Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
August - cover

August

Will Overby

Publisher: Black Cat Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Carla Turner has been drifting for all her thirty-two years. Worn down by the banality of rural life with an abusive husband and resigned to simple existence, she hardly seems capable of recognizing new adventure in the form of a man, even one as gorgeous as Brian DeCanto. But Brian understands the need for escape all too well. After accidentally shooting his boss, he is forced to take the murder’s sole witness – his boss’s ten-year-old son – on the run with him. Brian and Carla collide in an explosion of star-crossed lust that leads them from passionate fantasy into the harsh reality of the 1980s South and sweeps them to their final destiny.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Road to Helltown - Preternatural Affairs #9 - cover

    The Road to Helltown -...

    SM Reine

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    My name's Cèsar Hawke, and the people in my life are filled with good intentions. 
    We all know where that ends up. 
    A fissure to Hell has ripped from Las Vegas to Los Angeles and now half the City of Dis is in my hometown. Helltown's hotter than ever. Demon dynasties are on the rise. Nightmares are out to get me. 
    Staying alive means forgiving people I've kicked out of my life, it means getting vicious with magic, and yeah, it means I'm dealing with dead bodies. Lots of them. 
    I'm Cèsar Hawke. I used to be an agent with the Office of Preternatural Affairs. And this is how the world ends.
    Show book
  • The Story of Heidi Strong - cover

    The Story of Heidi Strong

    KP

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Heidi Strong is a typical teenage girl, bright, friendly and curious about life.  So when she discovers a box of photos while clearing out her attic for her mother, she begins to discover more about her family, and also about what sort of games she likes to play.
    
    In this collection of stories, we follow Heidi as she meets an aunt she never knew existed, and through her and her fiends a love of games an situations where she finds herself bound, gagged and helpless - sometimes voluntarily, sometimes not.  As her circle of friends grows, she realises she enjoys the helplessness, but every so often real life has a habit of intruding...
    
    This collection first appeared at the KP Presents site, but this is the first time they have all been collected in one book.  Read how Heidi celebrates her birthday, the Festive season, and how a slumber party brings yet more players into her circle.
    Show book
  • The Return of Dr Sam Johnson Detector - cover

    The Return of Dr Sam Johnson...

    Lillian de la Torre

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    James Boswell and Dr. Samuel Johnson team up to solve mysteries in this collection of brilliantly baffling historical crime stories. James Boswell is just twenty-two when he comes south from Scotland, determined to befriend Dr. Sam Johnson, the greatest thinker of the eighteenth century. But when he first goes to call on the legendary scholar, a hue and cry is raised throughout the neighborhood because a wealthy old invalid refuses to come to her door. It’s barred from the inside, and when Johnson and Boswell break in, they find the woman dead.   There’s nothing like a good locked room mystery, and no detective quite as clever as Dr. Johnson. With Boswell at his side, he will solve the mystery of the barred door, using his wits against everything the killers and thieves of the Enlightenment throw his way.   Inspired by real case files from the era, the Dr. Johnson detective stories recreate this period of history with uncanny realism. Funny, challenging, and genuinely thrilling, they are perfect for anyone who’s been searching for an eighteenth-century Sherlock Holmes.  
    Show book
  • A Soldier's Revenge - A Will Cochrane Novel - cover

    A Soldier's Revenge - A Will...

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Former intelligence agent Will Cochrane must evade US authorities hunting him down for a murder he didn’t commit in this captivating sixth entry in the acclaimed action-thriller series. 
    Former operative Will Cochrane wakes up in New York’s Waldorf Astoria and is horrified to see blood on his hands—something he remembers absolutely nothing about. When he then finds a woman murdered in his bathroom he knows he’s stepped into a wilderness of terror that is far more dangerous than anything he’s ever faced. 
    With no memory of the night before nor of the unfortunate woman, Will believes he is being framed and needs to outrun the police who will be looking for him very soon. Until this moment, Will has been on the precipice of a new life, one outside the intelligence service, and one that includes fatherhood. He’s agreed to adopt the twin sons of his former colleague and Navy SEAL operative Roger Koenig, and had been on his way to pick them up before he’d awakened to the carnage in New York. 
    Will knows his only chance to clear his name is to find the real killer while he’s still free. But he also has to find the twins, suspecting that they’re in danger as well. In Virginia, he discovers one boy alive and his brother missing and most likely kidnapped. What he also finds is the killer’s trail in the form of a man’s voice, which Will recognizes and believes belongs to an old nemesis, a Russian agent he has tangled with before. With local police, the FBI, and even his friends pursuing him, the clever and ruthless operative must track down his adversary, save the boys, and prove his innocence before it’s too late.  
    A superb blend of action and thrills that will keep readers on the edge of their seats, A Soldier’s Revenge is perfect for fans of Brad Thor, Daniel Silva, and Lee Child.
    Show book
  • The Devil's Song - cover

    The Devil's Song

    Lauren Stahl

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Family secrets, childhood memories, and old crimes influence the present in this suspenseful debut. Kate is a gutsy character, and her romance with Sam is enjoyable. An open-ended finale leaves room for future conflicts within the Magda family...A solid bet for fans of dark crime dramas."--Library Journal 
    "[An] exciting first novel...Stahl keeps the reader on a roller-coaster ride with unexpected twists and turns to the end."--Publishers Weekly 
    "It's a thrilling story about a young prosecutor, her prominent judge father and a shocking crime."--The Citizens' Voice (Wilkes-Barre, PA) 
    "An engrossing read from a first-time author."--The CyberLibrarian 
    "Exciting and realistic."--The Book Faerie 
    "I was up all night, utterly riveted by The Devil's Song, with its memorable characters, crisp dialogue, and meticulous plotting. It's hard to believe this is a debut. Lauren Stahl is a writer to watch!"--Alafair Burke, best-selling author of The Ex 
    "The Devil's Song is a book born from those dark places most writers and readers dare not go. It's not just about cops and killers, lawyers and judges. It's about real people with real lives. It's about family, fathers and daughters, lovers and friends, and the ghosts of the past that haunt them all. In this stunning debut novel, Lauren Stahl paints a chilling portrait of childhood nightmares relived, rich with both suspense and emotion."--Keith Gilman, author of Bad Habits 
    "A racing read by an author who knows how to tell a story, The Devil's Song plunges the reader equally into two worlds: one of killers, insanity, child victims, and revenge; and another of the details and especially the politics and power plays of law, order, and investigation. It's hard to tell at times which world is the more difficult to comprehend. Grabbed and held me straight through to the last page."--S.J. Rozan, Edgar Award-winning author of Ghost Hero 
    Up-and-coming Mission County, Pennsylvania, prosecutor Kate Magda has been given the assignment of a lifetime: lead counsel on a string of murders rocking the community. As the privileged daughter of a powerful local judge, Kate views the case as her chance to show her boss, her family, and the public that she is more than just "the judge's daughter." 
    As Kate delves into the case, she becomes convinced that she shares a personal link with the killer, who seems to know intimate details about a tragic childhood event from Kate's past--an event she’d long been trying to forget. Paranoia sets in, the night terrors return, and Kate has a strong sense that she's the killer's next victim. She no longer feels assigned to the case...she is the case, and solving it is her only chance for survival.
    Show book
  • Seven Seconds - cover

    Seven Seconds

    Lisa Compton

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Olivia Osborne is a forensic psychologist and former FBI agent who is blessed (or cursed, depending on who you ask) with unique gifts. Olivia is able to sense what others cannot--the spiritual presence of those who have "crossed over," as well as the living who are influenced, or in some cases possessed, by evil. The passing of her beloved Gran was the catalyst Olivia needed to leave the FBI behind and return to her native San Antonio, Texas. But a familiar evil has followed on her heels. When a series of brutal murders rock her city, Olivia is pulled into the investigation despite her plans to leave that part of her life behind. What if she isn't supposed to run? What if she was always supposed to stand and fight?
    Show book