Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
August - cover

August

Will Overby

Publisher: Black Cat Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Carla Turner has been drifting for all her thirty-two years. Worn down by the banality of rural life with an abusive husband and resigned to simple existence, she hardly seems capable of recognizing new adventure in the form of a man, even one as gorgeous as Brian DeCanto. But Brian understands the need for escape all too well. After accidentally shooting his boss, he is forced to take the murder’s sole witness – his boss’s ten-year-old son – on the run with him. Brian and Carla collide in an explosion of star-crossed lust that leads them from passionate fantasy into the harsh reality of the 1980s South and sweeps them to their final destiny.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

    Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 
    
    This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    
    +++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag
    
    +++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime
    
    +++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog
    Show book
  • Edwina Currie - Diaries 1987-1992 - cover

    Edwina Currie - Diaries 1987-1992

    Edwina Currie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After Margaret Thatcher, Edwina Currie was the second most prominent woman in British politics during the 1980s. Indeed, she was often spoken of as a potential Prime Minister. Her outspokenness and her lively, media-friendly personality won her a much higher profile than her status as a junior minister would otherwise have commanded. When she was forced to resign from the government after warning of the danger signs of salmonella infection in eggs, she was already a national figure. Revealing her four-year affair with former Prime Minister John Major, Edwina's diaries caused a media sensation. A decade on, and now with previously unpublished material, the diaries still provide a remarkable insight into politics at the top by a writer with an observant eye and a sharp sense of humour. Edwina Currie's honesty, her frankness and her courage make these unexpurgated diaries an irresistible read.
    Show book
  • Tell Me Your Dreams - cover

    Tell Me Your Dreams

    Sidney Sheldon, Partnershi...

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Somebody was watching her 
    She had read about stalkers, but they belonged in a different, faraway world. She had no idea who it could be, who would want to harm her. She was trying desperately not to panic, but lately her sleep had been filled with nightmares, and she had awakened each morning with a feeling of impending doom. 
    Thus begins Sidney Sheldon's chilling new novel, Tell Me Your Dreams. Three beautiful young women are suspected of committing a series of brutal murders. The police make an arrest that leads to one of the most bizarre murder trials of the century. Based on actual events, Sheldon's novel races from London to Rome to the city of Quebec to San Francisco, with a climax that will leave the reader stunned.
    Show book
  • Without a Word - A Rachel Alexander Mystery - cover

    Without a Word - A Rachel...

    Carol Lea Benjamin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Private investigator Rachel Alexander and her pit bull Dashiell return in this stylish, dark, emotionally complex seventh mystery from former detective and noted dog trainer Carol Lea Benjamin.  
     When a distraught father approaches private investigator Rachel Alexander in a New York City park, asking her to help find his missing wife, Rachel accepts––reluctantly. After all, the chances of finding a woman who disappeared without a trace––and without a word––five years earlier are slim. But it's the missing woman's daughter who touches her most deeply––a troubled young girl whose mother's disappearance has rendered her mute. The child is also suspected of the murder of her doctor, a rich neurologist who was brutally stabbed one night while he was alone in his office. Rachel knows the disturbed girl can't be a murderer, but her investigation reveals that against all odds, it could be someone from her past. And against a backdrop of betrayal, neglect, and a city at times as lonely and frightening as a child's worst nightmares, Rachel's involvement in the case uncovers issues more complex, and more heartbreaking, than she's ever seen––problems that someone was willing to die, or even kill, for.
    Show book
  • The Best Laid Plans - cover

    The Best Laid Plans

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Sidney Sheldon returns with a tale of two equally determined people headed on a collision course. One the governor of a small southern state, Oliver Russell is a man with a strategy to win the White House. The other is the beautiful and ambitious Leslie Stewart, a woman intent on seeing him lose everything. Soon they will both discover that even the best laid plans can go dangerously astray--with deadly consequences.
    Show book
  • Flash Point (Fault Lines) - cover

    Flash Point (Fault Lines)

    Thomas Locke

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    What If the Limits of Time and Space Were Breached?Junior financial analyst Lena Fennan loves managing risk and making money. Yet when she gets a mysterious invitation to take a leap into the unknown, she does not hesitate. Soon a series of events takes her to the brink of destruction. But Lena refuses to give in, entranced by glimpses of a future that redefine everything.Reese Clawson emerges from prison gripped by the slow burn of revenge. She will track everyone who hand a hand in destroying her--and take them out. First on the list is Charlie Hazard.As time and space become jumbled, Lena and Reese are pulled into a collision course that could alter the parameters of human consciousness.
    Show book