Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Lucy Gayheart - cover

Lucy Gayheart

Willa Cather

Publisher: E-Kitap Projesi & Cheapest Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Willa Cather’s Lucy Gayheart gropes a wistful way back to the time of the horse and buggy, when some men and some women loved deeply and truly and make themselves miserable and hugged their misery. 
Small towns, no less than Vienna and the Paris Left Bank and a Greenwich Village as dirty and noisy then as it is now, had romances of which they had a right to be proud. 
So it is with Lucy Gayheart, written in 1935, When she wrote the novel, Cather had just turned 60 and was in tune with the zeitgeist that, shortly, would produce the works of Jean-Paul Sartre and Albert Camus. In her homey yet subtle way, she tapped into the modern loss of faith. And she created an existential novel. 
A romance, a feminist story 
It doesn’t seem that way at the beginning. 
Indeed, Lucy Gayheart appears to be nothing more than a confection of a romance. 
Lucy is the bright, lively, musical girl, a stand-out among her young adult peers in the small Nebraska town of Haverford where Harry Gordon, the banker’s son, is the most eligible bachelor. They seem made for each other as they skate together on the Platte River in the novel’s opening scene. They have always seemed made for each other. 
But Lucy wants a career and has been working in Chicago. She becomes the piano accompanist to a much older classical singer, Clement Sebastian. The two fall in love in a chaste way, just as Harry sweeps into town and, with ham-handed arrogance, tells Lucy that it’s about time for them to get married, right? Wrong. 
Then, the book seems to be on its way to becoming a feminist Horatio Alger story in which the plucky heroine will find her way to beauty (and maybe love) in the stratospheric Olympus of the high arts.

Other books that might interest you

  • Chloé - The Diaries Series - Books 1-3 - cover

    Chloé - The Diaries Series -...

    Cristiane Serruya

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    At only seventeen, I left the sheltered life at the convent and married a much older Englishman. I was scared, but the idea of a life filled with parties, friends, and all the things I’d been denied seduced me. My parents had arranged this marriage for me, and how wrong could they be?
     
    Nothing turned out the way I had fantasized. Day by day, my dreams fail to materialize. No parties, no lavish trips to exotic places, and worst of all, no love.
     
    And one day, I engaged on an innocent task: planting roses for my garden, not imagining I would find love amid the thorns…and that love could come in unusual ways. And even married to an abusive and estranged husband, I make up my mind to find passion and claim it. I’m done being the good girl.
     
    My name is Chloé de la Fleur and this is my story.
     
    If you are a fan of Fifty Shades of Grey and authors Maya Banks and Sylvia Day, you will love this scandalous, refreshing, and, of course, incredibly romantic and unusual love story, which involves three alpha Italian knights who will do anything for their baroness—oops, their Principessa.
    Show book
  • Three Sisters Torn - Penelope - Book 1 - cover

    Three Sisters Torn - Penelope -...

    Aurora Hills

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Penelope Hartson is tired of London life. The gentlemen are a nuisance, the parties are boring, and she is tired of getting her feet trampled on. All she really wanted to do is read her romance novels and be left alone. When she meets Harrison Barstow, a scholar from the Royal Society, she realizes that perhaps she has suffered to have that one singular moment with someone who understands.
     
    James Barstow, Duke of Embry, has everything. He's wealthy, powerful, and there is no shortage of women that vie for his attention. Men want to be him and women want to be with him. He has no intentions of settling down until his boorish cousin, Harrison Barstow, brings a beguiling creature to his mother's week-long celebration in the country. Suddenly he finds himself panting after someone else entirely.
    Show book
  • Again The Magic - cover

    Again The Magic

    Lisa Kleypas

    • 6
    • 45
    • 0
    She gave him her innocence . . . 
    Lady Aline Marsden was brought up to marry a man of her own class, but from the moment she meets John McKenna, she risks everything to be with him. 
    He gave her his heart 
    Although their love is forbidden, McKenna's passion for the beautiful Aline is too compelling to deny. 
    When their secret is discovered, their world is shattered. McKenna is forced to leave forever, unaware that the only reason Aline has given him up is to save him. 
    Now McKenna has returned, a powerful man determined to take revenge against the woman who broke his heart. But the magic between them burns as fiercely as ever . . . and as McKenna uncovers Aline's deepest secret, together they discover a love that will defy Fate itself.
    Show book
  • The Rogue Not Taken - Scandal & Scoundrel Book I - cover

    The Rogue Not Taken - Scandal &...

    Sarah MacLean

    • 7
    • 59
    • 0
    Lady Sophie’s Society Splash 
    When Sophie, the least interesting of the Talbot sisters, lands her philandering brother-in-law backside-first in a goldfish pond in front of all society, she becomes the target of very public aristocratic scorn. Her only choice is to flee London, vowing to start a new life far from the aristocracy. Unfortunately, the carriage in which she stows away isn’t saving her from ruin . . . it’s filled with it. 
    Rogue’s Reign of Ravishment! 
    Kingscote, “King,” the Marquess of Eversley, has never met a woman he couldn’t charm, resulting in a reputation far worse than the truth, a general sense that he’s more pretty face than proper gentleman, and an irate summons home to the Scottish border. When King discovers stowaway Sophie, however, the journey becomes anything but boring. 
    War? Or More? 
    He thinks she’s trying to trick him into marriage. She wouldn’t have him if he were the last man on earth. But carriages bring close quarters, dark secrets, and unbearable temptation, making opposites altogether too attractive . . .
    Show book
  • Her Sister's Bridegroom - cover

    Her Sister's Bridegroom

    Jane Bonander

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    Bestselling author Jane Bonander delights with enchanting historical romances set on the Scottish borderlands, perfect for fans of Paula Quinn and Karen Marie Moning.
    “Bonander writes with an easy style that brings her characters and timeframe to vivid, entertaining life.” —RT Book Reviews
    Robbie Fleming is out of options.
    When Robbie Fleming is evicted from her Edinburgh rooming house, she fears she’ll have to live on the street. Penniless, orphaned, and on poor terms with her only relative—her fraternal twin sister, Birdie—Robbie has nowhere to go.
    But then she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, the man she has pined for since she was a girl. Although Gavin (and every other male within miles) seemed head over heels in love with flirty and vivacious Birdie, his letter holds a surprise: He wants to marry Robbie. Thrilled by the proposal and her change of luck, Robbie accepts, landing on his doorstep with little more than the clothes on her back.
    Gavin Eliot has his head in the clouds.
    When Robbie shows up at his borderlands manor, Gavin’s astonished to realize that he’s just unwittingly proposed to the wrong sister. But with Robbie in need of a home and Gavin honor-bound to his word, they find themselves headed to the altar. Will Robbie’s heart heal from the betrayal? And can Gavin learn to love the last woman he ever expected to marry?
    Show book
  • American Asshole - cover

    American Asshole

    Tara Sue Me

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    He’s a self proclaimed bastard with a double helping of lying asshole. He's also her new boss.From the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of the acclaimed SUBMISSIVE Series comes the first book in a new series perfect for fans of Helena Hunting and Maya Banks. Mia Matthews never thought much of big shot matchmaker Tenor Butler, but when she finds out he loaned her late business partner a quarter of a million dollars and no one told her, there aren’t enough four letter words to describe him. She’d like nothing more than to pretend Tenor doesn’t exist, but she owes him all that money, not to mention he’s hot as hell.Tenor doesn’t see why it’s his fault Mia didn’t know about the loan. In fact, he thinks he’s being very magnanimous when he offers to forgive the loan if Mia closes her own matchmaking business and works for him for five years.  But as he gets closer to Mia, he realizes two things: 1) he doesn’t want her as an employee and 2) she hates his guts.When an old flame threatens them both, Mia and Tenor find themselves working together and are unable to ignore their mutual attraction. But it might be too late for these two romance experts to create their own love story.This is a standalone romance. No cliffhanger. 
    Show book