As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced

Other books that might interest you

  • Only the River - A Novel - cover

    Only the River - A Novel

    Anne Raeff

    • 0
    • 20
    • 1
    For fans of sweeping historical and family sagas like those by Michael Ondaatje, Sarah Blake, or Claire Lombardo's recent debut, The Most Fun We've Ever Had, as well as for fans of Anthony Marra or Anthony Doerr, and fans of Jewish historical fiction
    Anne Raeff tells her story not in linear time, but instead by weaving into her chapters the different families' generations, exploring the parallels and echoes between them; the structure is ambitious, and the award-winning author pulls it off
    Raeff always writes about exiles in her fiction, beginning with the Flannery O'Connor Award-winning story collection The Jungle Around Us. In Only the River, this theme becomes deeply personal, as Raeff draws from aspects of her own grandparents' history of fleeing Vienna
    A compelling, engrossing read perfect for book clubs, with moving characters who charm, complicated family relationships (including among mothers and their children, siblings, and second families rebuilding after the loss of their first), and vivid settings that range from the Soviet Union to a remote riverside village in Nicaragua, to New York City
    Raeff's fiction so brilliantly reads like real experience, lyrically, intimately attentive to the wide variety of lives at hand: hers are often queer characters, mixed race characters, New Yorkers who move back and forth between English and Spanish; they are people the reader quickly feels at home with, swept up in their worlds
    In the 1930s and 1940s, not all Jews fled the persecution of the Nazis to North America from Europe; instead, some Jews landed in Central and South America first. Only the River follows the reverberations of one Jewish family's flight to Nicaruagua, before they move on to Manhattan. 
    Raeff lives in the Bay Area, CA
    Acquired by Counterpoint editor in chief, Dan Smetanka
    
     
    Bookseller Praise for Only the River
    
     
    "This book delighted me by both its elegance and its excellence. The story begins and ends with Pepa, whose doctor parents escaped Nazi persecution and fled with her to Nicaragua. As a teen, she flourished and fell in love with Guillermo, only to be uprooted again to New York. Over the ensuing years, their family's lives continue to entwine with neither Pepa nor Guillermo knowing all that the reader knows. Though the book is only three hundred pages, it's a feast." —Susan Buschmann, Anderson's Bookshop (Naperville, IL)
    
     
    "Spanning the world from Vienna to Nicaragua to New York, Only the River is a love story, and a story of revolution, as well as what happens when a family moves to avoid trouble but ends up causing pain and anger. I felt for Pepa—being moved around without her consent and losing the young love of her life. The side story of her parents’ attempts to rid the small town of El Castillo of the yellow fever plaguing the area near San Juan River was insightful and went a ways toward forgiving them for taking Pepa away from her love. This story is focused on family trials as well as current world affairs. I learned a lot and you will, too, while you enjoy the skill and insight displayed by this award-winning author." —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)
    
     
    "Loved it!" —Anne Holman, The King's English Bookshop (Salt Lake City, UT)
    Show book
  • Resistance Women - A Novel - cover

    Resistance Women - A Novel

    Jennifer Chiaverini

    • 0
    • 12
    • 1
    One of BookBub's best historical novels of the year and Oprah magazine's buzziest books of the month.  
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, an enthralling historical saga that recreates the danger, romance, and sacrifice of an era and brings to life one courageous, passionate American—Mildred Fish Harnack—and her circle of women friends who waged a clandestine battle against Hitler in Nazi Berlin. 
     
    After Wisconsin graduate student Mildred Fish marries brilliant German economist Arvid Harnack, she accompanies him to his German homeland, where a promising future awaits. In the thriving intellectual culture of 1930s Berlin, the newlyweds create a rich new life filled with love, friendships, and rewarding work—but the rise of a malevolent new political faction inexorably changes their fate.  
    As Adolf Hitler and his Nazi Party wield violence and lies to seize power, Mildred, Arvid, and their friends resolve to resist. Mildred gathers intelligence for her American contacts, including Martha Dodd, the vivacious and very modern daughter of the US ambassador. Her German friends, aspiring author Greta Kuckoff and literature student Sara Weitz, risk their lives to collect information from journalists, military officers, and officials within the highest levels of the Nazi regime.  
    For years, Mildred’s network stealthily fights to bring down the Third Reich from within. But when Nazi radio operatives detect an errant Russian signal, the Harnack resistance cell is exposed, with fatal consequences.  
    Inspired by actual events, Resistance Women is an enthralling, unforgettable story of ordinary people determined to resist the rise of evil, sacrificing their own lives and liberty to fight injustice and defend the oppressed.
    Show book
  • Vampires Are Forever - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampires Are Forever - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 16
    • 0
    Inez Urso is beginning to have her doubts. Her business associate Thomas Argeneau has some interesting traits, like an allergic reaction to the sun, excellent night vision, and not much of an appetite for food. And to top it all off, he just tried to bite her neck . . . but maybe that was a sign of passion. If so, she'd be happy to experience more, despite her determination not to mix business with pleasure. 
    Well, if not forever, at least two hundred years. Inez is the most beautiful woman he's seen in centuries. Those luscious lips, seductive curves, and her elegant neck . . . he just couldn't resist the temptation of one little bite. Now Thomas will do anything to convince her that only an immortal like him can satisfy her all night long . . .
    Show book
  • Meow - cover

    Meow

    Skye MacKinnon

    • 4
    • 17
    • 0
    Assassin. Private Investigator. Cat shifter.
     
    Kat is used to killing people, but for a blank cheque, she's willing to do the opposite and help solve a murder - even though it sounds boring as hell. That is, until she finds some body parts in her fridge, makes friends with the neighbourhood cats and realises there may be an assassin better than her…
     
    Suddenly, things have become purrfectly exciting.
     
    An urban fantasy full of cats, secrets and murders. This is a slow-burn reverse harem where Kat will find her love interests over time. Book one in the Catnip Assassins series.
    Show book
  • Glory Road - cover

    Glory Road

    Lauren K. Denton

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    As three generations of women navigate the uncertain paths of their hearts and futures, one summer promises to bring change—whether they’re ready for it or not. 
    At thirty-eight, garden shop owner Jessie McBride thinks her chances for romance are years behind her and, after her failed marriage, she’s fine with that. She lives contentedly with her fiery mother and her quiet, headstrong daughter. But the unexpected arrival of two men on Glory Road make her question if she’s really happy with the status quo. Handsome, wealthy Sumner Tate asks her to arrange flowers for his daughter’s wedding, and Jessie finds herself drawn to his continued attention. And Ben Bradley, her lingering what-could-have-been from high school days who’s known her better than anyone and whom she hasn’t seen in years, moves back to the red dirt road. Jessie finds her heart being pulled in directions she never expected. 
    Meanwhile, Jessie’s fourteen-year-old daughter, Evan, is approaching the start of high school and trying to navigate a new world of identity and emotions—particularly as they relate to the cute new guy who’s moved in just down the road. At the same time, Jessie’s mother, Gus, increasingly finds herself forgetful and faces a potentially frightening future. 
    In one summer, everything will change. But for these three strong Southern women, the roots they’ve planted on Glory Road will give life to the adventures waiting just around the curve. 
    Praise for Glory Road: 
    “Brims with family, second chances, and new horizons.” —Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours 
    “Rich colorful characters capturing my heart, combined with a story that kept me up till the wee hours, Glory Road is a perfect read. Lauren Denton has done it again!” —Lisa Patton, bestselling author of Rush and Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’easter 
    “Once again Lauren Denton brings her lyrical writing and compelling characters to a story that will enthrall readers from page one.” —Marybeth Mayhew Whalen, author of Only Ever Her and co-founder of She Reads, for Glory Road
    Show book
  • One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 18
    • 0
    No one does wickedly funny and irresistibly steamy like New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands—especially in this red-hot romance between a reluctant vampire and the beauty who needs his help. 
    Luck be a vampire tonight . . . 
    When Nicole Phillips agreed to hire a housekeeper, she pictured someone a little frumpy and almost certainly female. Instead, she gets gorgeous, unmistakably male Jake Colson. The man is proving indispensable in the kitchen—and everywhere else. Except Jake might not be a mortal man at all. 
    . . . and every night 
    Who wouldn't want to be a tall, dark, powerful vampire?Jake, for one. He's barely had time to adjust to his newstate before he's roped into a family favor. Still, secretly playing bodyguard to sweet, sexy Nicole is turning out to be the wildest ride of his life. First, he'll put a stop to whoever's targeting her. Then he'll prove that this kind of love, and luck, happens only once in an eternity.
    Show book