Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
False Account - cover

False Account

Heley Veronica

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The mysterious deaths of two adored cats plunges Bea into the disturbing goings-on of the Tredgold family in the latest Abbot Agency mystery.

Wealthy Marcia Tredgold and her daughter, Charlotte, want Bea Abbot to find them replacements for staff who have left under a cloud. Bea discovers that all those dismissed were close to Marcia Tredgold, and senses that something is not right. Were they framed, and if so by whom – and why? 

Even more curiously, when Marcia Tredgold gets Bea alone, she asks her to find out who killed her two cats. Bea resists becoming involved in the strange goings-on at the Tredgold mansion, until a shocking event leads her to worry about Marcia’s safety. Could the cats’ deaths be linked to other disturbing events? And whose account can be trusted in the web of secrets and lies which has been spun around the family? In her quest to uncover the truth, Bea’s own safety is put at risk.

Other books that might interest you

  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book
  • The Magdalene Scrolls - cover

    The Magdalene Scrolls

    Barbara Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    - Bestselling author: Barbara Wood is a New York Times bestselling author with a prolific backlist and frontlist that is critically-acclaimed and followed by a large readership.
    
    - Author's first novel: The Magdalene Scrolls is New York Times bestselling author Barbara Wood's first novel and was previously out of print. Barbara Wood's large fanbase should be excited to see her first book back in print for the first time in many years.
    Show book
  • Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of Memory - cover

    Sidney Sheldon's The Tides of...

    Sidney Sheldon, Tilly Bagshawe

    • 2
    • 41
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe, who delivered the late beloved author’s brilliance in Sidney Sheldon’s After the Darkness, is back with a stunning tale of duplicity and vengeance in Sidney Sheldon’s The Tides of Memory. 
    The members of the formidable and captivating De Vere family of London live enviable lives in the world’s most powerful and desirable places, from London’s poshest neighborhoods to influential boardrooms. But when old secrets begin to unravel and threaten everything the De Veres have worked for, the ramifications are deadly. 
    Bagshawe upholds Sheldon’s legacy with a blistering story of revenge, passion, and betrayal in a book that is quintessential Sheldon.
    Show book
  • Taking the Fifth - cover

    Taking the Fifth

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “J.A. Jance does not disappoint.”—Washington Times The Chattanooga Times calls New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance, “One of the best—if not the best,” and this classic suspense masterwork featuring Seattle investigator J.P. Beaumont emphatically proves the point. In Taking the Fifth, a gruesome and very unusual murder plunges the intrepid Beau into a lethal cinematic nightmare. Michigan’s Flint Journal places Jance “in the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell.” Taking the Fifth, now in a Premium Plus edition, is an ideal opportunity for fans of the author’s Sheriff Joanna Brady books to discover another side to the incomparable J.A. Jance.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 67
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Crisis at the Cathedral - cover

    Crisis at the Cathedral

    Jeanne M. Dams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When a wealthy Iraqi couple disappear following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, American Anglophile Dorothy Martin investigates.When Dorothy Martin and her husband Alan meet the wealthy Ahmad family, they are charmed by their courtesy, their perfect English, their delightful children and their commitment to peace. Following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, the Ahmads offer to host a party afterwards at the Rose and Crown pub.But Mr and Mrs Ahmad don’t show up. Their children are asleep upstairs at the inn, but the parents are nowhere to be found . . .With suspicions of kidnap and even murder being raised, Dorothy and Alan feel compelled to assist the police and MI5 in their efforts to find their new friends, a search that will take them to London and the murky world of big business, politics and even terrorism . . .
    Show book