Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The River of Gold - Brock Ford Adventures - cover

The River of Gold - Brock Ford Adventures

Will Overby

Publisher: Black Cat Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A lost goldmine... a forgotten ghost town... a terrifying creature! 
“Alaska is a huge place.  Easy for a man to get lost and never be seen again.”  These words ring in 12-year-old Brock Ford’s ears as he embarks for the frozen north with his uncle, world-famous anthropologist Dirk Armstrong.  But it’s not long before Brock and his new Inuit friends Tanaraq and Kalli put that warning to the test.  From a ghost-town saloon with a cryptic message scrawled on its wall to the vast uncharted Alaskan wilderness, Brock must rely on his wits and integrity if he wants to make it back alive.  But when he crosses paths with the mysterious half-animal/half-spirit Urayuli, he’s also going to need a great deal of luck.

Who read this book also read:

  • Caillou: I Love You - cover

    Caillou: I Love You

    Chistine L'Heureux

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Caillou, like all children, needs to feel loved by his mother. But as a four-year-old, Caillou also has to discover the world around him. Caillou imitates the love he feels from his mother by reciting to his precious teddy bear a loving little verse his mother says to him all the time.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 35
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
    Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    Show book
  • Holly - Rejacketed - cover

    Holly - Rejacketed

    Mary Hooper

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    'Holly. I hope you won't mind me buying you this. I think it's the sort of thing you'll like. Am I right? And I think it matches your eyes. This comes with best wishes from (and I know it's corny). A Friend.' And that was how it all started.  
     
    Holly starts receiving anonymous gifts at the café where she works. She can't believe it - how romantic can you get? But when Holly finds out the identity of her admirer she is in for a shock - her admirer is not a potential boyfriend: her admirer is her father. Holly has to come to terms with the fact that her father is not the man who lives at home with her, who she loves and calls her father. Her father is a man who has lived all her life on the other side of the world, not even knowing of her existence. Holly and her mother have some talking to do.  
     
    Mary Hooper tackles this emotionally fraught situation with tenderness and compassion, yet still with her trademark pacy readability that has proved so popular with the young teen girls' market.
    Show book
  • Sleep Tight Little Wolf – Dormi bene piccolo lupo Bilingual children's book (English – Italian) - cover

    Sleep Tight Little Wolf – Dormi...

    Ulrich Renz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bilingual children's book (age 2 and up), English – Italian
    Tim can't fall asleep. His little wolf is missing! Perhaps he forgot him outside? Tim heads out all alone into the night – and unexpectedly encounters some friends… 
    "Sleep Tight, Little Wolf" is a heart-warming bedtime story. It has been translated into more than 50 languages and is available as a bilingual edition in all conceivable combinations of these languages. 
    
    Libro per bambini bilinguale (da 2 anni), inglese – italiano
    Tim non riesce ad addormentarsi. Il suo piccolo lupo è sparito! Forse lo ha dimenticato fuori? Tim si  allontana tutto solo nella notte – e inaspettatamente riceve compagnia… 
    "Dormi bene, piccolo lupo" è un racconto della buona notte che scalda il cuore. È stato tradotto in oltre 50 lingue ed è disponibile in edizione bilingue in tutte le combinazioni possibili.
    Show book
  • Out of Control - cover

    Out of Control

    Norma Fox Mazer

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Going along with the crowd can have shattering consequences Why does everyone always want you to make so many choices? Pizza or burgers, swimming or a movie, one friend or another, yes or no. For Rollo Wingate, who’s always been the biggest guy in school, sometimes it’s easier to relax and let someone else take the lead. After all, when he and his two best friends get together, they’re always on the same page—which is probably why he goes along with it when the other boys target Valerie Michon at school. Every time they see her, bad things just . . . happen. At first it’s just a taunt here, a tiny insult there. But things keeps escalating, and finally, the situation turns into something much worse.   Rollo knows that a line has been crossed, and he struggles to make sense of how things could have gone so wrong so quickly. Maybe for the first time, he’s going to have to figure it out for himself.
    Show book
  • Chelsea and Astra - Rejacketed - cover

    Chelsea and Astra - Rejacketed

    Mary Hooper

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'I saw him first. His eyes swivelled round the room and then rested on me and I thought to myself - WOW!'  
     
    Chelsea and Astra are like chalk and cheese. But even so, they are the best of friends. They do everything together. Until something happens. That something is a boy. And for the first time ever, Astra and Chelsea are fighting against each other. Will their friendship survive?  
     
    Written from the perspectives of each friend, Mary Hooper gets right to heart of what it feels like when the loyalty of even the best of friendships is tested.
    Show book