Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Ghost - A Haunting Tale of Love Grief and the Afterlife in Gothic Literature - cover

The Ghost - A Haunting Tale of Love Grief and the Afterlife in Gothic Literature

William Douglas O'Connor

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In 'The Ghost,' William Douglas O'Connor deftly weaves a haunting tale of the supernatural with elements of romance and mystery. Written in the gothic literary style popular in the late 19th century, the book explores themes of grief, love, and the afterlife. O'Connor's vivid descriptions and atmospheric settings immerse the reader in a world where the boundaries between the living and the dead blur, creating an eerie and captivating narrative. The lyrical prose and suspenseful plot make 'The Ghost' a page-turner for those who enjoy dark, atmospheric literature. O'Connor's use of symbolism and allegory adds depth to the story, inviting readers to contemplate the deeper meanings hidden within the text. As a contemporary of renowned authors such as Edgar Allan Poe and Nathaniel Hawthorne, O'Connor's work reflects the spirit of his time, while also offering a unique and compelling perspective on timeless themes of human existence. Fans of gothic literature and supernatural fiction will find 'The Ghost' a rewarding and thought-provoking read that lingers in the mind long after the final page.
Available since: 12/04/2019.
Print length: 157 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • One Clear Call - cover

    One Clear Call

    Upton Sinclair

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As D-Day approaches, an American spy is unmasked by Himmler’s Gestapo and must flee the Nazis, in this novel in the Pulitzer Prize–winning historical saga.  In 1943, the once-unstoppable Nazi war machine is starting to falter. For a decade and a half, Lanny Budd’s cover as a fine-art dealer and Fascist sympathizer has held firm, earning him the confidence of Hermann Göring and other top officials, including Adolf Hitler himself. With the Allies preparing to retake Europe, Lanny must make certain that the location of the invasion remains hidden from the Nazi high command. But his mission is compromised and his life endangered when Heinrich Himmler, Hitler’s feared Gestapo chief, uncovers Lanny’s true loyalties.   Now FDR’s most trusted spy must run for his life, escaping into the European countryside with Hitler’s executioners on his trail. His survival will require great courage, endurance, and ingenuity, but Lanny Budd is determined to live long enough to witness what he has waited so many years to see: the final collapse of the Third Reich.  One Clear Call is the thrilling ninth installment of Upton Sinclair’s Pulitzer Prize–winning dramatization of twentieth-century world history. An astonishing mix of adventure, romance, and political intrigue, the Lanny Budd Novels are a testament to the breathtaking scope of the author’s vision and his singular talents as a storyteller.
    Show book
  • The Flight of the Heron - cover

    The Flight of the Heron

    D. K. Broster

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It is 1745 and the Jacobite rebellion is on the rise.Ewen Cameron, a principled young Scottish Highlander, is destined and honoured to serve Bonnie Prince Charlie, the young Pretender, and to help the “rightful King” ascend to the British throne.Major Keith Windham is a career soldier with the English Army – seemingly the antithesis of Ewen. He is jaded, worldly and loyal to the Crown but, ultimately, an outsider.Their fates are linked inextricably when a highland prophecy tells Ewen that the flight of a heron will predict five meetings with an Englishman who will cause him much harm but also render a great service.     Ewen is sceptical, but the prophecy proves true when he meets Englishman Keith Windham - and a gripping tale of adventure, danger, and true and lasting friendship is set into motion.Both are men who are willing to die for their honour and their beliefs.  Each is on an opposing side. But who will emerge the victor?With action, historical adventure and lyrical descriptions of the Scottish Highlands, The Flight of the Heron is sure to appeal to fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series and Peter May’s Lewis trilogy.
    Show book
  • Beloved Hope (Heart of the Frontier Book #2) - cover

    Beloved Hope (Heart of the...

    Tracie Peterson

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    A Compelling Novel of Forgiveness and Hope from Leading Author Tracie PetersonHope Flanagan survived the massacre at the Whitman Mission, but at terrible personal cost. Safe now in Oregon City, she lives with her sisters, Grace and Mercy, and Grace's new husband, Alex. As she spends her days tending their flock of sheep, Hope's mind and soul are slowly healing. Yet, though she was once surrounded by suitors, she has no interest in giving her heart again after the man she loved died in her arms.Hope's precarious new peace is shattered when those responsible for the massacre are captured and put on trial. She is asked to testify against them, but she's not sure she can bear to relive the events of those horrific days.As Hope struggles to free herself from the pain of her past, Lance Kenner, an Army lieutenant, brings an unexpected ray of light into her life. But what will Lance think of her if he learns the truth behind her anguish? And what secrets lie in his past?
    Show book
  • The Story Collector - cover

    The Story Collector

    Evie Woods

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An evocative and charming novel full of secrets and mystery, from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Lost Bookshop 
    In a quiet village in Ireland, a mysterious local myth is about to change everything… 
    One hundred years ago, Anna, a young farm girl, volunteers to help an intriguing American visitor translate fairy stories from Irish to English. But all is not as it seems and Anna soon finds herself at the heart of a mystery that threatens her very way of life. 
    In New York in the present day, Sarah Harper boards a plane bound for the West Coast of Ireland. But once there, she finds she has unearthed dark secrets – secrets that tread the line between the everyday and the otherworldly, the seen and the unseen. 
    With a taste for the magical in everyday life, Evie Woods's latest novel is full of ordinary characters with extraordinary tales to tell.Readers have fallen in love with The Story Collector: 
    ‘I highly recommend this book if you enjoy historical fiction and want to learn more about Ireland and its folklore history surrounding the faeries.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    ‘Romantic and magical, an adventure to be enjoyed.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    ‘Painted beautifully.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    'A bewitching story which I will treasure.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    ‘A mystical treasure that echoes with the fairy world power of Ireland. A mesmerising tale told in two timelines where the past unfolds and ripples like a wave into the future.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    'This is the perfect book to read on a winter afternoon in front of the fire.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    'A delightful tale of love and loss and magical stories.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 
    Evie Woods, the author of the bestseller The Story Collector, masterfully intertwines contemporary realism with a touch of romance. The novel's multiple timelines offer a unique perspective, making it a top choice for readers seeking an extraordinary literary experience. 
    For fans of Ruth Jones (Never Greener), Gabrielle Zevin (Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow), Fiona Valpy (The Cypress Maze), Barbara Davis (The Wishing Tide), and Jill Mansell (The Wedding of the Year). 
    HarperCollins 2024
    Show book
  • The Murder at the Vicarage - A Miss Marple Mystery - cover

    The Murder at the Vicarage - A...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Murder at the Vicarage is Agatha Christie’s first mystery to feature the beloved investigator Miss Marple—as a dead body in a clergyman’s study proves to the indomitable sleuth that no place, holy or otherwise, is a sanctuary from homicide. 
    Miss Marple encounters a compelling murder mystery in the sleepy little village of St. Mary Mead, where under the seemingly peaceful exterior of an English country village lurks intrigue, guilt, deception and death. 
     
    Colonel Protheroe, local magistrate and overbearing land-owner is the most detested man in the village. Everyone--even in the vicar--wishes he were dead. And very soon he is--shot in the head in the vicar's own study. Faced with a surfeit of suspects, only the inscrutable Miss Marple can unravel the tangled web of clues that will lead to the unmasking of the killer. 
     
    Show book
  • The Other Side of the Sun - A Novel - cover

    The Other Side of the Sun - A Novel

    Madeleine L'Engle

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the National Book Award–winning author of A Wrinkle in Time, an atmospheric novel of a young British bride in the American South after the Civil War. When nineteen-year-old Stella marries Theron Renier, she has no idea what kind of clan she’s joined. Soon after their arrival at Illyria, the Reniers’ rambling beachside home, Theron is sent on a diplomatic mission, leaving Stella alone with his family.   As she tries to settle into her new life, Stella quickly discovers that the Reniers are not what they seem. Trapped in a world unlike anything she’s ever known, vulnerable Stella attempts to uncover her new family’s dangerous secrets—and stirs up a darkness that was meant to stay buried.   From the beloved, National Book Award–winning author of A Wrinkle in Time, The Other Side of the Sun showcases Madeleine L’Engle’s talent for involving and suspenseful storytelling.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Madeleine L’Engle including rare images from the author’s estate.
    Show book