Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Mockingbird - cover

Mockingbird

Walter Tevis

Publisher: RosettaBooks

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This sci-fi masterpiece is “a moral tale that has elements of Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World, Superman, and Star Wars” (Los Angeles Times Book Review).   In a world where the human population has suffered devastating losses, a handful of survivors cling to what passes for life in a post-apocalyptic, dying landscape. People wander, drugged and lulled by electronic bliss, through a barren landscape with no children, no art, and where reading is forbidden. From this bleak existence, a tragic love triangle springs forth. Spofforth, the most perfect machine ever created, runs the world, but his only wish is to die. Paul and Mary Lou are a man and a woman whose passion for each other sparks a jealousy in Spofforth—and provides the only hope for the future of human beings on Earth.   Walter Tevis, author of The Hustler, The Man Who Fell to Earth, and The Color of Money, delivers an elegiac dystopia of mankind coming to terms with its own imminent extinction.   “Because of its affirmation of such persistent human values as curiosity, courage, compassion, along with its undeniable narrative power, Mockingbird will become one of those books that coming generations will periodically rediscover with wonder and delight.” —The Washington Post
Available since: 09/29/2014.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Deep Range - cover

    The Deep Range

    Arthur C. Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A man discovers the planet’s destiny in the ocean’s depths in this near-future novel by one of the twentieth century’s greatest science fiction authors.   In the very near future, humanity has fully harnessed the sea’s immense potential, employing advanced sonar technology to control and harvest untold resources for human consumption. It is a world where gigantic whale herds are tended by submariners and vast plankton farms stave off the threat of hunger.   Former space engineer Walter Franklin has been assigned to a submarine patrol. Initially indifferent to his new station, if not bored by his daily routines, Walter soon becomes fascinated by the sea’s mysteries. The more his explorations deepen, the more he comes to understand man’s true place in nature—and the unique role he will soon play in humanity’s future.   A lasting testament to Arthur C. Clarke’s prescient and powerful imagination, The Deep Range is a classic work of science fiction that remains deeply relevant to our times.
    Show book
  • Like Stars in Heaven - cover

    Like Stars in Heaven

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After centuries of travel, an ancient log buoy finally reaches human-controlled space. In the midst of a stalemated interstellar war, the Admiralty has little interest in wasting resources on what would likely be a fruitless search for the truth, but someone was able to convince them they could afford to send an old, obsolete frigate soon destined for the scrapyard, on this quest.Pulled from her patrol route, Siobhan Dunmoore is ordered to take an envoy aboard Stingray and sail into a poorly charted and virtually unexplored region of the galaxy hidden behind interstellar dust clouds. Along the way, she'll come to the attention of an old enemy, now also relegated to the fringes of the war, turning a voyage of discovery into a race against time and against each other. Though her troubles quickly multiply, Dunmoore has faced worse odds. She's determined to bring Stingray home with its honor intact, and few are brave enough to bet against her, not even their old Shrehari foes.
    Show book
  • Wyrd Blood - cover

    Wyrd Blood

    Donna Augustine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sometimes I wonder what life was like before magic burst into existence, before the Magical War of 810 destroyed our world. What it was like before there were Wyrd Blood, or we were forced into hiding.And that's what I've been doing for years, hiding me and my crew. But that's about to end. My crew is starving and things are getting dire. When I get desperate enough to try and steal from Ryker, one of the toughest men in these parts, things go bad and my Wyrd Blood origins are outed.But it's not all bad. Ryker can help keep me alive from the mysterious illness that's been plaguing me. He can also feed my crew. The only thing I have to do in return is start another war.Contains mature themes.
    Show book
  • Saint Peter's Snow - A Novel - cover

    Saint Peter's Snow - A Novel

    Leo Perutz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A masterfully suspenseful “gem of a novel” in which a man finds himself caught between two realities (San Francisco Chronicle).   According to the medical staff, Dr. Georg Amberg has been in the hospital for five weeks, recovering from a brain hemorrhage after being run down by a car. But his memories say it’s only been five days. And little else syncs up with the official story he’s been given. The more he tries to understand what happened to him, the more questions arise: What of the violent events in the rural village of Morwede? The old woman threatening the priest with a bread knife, angry peasants with rakes and cudgels, Baron von Malchin defending his dreams for the Holy Roman Empire with a pistol—how could Dr. Amberg ignore these? And what of the secret experiment to make a mind-altering drug from a white mildew called Saint Peter’s Snow.   Leo Pertuz, much admired by Jorge Luis Borges, Italo Calvino, Ian Fleming, and Graham Greene, offers a mystery of identity and a fable of faith and political fervor. Banned by the Nazis when it was first published in 1933, Saint Peter’s Snow is an elegant novel that is taut with suspense and full of Old World irony and humor.   “Rich in narrative and erotic suspense. . . . Worth reading in any language.” —San Francisco Chronicle   “Masterly. It possesses the desperate inevitably of Edgar Allen Poe.” —The Jewish Chronicle   “Ranks with 1984 in its portrait of a manipulated populace . . . Perutz’s writing remains significant today.” —Library Journal (starred review)   “A compelling story, not only about the terrible consequences of fanaticism and delusion, but also about the reluctance to accept their existence. . . . A timeless tale.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Screenplay - cover

    Screenplay

    Johnny B. Truant, Avery Blake

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    You can't believe your eyes. 
    Good things come to those who wait. That’s what Annie’s always believed.  
    It’s why, when her fiancé Keith launched his nanotech company, Annie set aside law school to help. It’s why she went all-in, trusting the company’s success to make her degree moot. Law school was for her mother anyway. After Rebirth goes public, she and Keith will be rich enough to do whatever they want … like working on her award-winning student screenplay — the real dream she gave up to grow the business. 
    But with the finish line in sight (and creative dreams dancing in Annie’s head), Keith starts to act suspiciously. He’s been spending a lot of time with his attractive lawyer, working late nights. After all the lean years and sacrifices, it’s just not fair. Keith would never cheat, would he? But if not, why is he acting like a cheater?  
    Annie isn’t usually vengeful, but her hand’s been forced. She faces a decision: Should she let Keith play her like a sucker, or should she be strong like the heroine of her screenplay? Should she sit by like a chump … or make a deal with Rebirth’s competitors to get what she deserves? 
    In the heat of an affair, nothing is what it seems — and Hell hath no fury like an artist scorned.  
    Screenplay is the fourth book in Version Control, a new series that investigates what happens when our technology outpaces our ethics. Perfect for fans of Black Mirror and The Twilight Zone. 
    Show book
  • The Clone Republic [Dramatized Adaptation] - cover

    The Clone Republic [Dramatized...

    Steven L. Kent

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Earth, 2508 A.D. Humans have spread across the six arms of the Milky Way Galaxy. The Unified Authority controls Earth's colonies with an iron fist and a powerful military-a military made up almost entirely of clones...  Private first-class Wayson Harris was raised in a U.A. orphanage among thousands of clones born and bred as the ultimate soldiers. But Harris isn't like the other Marines: he has a mind of his own. He figures he's paying for that independent streak when his first assignment out of boot camp is the smallest Marine outpost in the whole U.A.  When a rogue general surfaces, the remote desert world Harris thought was a dead-end posting becomes anything but. Fighting off the general's raid gains Harris a promotion. But it also brings him to the attention of some unfriendly U.A. leaders. They have their own plans for the military-plans Harris disrupts by his very existence. For in an army of clones, the one unforgivable sin is to be different...
    Show book