If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Lucy Gayheart - cover

Lucy Gayheart

Willa Cather

Publisher: E-Kitap Projesi & Cheapest Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Willa Cather’s Lucy Gayheart gropes a wistful way back to the time of the horse and buggy, when some men and some women loved deeply and truly and make themselves miserable and hugged their misery. 
Small towns, no less than Vienna and the Paris Left Bank and a Greenwich Village as dirty and noisy then as it is now, had romances of which they had a right to be proud. 
So it is with Lucy Gayheart, written in 1935, When she wrote the novel, Cather had just turned 60 and was in tune with the zeitgeist that, shortly, would produce the works of Jean-Paul Sartre and Albert Camus. In her homey yet subtle way, she tapped into the modern loss of faith. And she created an existential novel. 
A romance, a feminist story 
It doesn’t seem that way at the beginning. 
Indeed, Lucy Gayheart appears to be nothing more than a confection of a romance. 
Lucy is the bright, lively, musical girl, a stand-out among her young adult peers in the small Nebraska town of Haverford where Harry Gordon, the banker’s son, is the most eligible bachelor. They seem made for each other as they skate together on the Platte River in the novel’s opening scene. They have always seemed made for each other. 
But Lucy wants a career and has been working in Chicago. She becomes the piano accompanist to a much older classical singer, Clement Sebastian. The two fall in love in a chaste way, just as Harry sweeps into town and, with ham-handed arrogance, tells Lucy that it’s about time for them to get married, right? Wrong. 
Then, the book seems to be on its way to becoming a feminist Horatio Alger story in which the plucky heroine will find her way to beauty (and maybe love) in the stratospheric Olympus of the high arts.

Other books that might interest you

  • M is for Marquess - cover

    M is for Marquess

    Grace Callaway

    • 3
    • 41
    • 0
    A Prisoner of His Past 
    Gabriel Ridgley, the Marquess of Tremont, is dubbed The Angel for his pristine reputation. Yet he harbors a dark secret: a spy during the Napoleonic Wars, he bears deep and dangerous scars. When he meets Miss Dorothea Kent, a delicate virgin, he is torn between carnal desire—and the need to protect her from his inner demons. 
    
    A Captive of Her Passions 
    Despite a frail constitution, Thea Kent has strength of spirit and heart. A wild attraction blooms between her and Gabriel, a widowed aristocrat with tortured eyes, yet he resists the pull between them. When fate places his disabled son in her care, she's determined to guard the boy—and unravel the mystery of Gabriel's past. 
    
    Freed by Love and Passion 
    Someone is killing Gabriel's former colleagues, and he may be next on the list. As the desperate hunt for the villain begins, he and Thea get entangled in intrigue, betrayal, and desire too powerful to resist. Will trust help them to survive… and true love set them free? 
    
    Length: Full-length novel (over 90,000 words) 
    Sensuality level: A hot historical romance with sizzling love scenes 
    
    Books by Grace Callaway 
    
    The Heart of Enquiry series (hot historical Regency romance): 
    Prequel Novella: The Widow Vanishes 
    Book 1: The Duke Who Knew Too Much 
    Book 2: M is for Marquess 
    Book 3: The Lady Who Came in from the Cold 
    Book 4: The Viscount Always Knocks Twice (2016)
    
    The Mayhem in Mayfair series (hot historical Regency romance): 
    Book 1: Her Husband's Harlot 
    Book 2: Her Wanton Wager 
    Book 3: Her Protector's Pleasure 
    Book 4: Her Prodigal Passion 
    
    Chronicles of Abigail Jones (hot historical paranormal romance): 
    Book 1: Abigail Jones
    Show book
  • The Widow Vanishes: Heart of Enquiry Prequel Novella - cover

    The Widow Vanishes: Heart of...

    Grace Callaway

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    The Prequel Novella to the Bestselling Heart of Enquiry series 
    
    A Lady in Peril 
    A disastrous marriage leaves Annabel Foster buried in her dead husband's debt and at the mercy of a menacing cutthroat. Faced with death or selling her body, she makes an unthinkable choice... 
    
    A Scotsman with a Past 
    Haunted by his past, Scottish soldier William McLeod seeks forgetfulness in the arms of a tempting wench. What begins as a night of lust, however, transforms into desire beyond his wildest fantasies... 
    
    One Night of Passion 
    Insatiable hunger flares between the pair even as an evil enemy seeks to destroy them both. Can one night of passion lead to their salvation and love forevermore? 
    
    Length: Novella (approximately 36,000 words). 
    Sensuality level: A hot historical romance with sizzling love scenes 
    
    Books by Grace Callaway: 
    
    The Heart of Enquiry series (hot historical Regency romance): 
    Prequel Novella: The Widow Vanishes 
    Book 1: The Duke Who Knew Too Much 
    Book 2: M is for Marquess 
    Book 3: The Lady Who Came in from the Cold
    Book 4: The Viscount Always Knocks Twice (2016)
    
    The Mayhem in Mayfair series (hot historical Regency romance): 
    Book 1: Her Husband's Harlot 
    Book 2: Her Wanton Wager 
    Book 3: Her Protector's Pleasure 
    Book 4: Her Prodigal Passion 
    
    Chronicles of Abigail Jones (hot historical paranormal romance): 
    Book 1: Abigail Jones
    Show book
  • My Ruthless Prince - cover

    My Ruthless Prince

    Gaelen Foley

    • 3
    • 34
    • 0
    “Enchanting, intriguing…fun.” —Stephanie Laurens  
    “Always fabulous.”—Julia Quinn 
    My Ruthless Prince is the fourth historical romance by author Gaelen Foley to feature the gentlemen of the mysterious Regency fraternity the Inferno Club: scandalous rogues in the eyes of good London society but, in reality, devoted secret soldiers for Crown and country. Set in the most colorful era in England’s history My Ruthless Prince features the Club’s most notorious member—a rogue earl widely believed to have turned traitor—and the woman who believes with all her heart that her love can save him. A treat for fans of Mary Jo Putney and Amanda Quick, My Ruthless Prince brims with intrigue and passion.
    Show book
  • Boss - cover

    Boss

    Reagan Shaw

    • 12
    • 81
    • 0
    He was supposed to be a one-night stand.Now he’s hiring me to be the nanny.I wish I could say I regret it,But that would be a big FAT lie.
     
    Ever meet a guy that makes you sweat with one stare?Brian’s that guy.Loving, powerful, and damaged, all in one package.And I’m the dummy who thought I wouldn’t fall for it.Now my heart aches every time he talks to his daughter.
     
    Brian has a dangerous past,And I’m the pawn about to be taken.A mistake they’ll regret—Especially now that I’m carrying his baby.
    Show book
  • Silk Is For Seduction - cover

    Silk Is For Seduction

    Loretta Chase

    • 4
    • 24
    • 0
    “One of the finest romance authors of all time.”—Julia Quinn 
    “[Loretta Chase has] a rare talent for creating crackling sexual tension and characters so fresh and compelling that readers won’t be able to forget them.”—Susan Elizabeth Phillips 
    One of the most beloved authors in the field of historical romance, the remarkable Loretta Chase proves that Silk is For Seduction. The acclaimed New York Times bestselling author brings readers the first in a very sexy, emotionally rich new series in which sisters from a rather scandalous aristocratic family—the purveyors of the most fashionable shop in Regency London—discover passion and love as sumptuous as the exquisite gowns they create. Stephanie Laurens fans will adore this sensuous love story, as ambitious dressmaker Marcelline attempts to win the patronage of a future duchess…and ends up inadvertently enchanting the Duke!
    Show book
  • Teaching His Ward - A Regency Romance - cover

    Teaching His Ward - A Regency...

    Noël Cades

    • 4
    • 38
    • 0
    When a runaway ward finally meets her strict guardian, sparks fly... in this sexy new Regency Romance.A daring, spirited heroine...Jemima is determined to make her debut in society - but her strict guardian, whom she's never met, won't allow it. But when she runs away to London and falls for a handsome aristocrat, she's in for a big shock.Having fallen in love, what will she do when her guardian sets up an arranged marriage for her?A sexy, determined hero...Marcus Harlington, Earl Southwell, is furious to discover that the alluring young woman he romanced at a ball is his runaway ward, Jemima.Having entrusted her education to others, he now desires to play personal tutor... in teaching her some rather more wifely duties.Teaching His Ward is a new Regency Romance novel by author Noël Cades. Set in England's thrilling Regency period, the novel is historically accurate and emulates the literary style of the era.
    Show book