Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Wright & Wrong - A Rafferty PI Mystery - cover

Wright & Wrong - A Rafferty PI Mystery

W. Glenn Duncan Jr.

Publisher: d squared publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Bradley Wright and two friends terrorized their high school.
 
Rafferty watched the whole thing go down, clear as day. It’s as open and shut as he’s ever seen.
 
So why does the killer’s mother want him on the case?
 
Rafferty couldn’t do anything but stand and watch as Bradley Wright and two friends terrorized their high school; unable to do a damn thing until it was already too late.
 
Two of the killers are dead, Bradley’s on life-support, and if he ever wakes up the cops will be right there waiting to make sure he pays the ultimate price for the crime.
 
After what he witnessed, Rafferty can live with that.
 
So, when Bradley’s mother knocks on the office door and asks him to help prove her son’s innocence, Rafferty’s first reaction is to tell the lady to go to hell.
 
On the other hand, getting paid good money to poke around the edges of an open and shut case?
 
It almost sounds too easy …
 
How far will Rafferty go to make sure that justice is served?
 
——————————————————————————
 
In the tradition of the best pulp thrillers, WRIGHT & WRONG is the eighth book in the Rafferty: P.I. mystery series.
 
Rafferty’s a Dallas P.I. and an ex-cop who spent enough time on the streets to understand how things work.
 
He may quote Latin occasionally, smoke too much, and be a cynical sonofabitch, but when the shit hits the fan and you need someone you can trust, you’ll be glad you called Rafferty.
 
If you take your mysteries hardboiled, drizzled with pulp, and an extra helping of wise-cracking tough talk, you’ll love Rafferty: P.I.
 
Buy WRIGHT & WRONG today and continue the series readers are saying is “… on my list of great private eye writers along with Kinky Friedman, Elmore Leonard, and Lawrence Sanders.”
 
——————————————————————————
 
Praise for Rafferty: P.I.
 
“If you like Parker’s Spenser, or Robert Crais’ Elvis Cole you should love the Rafferty series.” - Mark A. Johnson.
 
“Sometimes it seemed W. Glenn Duncan's Texas P.I. Rafferty had a rule for everything, but the fact remains that most of them were a hoot. And, of course, a further irony is that "Rafferty's Rules" is, in fact, an Australian football term for "no rules at all.” - Thrilling Detective Website
 
“I have all of the Rafferty titles in my collection. I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff over the years, but the Rafferty books are a mainstay. I think they're terrific!” - Paul Bishop - Author of LIE CATCHERS
 
“Duncan truly captured the pure essence of the definitive smart-ass private eye in his character Rafferty. Take part Sam Spade with a little Mike Hammer, mix in some Spenser and you have an awesome character.” - Cliff Fausset
 
“At first sniff, it may smell like Spenser with a cowboy hat, but take a good whiff: W. Glenn Duncan's Dallas, Texas private eye RAFFERTY was actually a blast of fresh air in what was rapidly becoming a glut of sensitive, soul-searching, overly politically-correct cookie cutter P.I.s in the late eighties. Of course, it helps that Dallas ain't Boston.” - Kevin Burton Smith

Other books that might interest you

  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 4
    • 5
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • A Lonely Death - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    A Lonely Death - An Inspector...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Todd’s Ian Rutledge mysteries are among the most intelligent and affecting being written these days.”—Washington Post 
    Critics have called Charles Todd’s historical mystery series featuring shell-shocked World War One veteran Inspector Ian Rutledge “remarkable” (New York Times Book Review), “heart-breaking” (Chicago Tribune), “fresh and original” (South Florida Sun-Sentinel). In A Lonely Death, the haunted investigator is back in action, trying to solve the murders of three ex-soldiers in a small English village. A true master of evocative and atmospheric British crime fiction, Charles Todd reaches breathtaking new heights with A Lonely Death—a thrilling tale of the darkness in men’s souls that will have fans of Elizabeth George, Martha Grimes, and Anne Perry cheering. 
     
    Show book
  • The Red Door - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    The Red Door - An Inspector Ian...

    Charles Todd

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    “One of the best historical series being written today.”—Washington Post Book World The accolades keep pouring in for Charles Todd and his New York Times Notable, Edgar® Award-nominated series featuring British police inspector and shell-shocked World War I veteran Ian Rutledge. In The Red Door, a disturbing puzzle surrounding a lie, a disappearance, and a woman’s death ensnares the haunted investigator. Richly atmospheric and unputdownable, The Red Door proves once more that New York Times bestseller Charles Todd belongs in the august company of Ruth Rendell, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, Ian Ransom, Peter Robinson, P.D. James, and the other contemporary masters of British mystery.
    Show book
  • River of Lies - cover

    River of Lies

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    In rain-drenched Vancouver, detectives Dion and Leith work to separate truth from lies in two seemingly unrelated cases. 
     
    
    
    February is the month of romance, but in North Vancouver it’s also become the month of murder. While the North Shore RCMP slog through the rain in the search for whoever left a young woman to die in the Riverside Secondary School parking lot — their first clue a Valentine’s Day card — a toddler mysteriously vanishes from a Riverside Drive home in the midst of a dinner party. 
     
    
    
    With Constable JD Temple's full attention on the parking lot murder, Constables Dave Leith and Cal Dion work the kidnap … until a tenuous connection is made between the two cases, along with the thinnest ray of hope that the child could be alive and well in the hands of a childless couple. But when more tragedy rains down on the North Shore, lies must be unveiled before the ugly truth can emerge.
    Show book
  • Long Silence The - A 1920s' Hollywood noir mystery - cover

    Long Silence The - A 1920s'...

    Gerard O'Donovan

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing Irish-born cop turned private investigator Tom Collins in the first of a brand-new historical mystery series. February, 1922.  Hollywood is young but already mired in scandal. When a leading movie director is murdered, Irish-American investigator Tom Collins is called in by studio boss Mack Sennett, whose troubled star, Mabel Normand, is rumoured to be involved.But Normand has gone missing.  And, as Collins discovers, there’s a growing list of suspects.  His quest leads him through the brutal heart of Prohibition-era Los Angeles, from speakeasies and dope dens to the studios and salons of Hollywood’s fabulously wealthy movie elite, and to a secret so explosive it must be kept silent at any cost … Inspired by the unsolved real-life murder of movie director William Desmond Taylor, The Long Silence is the first in a richly evocative, instantly compelling series of new noir mysteries set in Hollywood’s early days.
    Show book
  • In the Company of Fools - cover

    In the Company of Fools

    Tania Bayard

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A baby abandoned in the palace gardens leads scribe sleuth Christine de Pizan into a mystery involving murder, superstition and scandal in fourteenth-century France.
    
    Paris, 1396. Scribe Christine de Pizan is shocked when the Duke of Orleans' fools find a baby, wrapped in rags and covered in sores, abandoned in the palace gardens. Was there really a wicked plan to substitute the child for the queen's own baby daughter and blame the Duchess of Orleans, Valentina Visconti? Who would commit such an evil act, and why?
    
    
    Accused of being a sorceress, Valentina is the victim of much slander and has powerful enemies at the palace, where rumours of witchcraft and superstition run riot. Convinced of the duchess's innocence, Christine is determined to uncover the truth, and soon makes a number of disturbing discoveries. Could the palace fools be the key to unlocking the mystery?
    Show book