Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
He Slew the Dreamer - My Search for the Truth about James Earl Ray and the Murder of Martin Luther King - cover

He Slew the Dreamer - My Search for the Truth about James Earl Ray and the Murder of Martin Luther King

William Bradford Huie

Publisher: University Press of Mississippi

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Author William Bradford Huie was one of the most celebrated figures of twentieth-century journalism. A pioneer of "checkbook journalism," he sought the truth in controversial stories when the truth was hard to come by. In the case of James Earl Ray, Huie paid Ray and his original attorneys $40,000 for cooperation in explaining his movements in the months before Martin Luther King's assassination and up to Ray's arrest weeks later in London. Huie became a major figure in the investigation of King's assassination and was one of the few persons able to communicate with Ray during that time.Huie, a friend of King, writes that he went into his investigation of Ray believing that a conspiracy was behind King's murder. But after retracing Ray's movements through California, Louisiana, Mexico, Canada, Atlanta, Birmingham, Memphis, and London, Huie came to believe that James Earl Ray was a pathetic petty criminal who hated African Americans and sought to make a name for himself by murdering King. He Slew the Dreamer was originally published in 1970 soon after Ray went to prison and was republished in 1977, but was out of print until the 1997 edition, published with the cooperation of Huie's widow.This new edition features an essay by scholar Riché Richardson that provides fresh insight, and it includes the 1977 prologue, which Huie wrote countering charges by members of Congress, the King family, and others who claimed the FBI had aided and abetted Ray. In 1970, 1977, 1997, and now, He Slew the Dreamer offers a remarkably detailed examination of the available evidence at the time the murder occurred and an invaluable resource to current debates over the King assassination.

Other books that might interest you

  • God's Generals: The Revivalists - cover

    God's Generals: The Revivalists

    Roberts Liardon

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Roberts Liardon recaptures God's glory with these compelling spiritual biographies of some of the most powerful preachers ever to ignite the fires of revival.
    Show book
  • 24 Days - How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America - cover

    24 Days - How Two Wall Street...

    Rebecca Smith, John R. Emshwiller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.  
    It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.  
    Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.  
    Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.
    Show book
  • Wild Women - cover

    Wild Women

    Mariella Frostrup

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    From Constantinople to Crimea, from Antarctica to the Andes, women throughout history have travelled across land and sea and recorded their adventures. This is a collection of more than 50 of the greatest escapades ever experienced and told by women. 
     
    Curated by Mariella Frostrup, these works span the globe from the 1700s to the present day and include well-known heroines such as Isabella Bird, Dervla Murphy and Cheryl Straid as well as unknown and undiscovered adventurers.
    Show book
  • HP Lovecraft: The Complete Collection - cover

    HP Lovecraft: The Complete...

    Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Fiction, Poetry, Essays and Letters from the Master of the Macabre, H.P. Lovecraft
    Read the complete collection of writings from H.P. Lovecraft. This edition includes a fully linked table of contents so you can find your favorites easily and return to Lovecraft's work again and again. The following stories (plus poems, letters and essays!) are included in this massive ebook: 
    The Tomb 
    Dagon 
    Polaris 
    Beyond the Wall of Sleep 
    Memory 
    Old Bugs 
    The Transition of Juan Romero 
    The White Ship 
    The Doom That Came to Sarnath 
    The Statement of Randolph Carter 
    The Terrible Old Man 
    The Tree 
    The Cats of Ulthar 
    The Temple 
    Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family 
    The Street 
    Celephaïs 
    From Beyond 
    Nyarlathotep 
    The Picture in the House 
    Ex Oblivione 
    The Nameless City 
    The Quest of Iranon 
    The Moon-Bog 
    The Outsider 
    The Other Gods 
    The Music of Erich Zann
    Herbert West — Reanimator 
    Hypnos 
    What the Moon Brings 
    Azathoth 
    The Hound 
    The Lurking Fear 
    The Rats in the Walls 
    The Unnamable 
    The Festival 
    The Shunned House 
    The Horror at Red Hook 
    He 
    In the Vault 
    The Descendant 
    Cool Air 
    The Call of Cthulhu 
    Pickman's Model 
    The Silver Key 
    The Strange High House in the Mist 
    The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath 
    The Case of Charles Dexter Ward 
    The Colour Out of Space 
    The Very Old Folk 
    The Thing in the Moonlight 
    The History of the Necronomicon 
    Ibid 
    The Dunwich Horror 
    The Whisperer in Darkness 
    At the Mountains of Madness 
    The Shadow Over Innsmouth 
    The Dreams in the Witch House 
    The Thing on the Doorstep 
    The Evil Clergyman 
    The Book 
    The Shadow out of Time 
    The Haunter of the Dark 
    
    
    Keywords (max 15):
    hp lovecraft  xThe Complete H.P. Lovecraft Collection  xH.P. Lovecraft  xlovercraft  xhp lovecraft complete  xhp lovecraft collection
    Show book
  • Awakening Power of Miracle Bracelet - Join the Phenomenon Jewel of Health Love & Wealth - cover

    Awakening Power of Miracle...

    A. Atina

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The book is a true live-changing story of a woman named Susan. Its about her astonishing historical journey and her imperfect circumstances that transformed her into an extraordinary woman. Through her faith, Susan discovered that her life was a deliberate journey by the Higher Source. Therefore, she allowed her senses to channel with supernatural glowing light, higher energies, and receive messages. As a result, Susan is able to transmit this supernatural, glowing energy through her handmade bracelet, 4P steps miracle, and healing others life and body. As an addition, she is anticipating to leave the legacy of this power spread behind herself. 
    
    Susans story reveals the foundation of our resolution on earth. Her challenging, ordinary life of being born as a woman in Afghanistan hauled her into a life of mystery yet is rewarding and had her travel on the road no ones dared to cross. Thus, doubt is not her life philosophy as she lived life by example. Susans accomplishments and her PhD are not bought and cant be taught. It was designated by the Higher Source as he knows her strength.
    Show book
  • A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man - cover

    A Portrait of the Artist as a...

    Joe Joyce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in Joyce's native Ireland, the story follows life of a young man Stephen and his transformation from child to artist. In five chapters, we are taken through Stephen's early childhood in Ireland and confinement at boarding school, his dalliances with theatre and hiring prostitutes, his retreat from sensory excess into religious devotion, his retreat from religious devotion into aesthetic, ascetic excess, and, ultimately, his retreat from Ireland and fellowship in favour of destiny.
    Show book