dreamwalker’s next victim. Can she trust Kai as their paths collide, or does he herald her demise?And after losing a young patient, crestfallen oncologist, Mason, embarks on a quest to debunk the town’s superstitions, only to find his sanity tested.A maelstrom of ancient grudges, forgotten traumas, and deadly secrets loom in the foggy forests of Black Hollow. Can three unlikely heroes put aside their fears and unite to confront a centuries-old evil? Will they uncover the truth behind the fable, or will the cycle repeat?
    Show book
  • Obsession - A Crime Of The Heart - cover

    Obsession - A Crime Of The Heart

    Robin Storey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    He’s lonely and desperate. 
     
    But he wants far more than her attention…
     
    The one thing Benny wants more than anything is a relationship. But he's not smart or good-looking, so women ignore him or run the other way. ​​Then Olivia moves into the neighbourhood. It’s love at first sight for Benny. Olivia is beautiful and kind, his fairy tale princess.
     
    But there are two big obstacles.
     
    Olivia doesn't love him. Yet.
     
    And her abusive ex-husband Lucas is still hanging around, making life difficult for her.  ​​ There's only one course of action. But will it give Benny what he wants?
     
    If you love suspenseful stories with flawed characters who’ll touch your heart, you’ll love this novel you can read in one sitting.
    Show book
  • Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold murder mystery - cover

    Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold...

    Stella Cameron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Second in the traditional British mystery series featuring rural inn owner and amateur sleuth Alex Duggins: an intriguing departure for bestselling romantic suspense author Stella Cameron.
    
    Once again Alex Duggins and her veterinarian friend Tony Harrison are thrown into a major murder investigation. An almost fresh body is discovered in a disused well among the ruins of a 14th-century manor house … the motive for the killing a baffling mystery. The victim was a widow who had lived quietly in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Folly-on-Weir for the past ten years. Who on earth could want her dead, and by such brutal means?
    
    As rumour and speculation engulf the town, another woman is attacked – and Alex  discovers that behind a tranquil face lurks a cunning and vengeful mind. Despite warnings from the police to stop interfering, she finds herself in the sights of a ruthless killer who has decided she knows too much … 
     
    The Alex Duggins series will appeal to fans of Louise Penny and Elizabeth George.
    Show book