Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
10 Classics Western Stories - cover

10 Classics Western Stories

Washington Irving, Samuel Merwin, James Fenimore Cooper, Bret Harte, Andy Adams, Marah Ellis Ryan, B.M. Bower, Dane Coolidge, Frederic Homer Balch, Reading Time

Publisher: Reading Time

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book contains several tables of HTML content to make reading easier.

The novels are sorted alphabetically by the authors.

Content:

The Log of a Cowboy by Andy Adams
The Bridge of the Gods by Frederic Homer Balch
The Lure of the Dim Trails by B.M. Bower
Hidden Water by Dane Coolidge
The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper
The Prairie by James Fenimore Cooper
Salomy Jane by Bret Harte
Astoria by Washington Irving
The road to Frontenac by Samuel Merwin
That Girl Montana by Marah Ellis Ryan

Other books that might interest you

  • A Castaway in Cornwall - cover

    A Castaway in Cornwall

    Julie Klassen

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    Set adrift on the tides of fate by the deaths of her parents and left wanting answers, Laura Callaway now lives with her uncle and his disapproving wife in North Cornwall. There she feels like a castaway, always viewed as an outsider even as she yearns to belong.  
     
    While wreckers search for valuables along the windswept Cornwall coast--known for its many shipwrecks but few survivors--Laura searches for clues to the lives lost so she can write letters to next of kin and return keepsakes to rightful owners. When a man is washed ashore after a wreck, Laura acts quickly to protect him from a local smuggler determined to destroy him. 
     
    As Laura and a neighbor care for the survivor, they discover he has curious wounds and, although he speaks in careful, educated English, his accent seems odd. Other clues wash ashore, and Laura soon realizes he is not who he seems to be. Despite the evidence against him, the mysterious man might provide her only chance to discover the truth about her parents' fate. With danger pursuing them from every side, and an unexpected attraction growing between them, will Laura ever find the answers she seeks?
    Show book
  • A Noble Masquerade (Hawthorne House Book #1) - cover

    A Noble Masquerade (Hawthorne...

    Kristi Ann Hunter

    • 1
    • 32
    • 0
    Sparkling Regency Romance from a Captivating New VoiceLady Miranda Hawthorne acts every inch the lady, but inside she longs to be bold and carefree. Entering her fourth Season and approaching spinsterhood in the eyes of society, she pours her innermost feelings out not in a diary but in letters to her brother's old school friend, a duke--with no intention of ever sending these private thoughts to a man she's heard stories about but never met. Meanwhile, she also finds herself intrigued by Marlow, her brother's new valet, and although she may wish to break free of the strictures that bind her, falling in love with a servant is more of a rebellion than she planned. When Marlow accidentally discovers and mails one of the letters to her unwitting confidant, Miranda is beyond mortified. And even more shocked when the duke returns her note with one of his own that initiates a courtship-by-mail. Insecurity about her lack of suitors shifts into confusion at her growing feelings for two men--one she's never met but whose words deeply resonate with her heart, and one she has come to depend on but whose behavior is more and more suspicious. When it becomes apparent state secrets are at risk and Marlow is right in the thick of the conflict, one thing is certain: Miranda's heart is far from all that's at risk for the Hawthornes and those they love.
    Show book
  • Tidewater Bride - cover

    Tidewater Bride

    Laura Frantz

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    Selah Hopewell seems to be the only woman in the Virginia colony who has no wish to wed. True, there are too many men and far too few women in James Towne. But Selah already has her hands full assisting her father in the family's shop. And now she is in charge of an incoming ship of tobacco brides who must be looked after as they sort through their many suitors. 
     
    Xander Renick is perhaps the most eligible tobacco lord in the settlement. His lands are vast, his crops are prized, and his position as a mediator between the colonists and the powerful Powhatan nation surrounding them makes him indispensable. But Xander is already wedded to his business and still grieves the loss of his wife, daughter of the Powhatan chief. 
     
    Can two fiercely independent people find happiness and fulfillment on their own? Or will they discover that what they've been missing in life has been right in front of them all along? 
     
    Bestselling and award-winning author Laura Frantz takes you to the salty shores of seventeenth-century Virginia in this exploration of pride, honor, and the restorative power of true love.
    Show book
  • The Unexpected Champion (High Sierra Sweethearts Book #3) - cover

    The Unexpected Champion (High...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    City dweller John McCall never expected to be out in the High Sierras of 1868 on a wild-goose chase to find the Chiltons' supposedly lost grandson. But now that he's out here, things have gotten even more complicated, mostly due to wildcat Penny Scott. She's not like any woman he's ever met--comfortable in the woods, with a horse, and with a gun. When Penny and John are taken against their will by a shadowy figure looking for evidence they don't have, both realize they've stumbled into something dangerous and complicated. With their friends and family desperately searching for them, Penny and John must make a daring escape. When they emerge back into the real world, they are confronted with a kidnapper who just won't stop. They must bring a powerful, ruthless man to justice, even as this city man and country woman fight a very inconvenient attraction to each other.
    Show book
  • Love Uncovered - cover

    Love Uncovered

    Diane Holiday

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Danger drives an archaeologist into the arms of her DEA agent ex-boyfriend in this romantic suspense novel for fans of Susan Stoker and Mary Burton.   Free-spirited Maddie Cooper never considered settling down—until Scott Fisher. But when the DEA agent left her with a broken heart and no forwarding address, Maddie dug in deeper with her first love: archaeology.   Scott suffered a tragic loss while on assignment and gave up on all the things that brought light to his life, including Maddie. She deserves far better than the dark, dangerous world that consumes him. Staying away from her turns out easier said than done as the man he’s chasing leads him to Maddie’s latest work site. Her spitfire attitude and impulsive nature have a habit of getting her into trouble, and her latest stunt places her in grave danger.   After a devastating break-in at her artifacts storage facility, Maddie’s shocked when Scott is assigned to the case. As if his reappearance and the burglary aren’t enough, a ruthless developer has moved to town and tries to bribe Maddie to falsify a survey. She’s determined to bring the crooked man down without any help, least of all from her former lover.    But with Maddie’s life on the line, Scott must win back the trust of the only woman he's ever loved before tragedy strikes again.    “This contemporary romance delivers electrifying heat between characters with a sprinkle of humor.”—InD’tale Magazine  “A fun, fast-paced story.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Everything but the Earl - cover

    Everything but the Earl

    Willa Ramsey

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Some loutish lords are about to learn how to treat a lady: “Witty dialogue…enjoyable reading.”—Publishers Weekly  Miss Caroline Crispin is on top of the world. But she’s about to take a painful fall… As the daughter of London’s most in-demand architect, Caro has laughed and danced and pursued her interests with gusto—free from Society’s censure. So when she overhears two lords calling her vulgar names and wagering on whose lover she’ll become, she’s shocked and stung—and determined to teach them a lesson. Though it pains her to ask for help from another brutish lord…Lord Ryland isn’t the man his father wanted him to be. But he’s about to make an excellent catch... Adam, Earl Ryland, just wants to get married and tend his country garden, away from the bucks, fops, and gossips who pester him to box like his late father. When this gentle giant meets his sister’s friend Caro—who parries his flirtations with double entendre that would make a barman blush—he’s smitten. But there’s a problem: she’s looking to him for a different sort of partnership. And it’s a risky one… “Everything But the Earl has everything you could want in a Regency romp.”—Elizabeth Essex, award-winning author of the Reckless Brides series
    Show book