Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Golden Lion - A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War - cover

Golden Lion - A Novel of Heroes in a Time of War

Wilbur Smith, Giles Kristian

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

For readers of Game of Thrones, Ken Follett, and Clive Cussler: 
an epic adventure spanning land and sea... 
time and distance... 
courage, revenge, and everything in between. 
GOLDEN LION 
He saw his father executed in battle. He spent his youth avenging that death. And now Henry 'Hal' Courtney is a man with a ship – and a family – of his own. 
But fate has not finished with Hal. On a voyage along the eastern shore of Africa, a powerful enemy abducts his wife, the fearless warrior Judith… and with her, Hal's unborn child. For Hal, a man all too familiar with loss, there is only one way forward: He must track his nemesis across desert and ocean, through the slave markets of Zanzibar and the dangerous waters of the coast, in pursuit of the woman he loves, the child he sired, and the glorious destiny that awaits him. 
Bursting with action and suspense, heroism and heartache, this unforgettable novel proves once more that Wilbur Smith is the world's greatest adventure writer.

Other books that might interest you

  • After Midnight - A Novel - cover

    After Midnight - A Novel

    Diane Shute

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As far as Alix is concerned, she has no past—she only has today, and her plans for the future: raising a dynamic string of racehorses that will take the 1830s British racing world by storm by storm. Enter Lily, Alix’s estranged twin sister, spoiled, defiant and recently married for money and social status. As Alix is forced into a position that threatens to alter the course of her future, she begins to remember details about the mysterious events surrounding her father’s death when she was a child. When Alix seeks her uncle’s help, it sparks his dangerous return to France to reclaim the lives they left behind long ago.
    Show book
  • The Duke and I With 2nd Epilogue - cover

    The Duke and I With 2nd Epilogue

    Julia Quinn

    • 5
    • 70
    • 0
    From #1 New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn comes the first novel in her beloved Regency-set series featuring the charming, powerful Bridgerton family—soon to be a Netflix series. 
    In the ballrooms and drawing rooms of Regency London, rules abound. From their earliest days, children of aristocrats learn how to address an earl and curtsey before a prince—while other dictates of the ton are unspoken yet universally understood. A proper duke should be imperious and aloof. A young, marriageable lady should be amiable…but not too amiable. 
    Daphne Bridgerton has always failed at the latter. The fourth of eight siblings in her close-knit family, she has formed friendships with the most eligible young men in London. Everyone likes Daphne for her kindness and wit. But no one truly desires her. She is simply too deuced honest for that, too unwilling to play the romantic games that captivate gentlemen. 
    Amiability is not a characteristic shared by Simon Basset, Duke of Hastings. Recently returned to England from abroad, he intends to shun both marriage and society—just as his callous father shunned Simon throughout his painful childhood. Yet an encounter with his best friend’s sister offers another option. If Daphne agrees to a fake courtship, Simon can deter the mamas who parade their daughters before him. Daphne, meanwhile, will see her prospects and her reputation soar. 
    The plan works like a charm—at first. But amid the glittering, gossipy, cut-throat world of London’s elite, there is only one certainty:  
    Love ignores every rule… 
      
      
      
      
     
      
     
    Show book
  • Black Silk - cover

    Black Silk

    Judith Ivory

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    As befitting her name, lovely Submit Channing-Downes was the proper, obedient wife of an aging Marquess--until her husband′s death left her penniless and alone...with one final obligation to fulfill. Entrusted with delivering a small black box to its rightful owner, she calls upon Graham Wessit, the notorious Earl of Netham, whose life has been marred by rumor and scandal. But Graham wants nothing to do w/ her gift. Fate however, has entwined these two lives in astonishing ways neither Submit nor Graham could ever imagine.
    Show book
  • Miss Burma - A Novel - cover

    Miss Burma - A Novel

    Charmaine Craig

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Craig wields powerful and vivid prose to illuminate a country and a family trapped not only by war and revolution, but also by desire and loss.” —Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize–winning author  Miss Burma tells the story of modern-day Burma through the eyes of Benny and Khin, husband and wife, and their daughter Louisa. After attending school in Calcutta, Benny settles in Rangoon, then part of the British Empire, and falls in love with Khin, a woman who is part of a long-persecuted ethnic minority group, the Karen. World War II comes to Southeast Asia, and Benny and Khin must go into hiding in the eastern part of the country during the Japanese occupation, beginning a journey that will lead them to change the country’s history.   Years later, Benny and Khin’s eldest child, Louisa, has a danger-filled, tempestuous childhood and reaches prominence as Burma’s first beauty queen soon before the country falls to dictatorship. As Louisa navigates her newfound fame, she is forced to reckon with her family’s past, the West’s ongoing covert dealings in her country, and her own loyalty to the cause of the Karen people.   Based on the story of the author’s mother and grandparents, Miss Burma is a captivating portrait of how modern Burma came to be and of the ordinary people swept up in the struggle for self-determination and freedom.   “At once beautiful and heartbreaking . . . An incredible family saga.” —Refinery29   “Miss Burma charts both a political history and a deeply personal one—and of those incendiary moments when private and public motivations overlap.” —Los Angeles Times
    Show book
  • Destined in the Dark - Historical Cross-Dressing Medieval M M Erotica from Steam Books - cover

    Destined in the Dark -...

    Steam Books, Melody Lewis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the middle ages, a young lad named Gabe plots an assassination to  avenge his sister's death. Gabe goes undercover as a prostitute in a  brothel, planning to lure his sister's murderer, the Count. However,  Gabe is about to learn some unexpected, fascinating, and sexy things  about the Count, his sister's death, and himself.  WARNING: This 3,779-word story is a steamy read that features explicit content and may  be too hot for some readers to handle! 
    Show book
  • The Birthright (Song of Acadia Book #3) - cover

    The Birthright (Song of Acadia...

    Janette Oke, T. Davis Bunn

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The Thread Binding Them Together As Sisters Is All Too Fragile...The bittersweet reunion of the Robichaud family and the Harrows in the land of the Acadians has brought two mothers and two daughters full circle. They rekindle those early bonds and experience restoration of those lost years, but time and tragedy have left their indelible imprints on all who have endured the decades of separation and uncertainty. Moving forward with their lives now means further farewells--not as devastating as the one long ago, but no less heart wrenching.Their connection, which goes beyond that of "sisters" to best friends, will be tested by the coming Revolution and the lure of England--parted again, the reunited, but for how long...? Can their friendship sustain the startling revelation concerning...The Birthright?
    Show book