Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Drum - cover

Drum

Will Overby

Publisher: Black Cat Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Two years after his wife died Hamilton Bradford still struggles with his grief.  And although he and his new girlfriend have a wonderful life together, Ham still can't shake a feeling of dread.    When his father suddenly turns ill, Ham reluctantly reaches out to his estranged brother, Bruce - more out of obligation than anything.  But after being falsely accused of rape and imprisoned for seven years, Bruce isn't sure that reconciliation is the best idea.    And now Ham's teenage son, Kipp, is exhibiting menacing signs of psychotic behavior, plummeting into a world of violence and madness that threatens not only himself but everyone around him.    These disparate lives collide in a firestorm of dying dreams, shattered expectations, and brutality that will leave you chilled to the bone.

Other books that might interest you

  • Without a Word - A Rachel Alexander Mystery - cover

    Without a Word - A Rachel...

    Carol Lea Benjamin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Private investigator Rachel Alexander and her pit bull Dashiell return in this stylish, dark, emotionally complex seventh mystery from former detective and noted dog trainer Carol Lea Benjamin.  
     When a distraught father approaches private investigator Rachel Alexander in a New York City park, asking her to help find his missing wife, Rachel accepts––reluctantly. After all, the chances of finding a woman who disappeared without a trace––and without a word––five years earlier are slim. But it's the missing woman's daughter who touches her most deeply––a troubled young girl whose mother's disappearance has rendered her mute. The child is also suspected of the murder of her doctor, a rich neurologist who was brutally stabbed one night while he was alone in his office. Rachel knows the disturbed girl can't be a murderer, but her investigation reveals that against all odds, it could be someone from her past. And against a backdrop of betrayal, neglect, and a city at times as lonely and frightening as a child's worst nightmares, Rachel's involvement in the case uncovers issues more complex, and more heartbreaking, than she's ever seen––problems that someone was willing to die, or even kill, for.
    Show book
  • Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries #2 - cover

    Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9...

    Jen Blood

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    K-9 handler Jamie Flint and her team – both human and canine – search for a group that’s mysteriously vanished during a dog sledding expedition for battered women in Maine’s Mahoosuc Mountains. When the authorities learn that a rogue gunman was at the heart of the disappearance, the question turns to which abusive partner is behind the violence. Jamie Flint, herself a survivor of domestic abuse, is haunted by memories of her own experiences as she and her dog, Phantom, fight to find the missing women before the shooter does.
    Show book
  • The Ladies Killing Circle Anthology 4-Book Bundle - Fit to Die Bone Dance When Boomers Go Bad Going Out With a Bang - cover

    The Ladies Killing Circle...

    Joan Boswell, Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This ebook bundle present all four of the Ladies Killing Circle's wicked collections of twisted and witty crime fiction.
    Show book
  • The Brief - cover

    The Brief

    Simon Michaels

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the 60s London of gangsters, prejudice and terrifying gang wars, Barrister Charles Holborne spends his life dealing with the worst examples of violent criminality. After successfully winning a number of high profile cases, he is building a reputation among Soho’s criminal classes as a man who gets the job done, a reputation that doesn’t endear him to his establishment colleagues.
     
    Yet Charles is not all he seems, and is battling both personal demons and his own past. When his philandering wife Henrietta is found with her throat slashed, Charles finds himself on the wrong side of the law and in serious trouble of the murderous kind. Arrested for her murder, can Charles discover the truth of her brutal slaying and escape the hangman’s noose?
     
    Based upon a real case and genuine court documents, The Brief is a compelling criminal drama, and an evocative slice of sleazy glamour from the Swinging Sixties. Simon Michael delivers an addictive read for any crime fan.
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • Sideman The - A Scottish police procedural set in Glasgow - cover

    Sideman The - A Scottish police...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    With no evidence against him and no known motive, DI Costello must break the rules if she is to get her man.
    Detective Inspector Costello has resigned. No notice, no goodbyes. Convinced that George Haggerty murdered his wife and son despite his cast-iron alibi, Costello has gone solo, determined to expose a ruthless killer without being hampered by police protocol. But is she right about Haggerty’s guilt? And where has she disappeared to?
    DCI Colin Anderson has no time to ponder the loss of his partner of twenty years. With a badly beaten body found on a remote mountain pass; a woman with a serious head wound who won’t communicate in any way; and a substantial pool of blood discovered at the edge of Loch Lomond, Police Scotland have their hands full. Could there be any connection to Costello’s disappearance …?
    Show book