Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
All We Have Left - cover

All We Have Left

Wendy Mills

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 1
  • 12
  • 0

Summary

Interweaving stories from past and present, All We Have Left brings one of the most important days in our recent history--September 11th--to life, showing that love and hope will always triumph. 
 
Now: 
Sixteen-year-old Jesse is used to living with the echoes of the past. Her older brother died in the September 11th attacks, and her dad since has filled their home with anger and grief. When Jesse gets caught up with the wrong crowd, one momentary hate-fueled decision turns her life upside down. The only way to make amends is to face the past, starting Jesse on a journey that will reveal the truth about how her brother died.   
 
Then: 
In 2001, sixteen-year-old Alia is proud to be Muslim . . . it's being a teenager that she finds difficult. After being grounded for a stupid mistake, Alia decides to confront her father at his Manhattan office, putting her in danger she never could have imagined. When the planes collide into the Twin Towers, Alia is trapped inside one of the buildings. In the final hours, she meets a boy who will change everything for her as the flames rage around them . . .  
 
A Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2016 selection

Other books that might interest you

  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Monster

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Horrible Histories... 
     
    Mesopotamia, 2500 years ago 
     
    Everyone in the tribe must work; all the men go hunting for bulls and mountain lions - apart from Sin-leqi, that is. Sin-leqi stays home and reads tablets in the great temples. The tablets tell tales of the legendary Gilgamesh, tales that are so fantastical that lazy Sin-leqi doesn't have to work, as long as he keeps telling them. But when the story comes to end, Sin-leqi is in trouble... 
     
     A brand new and exciting tale, based on real historical and archaeological   evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry   wit. 
     
    Book band: Grey
    Show book
  • Cinderella Is Dead - cover

    Cinderella Is Dead

    Kalynn Bayron

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely 
     
    Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert. 
     
      It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl's display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.  
      
     Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella's mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all--and in the process, they learn that there's more to Cinderella's story than they ever knew . . . 
     
    This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they've been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.
    Show book
  • Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Stoneywish and other chilling...

    Joan Aiken

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.  
     
    From a mysterious traveller who leaves an injured horse with a stranger, to a garden plant that slowly creeps into a house during a thunderstorm and a man who comes across two angry forces in the middle of a forest, this chilling collection of stories will have readers jumping at bumps in the night. 
     
    Much-loved author Joan Aiken is best known for The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and the Arabel and Mortimer books. This brilliant collection has spooky black-and-white illustrations by Masha Ukhova and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • An Unlikely Spy - cover

    An Unlikely Spy

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thrilling historical adventure from Terry Deary, the 'outstanding children's non-fiction author of the 20th century' (Books For Keeps) 
     
    This brand new, exciting adventure from bestselling Horrible Histories author Terry Deary brings the Second World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne.  
     
    World War II has begun. Brigit has been evacuated to Wales from her home near the aeroplane factories of Coventry. But when it's revealed that her father is German, Brigit runs away to join her mother in a very special training camp, where Churchill is building a secret army of spies and saboteurs known as the Special Operations Executive. 
     
    Brigit and her mother soon find themselves on the front line in Nazi-occupied France, where they search for double agents and meet with danger at every turn in their efforts to support the French resistance. But no-one will suspect Brigit is a spy, will they? After all, who would suspect a child? 
     
    Featuring characters from The Silver Hand, this page-turning adventure sheds new light on the Second World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish.
    Show book
  • We Are Bound by Stars - cover

    We Are Bound by Stars

    Kesia Lupo

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The next adventure in Kesia Lupo's stunning and original YA fantasy world. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor. 
     
    On a mysterious island where the very earth holds magic, masked assassins plague the city and strange creatures rise from the desert. Livio has riled against his destiny his whole life. Beatrice longs to escape her life of servitude. But when a twist of fate unites them, it is up to them to stop a deadly revolution. 
     
    Are they just puppets in someone else's game? Will they have to accept the hands they have been dealt or can either change their fortunes? 
     
    Another thrilling, plot-driven adventure, with an even bigger twist, We Are Bound by Stars is a tale of masks, politics, desire and deception that will have you gripped once again in Kesia Lupo's rich fantasy world.
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Flood - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Flood

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Horrible Histories... 
     
    9500 years ago, as the Ice Age is ending... 
     
    Jay's grandfather is old, maybe twice as many summers as he has fingers and toes, but he is wise too. Jay loves to sit in their house by the river and listen to his stories of the Great Spirit and the Earth Mother. But outside, danger is at their door; food is getting scarcer, tribes are at war, and all the time the river water is rising... 
     
    A brand new and exciting tale, based on real historical and archaeological  evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry  wit. 
     
    Book band: Grey
    Show book