Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Once in a Blue Moon - cover

Once in a Blue Moon

Vicki Covington

Publisher: Blair

  • 0
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

Abraham Kasir has properties scattered across Birmingham, but the ones on Cullom Street hold a special place in his heart. So does his newest tenant, Landon Cooper, a transplant from one of the city’s ritzier suburbs. Landon’s a psychologist managing her own mental illness in the face of divorce and downsizing. Her upstairs neighbor, Abi, is a country girl trying to shake her rural roots even as her father’s illness pulls her back home. Across the street, Jet is a former prostitute reeling from an uncovered truth about her birth mother. Jet has a crush on her neighbor Sam, a weed dealer paying his way through college and wrestling with his dreams for the future. Mr. Kasir acts not just as a landlord but as a father figure to each of them—and most of all to his grandson, Jason. Fresh out of high school, Jason is trying to follow in his grandfather’s footsteps while his own father struggles with drug addiction.

 
These are the voices in Once in a Blue Moon, Vicki Covington’s new novel set during Barack Obama’s first presidential campaign. Change is in the air as readers follow this community through one transformative year. In league with other great Southern novelists including Anne Tyler and Fannie Flagg, Covington writes with tenderness and humor while asking important questions about family, faith, race, class, and—ultimately—hope.
 
Vicki Covington was born and grew up in Birmingham, Alabama. Her previous work includes the novels Gathering Home, Bird of Paradise, Night Ride Home, and The Last Hotel for Women and the memoir Cleaving: The Story of a Marriage with Dennis Covington. She wrote a column for Oxford American and has also written for The New Yorker. The recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Alabama State Council for the Arts, she now resides in Lubbock, Texas.
 
“It’s wonderful to have a new Vicki Covington novel to recommend. Once in a Blue Moon tells the story of a little community of lost souls who find each other in a season when hope and change seemed like real possibilities. This is a lovely book, full of delight and real feeling. I can’t think of another quite like it.”—Mark Childress, author of Crazy in Alabama and Georgia Bottoms

Other books that might interest you

  • The Perfect Girl - A Novel - cover

    The Perfect Girl - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    The New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew returns with an electrifying new novel about how the past will always find us... 
    "Literary suspense at its finest.”—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Baby 
    “A wonderfully addictive book with virtuoso plotting and characters - for anyone who loved Girl on the Train, it’s a must read.” 
       — Rosamund Lupton 
    Zoe Maisey is a seventeen-year-old musical prodigy with a genius IQ. Three years ago, she was involved in a tragic incident that left three classmates dead. She served her time, and now her mother, Maria, is resolved to keep that devastating fact tucked far away from their new beginning, hiding the past even from her new husband and demanding Zoe do the same.   
    Tonight Zoe is giving a recital that Maria has been planning for months. It needs to be the performance of her life. But instead, by the end of the evening, Maria is dead.  
    In the aftermath, everyone—police, family, Zoe’s former solicitor, and Zoe herself—tries to piece together what happened. But as Zoe knows all too well, the truth is rarely straightforward, and the closer we are to someone, the less we may see.
    Show book
  • Father Sweet - cover

    Father Sweet

    J.J. Martin

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A shocking tale of secrets, guilt, and clerical child abuse. 
     
    
    
    “God has made you special, but I will show you how to have an extraordinary life. Show you true love, as God intended for our kind.” 
     
    
    
    It’s 1978. Blackburn Hamlet is a typical suburban village in eastern Ontario. In this vibrant Catholic community, life revolves around family and church. Then the safe comfort of both is destroyed by the arrival of a predator priest. 
     
    
    When charismatic Father Sweet invites his new favourite altar boy on a camping trip, the boy’s parents insist he go. Trapped in the woods, the boy struggles to evade the priest’s sexual advances. But Father Sweet forces him to make an impossible choice. 
     
    
    Twenty-five years later, he is lost, broken, and angry. His father’s death reveals secrets that spur the man to relive his own past. Desiring justice, in need of healing, he discovers, in a daring rescue mission, a way to achieve both.
    Show book
  • Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold murder mystery - cover

    Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold...

    Stella Cameron

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Second in the traditional British mystery series featuring rural inn owner and amateur sleuth Alex Duggins: an intriguing departure for bestselling romantic suspense author Stella Cameron.
    
    Once again Alex Duggins and her veterinarian friend Tony Harrison are thrown into a major murder investigation. An almost fresh body is discovered in a disused well among the ruins of a 14th-century manor house … the motive for the killing a baffling mystery. The victim was a widow who had lived quietly in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Folly-on-Weir for the past ten years. Who on earth could want her dead, and by such brutal means?
    
    As rumour and speculation engulf the town, another woman is attacked – and Alex  discovers that behind a tranquil face lurks a cunning and vengeful mind. Despite warnings from the police to stop interfering, she finds herself in the sights of a ruthless killer who has decided she knows too much … 
     
    The Alex Duggins series will appeal to fans of Louise Penny and Elizabeth George.
    Show book
  • The Apollo Deception - cover

    The Apollo Deception

    Mitch Silver

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Gary Stephens is brought into a government-sanctioned cover-up when he discovers that his father helped fake the Apollo 11 moon landing in the 1960s.
    After China announce a space mission to place their own flag next to the one US astronauts planted during the Apollo 11 mission, few people bat an eyelid. Shortly after this statement Charlie Stephens, a 81-year-old former filmmaker, is murdered. The incident is made to look like an accident, but why?
    Going through his father’s effects, Gary Stephens – a director of beer and yogurt ads – discovers seven cans of old 35mm film. Dated before the landing, they’re identical to the footage NASA claims was shot by the Apollo 11 crew. The US flag is not and has never been in the Sea of Tranquillity, and only Tricky Dick and a handful of others knew it. 
    Why was the real nature of the Apollo 11 mission kept hidden? And what measures will be taken to keep the secret buried?
    Show book
  • The Doom List - cover

    The Doom List

    Gerard O'Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Doom List – you'd rather be dead than be on it: the intriguing new 1920s mystery featuring Irish-born cop turned private investigator Tom Collins.
    
    July, 1922. Newly-appointed 'movie czar' William H. Hays is about to arrive in town on a single-minded mission to clean up Hollywood. He is said to be compiling a list of 'undesirables' whom he plans to bar from screen work. They call it the Doom List.
    
    With the industry in the grip of fear and paranoia, Hollywood's hottest young director Rex Ingram is determined that no hint of scandal should mar the premiere of his new movie, The Prisoner of Zenda, and hires private investigator Tom Collins, a fellow Irishman, with instructions to protect his leading lady's reputation at all costs. But, as Collins discovers, Barbara La Marr isn't the only member of the cast hiding a dangerous secret.
    
    Meanwhile, a body is discovered in the Baldwin Hills to the south of the city. Could there be a connection? Against his better judgement, Collins is drawn into a case of scandal, forbidden love, blackmail . . . and cold-blooded murder.
    Show book
  • The King's Beast - A Mystery of the American Revolution - cover

    The King's Beast - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When Duncan McCallum is asked by Benjamin Franklin to retrieve an
    astonishing cache of fossils from the Kentucky wilderness, his excitement
    as a naturalist blinds him to his treacherous path. His journey to deliver
    the fossils to Franklin in London becomes a nightmare of deceit and violence as he seeks the cryptic link between the bones of the American incognitum and the king. Duncan’s last desperate hope for survival, and the rescue of his aged native friend Conawago—imprisoned in Bedlam—requires the help of freed slaves, an aristocratic maiden, a band of street urchins, and the gods of his tribal allies.
    Show book