Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Movie House Mystery - cover

The Movie House Mystery

Will Overby

Publisher: Black Cat Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Movies, Mobsters & Mayhem! 
Charlie Barnett loves movies.  He’s such a fanatic that he’s become best friends with the manager at the local theater, Mr. Mankiewicz.  But when the mob comes looking for a mysterious object and Mr. Mankiewicz is kidnapped, Charlie is thrust into a real-life adventure more dangerous than any he’s seen onscreen.  With the help of a master of disguise, Charlie races against time to find Mr. Mankiewicz and save a priceless artifact from falling into the wrong hands.

Who read this book also read:

  • Wishing Day - cover

    Wishing Day

    Lauren Myracle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law. 
    On the third night of the third month after a girl’s thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes. 
    The first wish is an impossible wish. 
    The second is a wish she can make come true herself. 
    And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart. 
    Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she’s not sure she believes in it. She’s full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed. 
    So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined. 
    Show book
  • Twinkle Twinkle Little Star - cover

    Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

    Jane Taylor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Beloved Children's Lullaby   
     Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star comes to life in this cute children's book illustrated by Katherine White. Additional verses will have you reading and singing along to this children's classic.
    Show book
  • Anything But Hank - cover

    Anything But Hank

    Rachel Lebowitz, Zachariah Wells

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Anything But Hank! Rachel Lebowitz and Zachariah Wells combine the whimsical humour of Lewis Carroll with the adventure-narrative balladeering of Robert Service to spin an unforgettable tale of a baby -- and a pig! -- in search of a name. Their quest takes them from the city to the mountains, as they seek an audience with the Wizard and his baby-naming Mexican beaded lizard. The story, accompanied by the gorgeously lush paintings of Eric Orchard, is a delight for readers of all ages.
    Show book
  • Ginger the Stray Kitten - cover

    Ginger the Stray Kitten

    Holly Webb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rosie loves visiting the stray cats that live on the farm near her gran's house. Her favourite is a tiny kitten who she calls Ginger, because of his lovely orange fur. At first Ginger is very shy, then gradually he learns to trust Rosie. But when the farm is sold to developers and the builders start work, the little kitten is terrified - the other cats have disappeared and he's all alone. Suddenly the world is a very scary place... From best-selling author Holly Webb comes another heart-warming animal story.
    Show book
  • What A Wonderful World - cover

    What A Wonderful World

    RAJIV TAMBE

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Why is it that only flowers bloom?  What if a duck became an egret? Why do parrots look alike but butterflies are all different? What if sea water turned sweet and rivers became salty?  These wonderful questions which bubble in the curious minds of children, may not have ready or obvious answers and can at times try the patience of a teacher of parent. They spring from developing powers of observation and supple imagination, and an effort to provide inherent logic to the scheme of things that dominate the world of adults. As parents and teachers, we need to understand and match the answers to the questions which emerge from free minds and unadulterated observation. Then adults too, can share these wonderful constructs, which are in fact, the ïtruths of wonderland'. What a Wonderful World  provides a generous helping of such truths- to nurture and delight the child in us all.
    Show book
  • THE THREE GOLDEN APPLES - A Legend of Hercules - Baba Indaba’s Children's Stories - Issue 347 - cover

    THE THREE GOLDEN APPLES - A...

    Anon E. Mouse

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ISSN: 2397-9607 Issue 347
    In this 347th issue of the Baba Indaba’s Children's Stories series, Baba Indaba narrates the Greek Fairy Tale "THE THREE GOLDEN APPLES”.
    
    Have you ever hear of the golden apples, that grew in the garden of the Hesperides? Ah, those were such apples as would bring a great price, by the bushel, if any of them could be found growing in the orchards of nowadays! But there is not, I suppose, a graft of that wonderful fruit on a single tree in the wide world. Not so much as a seed of those apples exists any longer.
    And, even in the old, old, half-forgotten times, before the garden of the Hesperides was overrun with weeds, a great many people doubted whether there could be real trees that bore apples of solid gold upon their branches. All had heard of them, but nobody remembered to have seen any. Children, nevertheless, used to listen, open-mouthed, to stories of the golden apple-tree, and resolved to discover it, when they should be big enough. Adventurous young men, who desired to do a braver thing than any of their fellows, set out in quest of this fruit. Many of them returned no more; none of them brought back the apples. No wonder that they found it impossible to gather them! It is said that there was a dragon beneath the tree, with a hundred terrible heads, fifty of which were always on the watch, while the other fifty slept.
    But then the adventure was undertaken by a hero who had enjoyed very little peace or rest since he came into the world. At the time he was wandering through the land with a mighty club in his hand, and a bow and quiver slung across his shoulders. He was dressed in the skin of the biggest and fiercest lion that had ever been seen, and which he himself had killed; although, on the whole, he was kind, generous and noble. Even so, there was a good deal of the lion's fierceness in his heart for his name was Hercules (also known as Heracles).
    Everywhere he went he asked if anyone had news of the garden or if they could give directions to it.
    Did Hercules ever get directions to the garden of the Hesperides? Did he ever find his way there, when so many before him had failed? If he did get to the garden was he able to gain entry and did he get to pick a golden apple? So many questions……..
    To find the answers to these questions, and others you may have, you will have to download and read this story to find out!
    
    Baba Indaba is a fictitious Zulu storyteller who narrates children's stories from around the world. Baba Indaba translates as "Father of Stories".
    
    Each issue also has a "WHERE IN THE WORLD - LOOK IT UP" section, where young readers are challenged to look up a place on a map somewhere in the world. The place, town or city is relevant to the story. HINT - use Google maps.
    
    33% of the profit from the sale of this book will be donated to charities.
    INCLUDES LINKS TO DOWNLOAD 8 FREE STORIES
     
    Show book