Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Obscure Destinies - cover

Obscure Destinies

Willa Cather

Publisher: Lighthouse Books for Translation and Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Obscure Destinies is a collection of three short stories by Willa Cather, published in 1932. Each story deals with the death of a central character and asks how the ordinary lives of these characters can be valued and how "beauty was found or created in seemingly ordinary circumstances". 
Willa Cather, in full Wilella Sibert Cather, (born December 7, 1873, near Winchester, Virginia, U.S.—died April 24, 1947, New York City, New York), American novelist noted for her portrayals of the settlers and frontier life on the American plains.
At age 9 Cather moved with her family from Virginia to frontier Nebraska, where from age 10 she lived in the village of Red Cloud. There she grew up among the immigrants from Europe—Swedes, Bohemians, Russians, and Germans—who were breaking the land on the Great Plains.
Meet extraordinary women who dared to bring gender equality and other issues to the forefront. From overcoming oppression, to breaking rules, to reimagining the world or waging a rebellion, these women of history have a story to tell.
At the University of Nebraska she showed a marked talent for journalism and story writing, and on graduating in 1895 she obtained a position in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, on a family magazine. Later she worked as copy editor and music and drama editor of the Pittsburgh Leader. She turned to teaching in 1901 and in 1903 published her first book of verses, April Twilights. In 1905, after the publication of her first collection of short stories, The Troll Garden, she was appointed managing editor of McClure’s, the New York muckraking monthly. After building up its declining circulation, she left in 1912 to devote herself wholly to writing novels.
Cather’s first novel, Alexander’s Bridge (1912), was a factitious story of cosmopolitan life. Under the influence of Sarah Orne Jewett’s regionalism, however, she turned to her familiar Nebraska material. With O Pioneers! (1913) and My Ántonia (1918), which has frequently been adjudged her finest achievement, she found her characteristic themes—the spirit and courage of the frontier she had known in her youth. One of Ours (1922), which won the Pulitzer Prize, and A Lost Lady (1923) mourned the passing of the pioneer spirit.
In her earlier Song of the Lark (1915), as well as in the tales assembled in Youth and the Bright Medusa (1920), including the much-anthologized “Paul’s Case,” and Lucy Gayheart (1935), Cather reflected the other side of her experience—the struggle of a talent to emerge from the constricting life of the prairies and the stifling effects of small-town life.
Cather’s will erected strong protections around her intellectual property, preventing adaptations of her fiction and forbidding publication of her correspondence. However, upon the 2011 death of a nephew who had served as her last designated executor, copyright of her work passed to the Willa Cather Trust. The trust—a partnership of the Willa Cather Foundation, Cather’s remaining family, and the University of Nebraska Foundation—lifted the prohibitions on publishing her letters. Though Cather had destroyed much of her own epistolary record, nearly 3,000 missives were tracked down by scholars, and 566 were collected in The Selected Letters of Willa Cather (2013). 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Burning - An Anthology of Short Thrillers - cover

    Burning - An Anthology of Short...

    Peter Oxley, Simon Finnie, Craig...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    If you woke up with a gun in your face, what would you do?Plagued by mysterious dreams which are quickly becoming a real-life nightmare, where would you turn?What was the real truth behind the Iraqi invasion and the search for WMDs?What if the one person you relied on to keep you safe, instead became your jailer?Forced to confront the mistakes of your past, where would you hide?14 original stories with one red-hot connection… Burning.Thrillers to shock. Thrillers to excite. Thrillers to challenge and make you think.An anthology of 14 original short stories by a collection of outstanding thriller writers.Craig Hart’s "Loose Ends" thrusts a wise-cracking PI into the center of a deadly—and highly personal—case.In Fiona Campbell’s "From a Flicker to a Flame", a woman finds herself trapped, a prisoner in a loveless marriage.In "The Five Votive Candles of Joe Wray" by Simon Bewick, Joe Wray is a husband, a father, a brother and a business owner. They all need his protection. He doesn’t have a prayer.A mysterious man sparks unexplainable fires in Carla Day’s "Scintillation", where a woman’s dreams may be the clue to saving the world.The dark and seedy underbelly of the City of London is exposed in Will Patching’s "Old Flame": a tale of lust, greed and a decidedly nasty twist.The repercussions of the Iraq war and memories of WMDs plague the characters of Dana Lyons’ "Fire and Brimstone", with a weapon which could truly be the end of all things.In "Ava Edison and the Burning Man", by Marcus Cook, a thief with an unlikely accomplice faces a race against time to get a priceless jewel for a ruthless client.Tom Goymour’s "Circle of Friends" finds a man and his long-forgotten friends being forced to finally confront the mistakes of their youth.In Peter Ellis’ "Reprogrammed", a woman wakes in a strange warehouse with terrifying new abilities, but with no knowledge of how she got there.The hero of Michael Peirce’s "Accidental Operator" unwittingly becomes the key member of a new, highly deadly team of mercenaries."Valley of the Shadow" by Pat Moore is a moving exploration of love and loss, where those left behind suffer more than the ones they mourn.Lori Lacefield’s "The Fire Keeper" follows Frankie Johnson, an FBI Profiler, as she tries to decode a terrifyingly macabre fire ritual, before the killers strike again.Free will, morality and redemption lie at the heart of Simon Finnie’s "Burning", as a Professor is forced to confront the mistakes of his youth.And finally, in Peter Oxley’s "Burning Greed", a thief simply has to battle through a burning island to steal the score of his life: what could possibly go wrong?Burning - bringing destruction or a new beginning? To find out, get Burning: An Anthology of Short Thrillers - now!
    Show book
  • Nordic Tales - Folktales from Norway Sweden Finland Iceland and Denmark - cover

    Nordic Tales - Folktales from...

    Books Chronicle

    • 9
    • 43
    • 1
    Trolls haunt the snowy forests, and terrifying monsters roam the open sea.A young woman journeys to the end of the world, and a boy proves he knows no fear.This collection of 16 traditional tales transports readers to the enchanting world of Nordic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the 19th century, and presented here unabridged, the stories are by turns magical, hilarious, cozy, and chilling. They offer a fascinating view into Nordic culture and a comforting wintertime read. Ulla Thynell's glowing contemporary illustrations accompany each tale, conjuring dragons, princesses, and the northern lights.
    Show book
  • Look What You made Me Do - Fathers Who Kill - cover

    Look What You made Me Do -...

    Megan Norris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    One Australian woman is hospitalised every three hours and two more lose their lives each week as a result of family violence. But for some women there is a punishment more enduring than injury or their own death.
     
     This book is a timely exploration into the evil done by vengeful fathers who kill their own flesh and blood in order to punish wives who have chosen to end abusive relationships.
     
    Focussing on seven different but equally harrowing cases of ‘spousal revenge’, author  Megan Norris draws on her own observations as a former court and crime reporter, examining the murders of thirteen innocent children who became collateral damage in callous crimes committed by angry dads whose real targets were the children’s mothers.
     
    From the harrowing 1993 kidnap and murder of three-year-old Kelly East in WA, to the chilling murder of Darcey Freeman whose dad hurled her from Melbourne’s West Gate Bridge in 2009, these stories highlight the chilling connection between intimate partner abuse and retaliatory homicide. 
     
    They show it’s not only mothers who are in danger when domestic violence turns deadly.
    Show book
  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • A Basque Diary - Living in Hondarribia - cover

    A Basque Diary - Living in...

    Alex Hallatt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When cartoonist Alex Hallatt wanted to learn Spanish, she moved to the Basque Country. She thought she might stay a few months and ended up there for over two years, living in a small town near San Sebastian.
    
     
    This is the illustrated account of her years in Hondarribia. It is a useful resource for anyone planning on spending time in the Basque Country, detailing what to expect in each month and how to make the most of the geographical, culinary and cultural attractions on offer.
    Show book
  • Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories from Ancient Greece and Rome - cover

    Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories...

    Daisy Dunn

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Daisy Dunn offers a deeply researched collection of stories reflecting the eclectic richness and depth of the classical literary canon. 
     
    Striking a balance between the 'classic classic' (such as Dryden's translation of the Aeneid) and the less familiar or expected, Of Gods and Men ranges from the epic poetry of Homer to the histories of Arrian and Diodorus Siculus and the sprawling Theogony of Hesiod; from the tragedies of Aeschylus and Euripides to the biographies of Suetonius and Plutarch and the pen portraits of Theophrastus; and from the comedies of Plautus to the the fictions of Petronius and Apuleius. 
     
    Of Gods and Men is embellished by translations from writers as diverse as Queen Elizabeth I (Boethius), Percy Bysshe Shelley (Plato), Walter Pater (Apuleius's Golden Ass), Lawrence of Arabia (Homer's Odyssey), Louis MacNeice (Aeschylus's Agamemnon) and Ted Hughes (Ovid's Pygmalion), as well as a number of accomplished translations by Daisy herself.
    Show book