Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Pagan - A Novel - cover

Pagan - A Novel

W. F. Morris

Publisher: Casemate Publishers

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The horrors of World War I continue to haunt two veterans on holiday in 1930s France in this “stirring” novel (Books Monthly).   In the War to End All Wars, Charles Pagan and Dick Baron fought side by side and survived the slaughter. Over a decade later, they return to France not as soldiers but as tourists, taking a serene walking holiday through the Vosges Mountains.   But their idyll soon turns dark when they stay at a remote country guesthouse. The locals are secretive and frightened, breaking their silence only to warn the visitors against visiting an old battlefield nearby. Having seen many such fields under fire, Pagan and Baron consider such apprehensions nonsense—until one night when Pagan thinks he’s glimpsed an apparition on the moonlit battlefield . . .

Other books that might interest you

  • Dare - cover

    Dare

    Erin Lee, Sara Schoen

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Dare 
    A horrific romantic suspense 
    by 
    Sara Schoen 
    Erin Lee 
    The truth is that Amber Colbright has waited her entire life for a guy like Reese Shaw. Fresh out of college and ready to start a new chapter, the couple has big plans for a serious life together. Recently engaged, they are off to a great start with decent jobs and an even better first home. But the real world isn’t so simple. 
    In order to play with the big kids you have to get a little dirty. It’s the first life lesson she’s learned since the day Amber received an anonymous message from a cyber stalker with the initials ‘TD’ who claims to have Reese in captivity. Play with me. 
    The kidnapper’s demands are simple: No police. No help. No harm. 
    “Just a little game of Truth or Dare and you can have your life back.” 
    At first, it seems like a joke. But when Reese doesn’t return from a mandatory job training on the coast, everything changes. Caught in a twisted game for the cyber stalker’s amusement, Amber must throw away everything she’s learned about caution. First, comes the private chat room. Next is the live stream video where her fiancé begs her to just “play along.” 
    Last, Amber must ultimately decide whether or not to take the final taunt. 
    “It’s easy,” TD swears: I dare you. Come find me…
    Show book
  • My Maggie Valentine - Maggie MacKay: Holiday Special #3 - cover

    My Maggie Valentine - Maggie...

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Valentine's Day is terrible.  Especially when you're Maggie MacKay and tasked with chaperoning the local high school Valentine's dance.  Join Maggie and Killian on a holiday, short story adventure.  Sometimes you wrestle with demons.  And sometimes they just want to cuddle...
    Show book
  • Original Death - A Mystery of Colonial America - cover

    Original Death - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite the raging war between French and British, Scottish exile Duncan McCallum has begun to settle into a new life on the fringes of colonial America, traveling the woodlands with his companion Conawago, even joining the old Indian on his quest to find the last surviving members of his tribe. But the joy they feel on reaching the little settlement of Christian Indians is shattered when they find its residents ritually murdered. As terrible as the deaths may be, Conawago perceives something even darker and more alarming: he is convinced they are a sign of a terrible crisis in the spiritworld which he must resolve.Trying to make sense of the murders, Duncan is accused by the British army of the crime. Escaping prison to follow the trail of evidence, he finds himself hounded by vengeful soldiers and stalked by Scottish rebels who are mysteriously trying to manipulate the war to their advantage. As he pieces together the puzzle of violence and deception he gradually realizes that it may not only be the lives of Duncan and his friends that hang in the balance, but the very survival of the native tribes. When he finally discovers the terrible truth, Duncan is forced to make a fateful choice between his beloved Highland clans and the woodland natives who have embraced and protected him.
    Show book
  • The Red House - A Keene and Frohmann Mystery - cover

    The Red House - A Keene and...

    Emily Winslow

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the author of Look For Her 
    “Emily Winslow is a precise and expert analyst of the darkest parts of the human psyche.” 
       — Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of Closed Casket 
    Maxwell’s fiancée, Imogen, is obsessed with her idyllic childhood in Cambridge, England, which was cut short by her parents’ deaths at a young age, causing her and her siblings to be adopted by different families. With plans to move back there, the young couple travel to the city together, where Imogen’s excitement is offset by Max’s deeply unsettling déjà vu: despite having no history there, something about Cambridge is all too familiar. As the wedding planning begins and Imogen’s preoccupation with her lost younger brother intensifies, Maxwell is forced to consider that he may actually be Imogen’s missing brother. Worse, he fears that she may already know that he is, and be marrying him anyway. 
    Meanwhile, Detective Chief Inspector Morris Keene languishes at home, struggling with a debilitating injury and post-traumatic stress, and his former partner, Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann, investigates a suicide case in which Morris’ daughter is suspected of having a hand. When buried skeletons are discovered next to an old barn, the suicide is linked back to Imogen’s childhood, revealing horrors of the past and triggering new dangers in the present. 
    The third book by talented author Emily Winslow and featuring Cambridgeshire detectives Morris Keene and Chloe Frohmann, The Red House is a suspenseful and skillfully written mystery, twisting and unraveling in deft and unusual ways as the simultaneous investigations raise the question: for how long can you call your findings pure coincidence?  
     
     
    Show book
  • The Thirteenth Santa (A Rebecca Mayfield Novella) - The Rebecca Mayfield Mysteries - cover

    The Thirteenth Santa (A Rebecca...

    Joanne Pence

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Santa isn't always a saint... 
    When Santa Claus lies dead and flattened (as if he'd fallen from his sleigh) in the middle of a mall on Christmas Eve, San Francisco Homicide Inspector Rebecca Mayfield is on the case. As she attempts to track down a van full of Santas creating havoc throughout San Francisco, a stranger pops up to help her solve the crime…and bring her some much-needed Christmas cheer. 
    This brief novella introduces a new mystery duo. Look for their first full-length mystery novel, ONE O'CLOCK HUSTLE.
    Show book
  • A Child's Garden of Death - cover

    A Child's Garden of Death

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A children’s book author and his wife investigate an impossible murder that’s over thirty years old in this intelligent, absorbing small-town thriller. Murphysville hasn’t seen a triple homicide since the Indian raids. But when an anonymous tip sends police investigators digging in a remote field, they find three rotting skeletons. One of them is missing an arm and another is that of a child who died with a doll clutched to her chest, the only clue to the grisly murders. Clearly, life in  Lyon Wentworth’s cozy Connecticut suburb is far darker than it once seemed.   A children’s book author and hot-air balloonist, Lyon has a personal stake in this unsolved crime: He lost a little girl long ago. With the help of his wife, Bea, a no-nonsense state senator who’s losing her hearing but not her quick wit, Lyon pursues the investigation even after the police pronounce the cold case impossible to solve. Lyon and Bea will find justice for the girl who died in the ditch—or they’ll die trying.   Richard Forrest’s thrillers are uniquely realistic, showing ordinary people grappling with horrible crimes. This gripping page-turner introduced the world to Lyon and Bea Wentworth, a husband-and-wife sleuthing team in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett’s Nick and Nora Charles.   A Child’s Garden of Death is the 1st book in the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book