Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
POETRY FOR ST VALENTINE'S DAY - 91 poems for the lovestruck - cover

POETRY FOR ST VALENTINE'S DAY - 91 poems for the lovestruck

Various Various, Compiled by Tom Hall

Publisher: Abela Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A GREAT READ  FOR THE ROMANTIC SOULS OF THIS WORLD, especially for St. Valentine’s day!

The verse in this volume were  selected from works that had appeared in various periodicals of the time, LIFE, TRUTH, TOWN TOPICS, VOGUE, and MUNSEY'S MAGAZINE during the five years 1893-1898, the 19th C’s Romantic period,  and whose editors kindly gave Tom Hall permission to republish them. So popular was this collection of poetry, that it had at least six print runs.

This volume is made up of two parts. The first contains the more serious poetry of the heart and the second part more light hearted and sometimes comical poems about love. However, of special mention are “In Old Madrid” and on amore light hearted note “A Slight Surprise”. But these are not just poems for the young, for love belongs to all ages. Here we recommend “Love’s Return” about a grey haired man whose heart is bursting because he has found love again at a later stage in life; and never fear , if you have been rejected or if your heart has been broken by a love lost to another, there is a poem for you too. Here we recommend “Hard Hit”, “Rejected” and “What It Is”.
We ask you to be aware that these poems were penned over one hundred years ago and the protocols for dating and courting in the 19th C. were vastly different to those of today. So, when reading these poems to your loved one, think Jane Austen, Mr Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet and you’re sure to deliver the prose with all the meaning intended and with a degree of elegance missing from the current age. Oh, don’t forget the chocolates, roses and champagne, for they, with the reciting of a romantic poem are sure to win over an unsure heart.

NOTE: The contents of this volume are not related to the 1920 silent movie, of a similar name, neither is it related to the 1981 novel, also of a similar name. It is quite simply a collection of ninety-one enjoyable, short poems which relate to matters of the heart. Some are solemn and others more jovial in nature, and, with the exception of one or two, all are one page or less in length which makes for an easy and pleasant read.

This volume has been especially produced to help raise funds for that charity of charities. So buy a copy and be assured that 10% of the profit from the sale of this book will be donated to a worthwhile cause.
===============
TAGS: Poetry, poems, Verse, romance, romantic, st valentines, st. valentine’s, day, roses, chocolates, champagne, kings, queens, bowers, Perfect Face, Moonlight Sonata, Kiss, smooch, snog, lips, Bride, love, Rose From Her Hair, Blush, Blood On The Rose, Old Madrid, Duel, Shroud, Return, Wish, Serenade, Rose In Her Hair, Reverie, Beauty, Dream, Return, Hyacinth, dance, waltz, Farewell, Valentine, Hard Hit, Rejected, rejection, jokers, heart, Ingratitude, resolve, Resolution, Girl, woman, women, Hero, Sweet, Summer, Pew, Suspicious Lover, Afraid, Tantalize, tantalise, no, Uncertainty, Youth, Bachelor, man, men, Discovered, Midsummer Night, Tempest, Gallant, Vanity, proposal, ring, diamond, head over heels,

Other books that might interest you

  • My Life in Smiley (Book 3 in Smiley series) - Save Me! - cover

    My Life in Smiley (Book 3 in...

    Anne Kalicky

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Max is in trouble, SOS trouble, he's a prisoner in the middle of nowhere. His journal is the conclusive evidence that the next two weeks at summer camp are going to be absolutely miserable . . . or not! His parents signed him up to give him some “independence,” but all it’s given him so far is bug bites! It's super hot, he's got no video games, no salt and vinegar chips, and—worst of all—no friends. He even has to pretend to have fun and participate in activities! But despite all that, his roomies are cool, this girl Clara is kinda pretty, and he found a mysterious diary. . . . 
    Show book
  • Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue - cover

    Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue

    Paula Harrison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure. Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue is the first book in a chapter book series about Kitty and her superhero adventures.  
     
    Meet Kitty, a charming chapter book character with catlike superpowers. With dramatic two-color art on every page and an emphasis on friendship, family, bravery, and building self-confidence, Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue is a perfect choice for independent readers and fans of Rebecca Elliott’s Owl Diaries.  
    Kitty is special. Her mother is a superhero with catlike powers that Kitty and her little brother Max will someday inherit. But being a superhero involves going on daring adventures at night, and Kitty doesn’t know if she’ll ever be brave enough for that!  
    One night though, Kitty finds a sleek black cat with white paws waiting at her window. When he introduces himself, Kitty is shocked to realize she can understand him—her powers have arrived! The cat, Figaro, has a problem. There’s a terrible meowing sound coming from the clock tower, and the other cats don’t know what to do. The night outside looks cold and uninviting, and Kitty is afraid of the dark. But she musters up her courage and sets out to find the source of the mysterious sound. Along the way, she makes new friends, uncovers her confidence, and learns what it means to be brave.  
     With an aspirational main character, a kindle of cats, striking two-color art on every page, and fun facts included at the end of each story, these chapter books are just right for newly independent readers.
    Show book
  • The Crown - cover

    The Crown

    Kiera Cass

    • 26
    • 614
    • 0
    The spectacular happily ever after of the #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
     
    Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series. 
    In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own. 
    Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Wild and Crooked - cover

    Wild and Crooked

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Critically-acclaimed author Leah Thomas blends a small-town setting with the secrets of a long-ago crime, in a compelling novel about breaking free from the past. 
     
    In Samsboro, Kentucky, Kalyn Spence's name is inseparable from the brutal murder her father committed when he was a teenager. Forced to return to town, Kalyn must attend school under a pseudonym . . . or face the lingering anger of Samsboro's citizens, who refuse to forget the crime. 
      
     Gus Peake has never had the luxury of redefining himself. A Samsboro native, he's either known as the "disabled kid" because of his cerebral palsy, or as the kid whose dad was murdered. Gus just wants to be known as himself. 
      
     When Gus meets Kalyn, her frankness is refreshing, and they form a deep friendship. Until their families' pasts emerge. And when the accepted version of the truth is questioned, Kalyn and Gus are caught in the center of a national uproar. Can they break free from a legacy of inherited lies and chart their own paths forward?
    Show book
  • A Curse So Dark and Lonely - cover

    A Curse So Dark and Lonely

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller! 
    "Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." - Jodi Picoult 
     
    In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast,  Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance  perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. 
     
    Fall in love, break the curse. 
     
    It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. 
     
    Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world. 
     
    Break the curse, save the kingdom. 
     
    A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.
    Show book
  • The Fall of Butterflies - cover

    The Fall of Butterflies

    Andrea Portes

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    We Were Liars meets Looking for Alaska in a uniquely funny and heartbreaking teen novel about a passionate-yet-doomed friendship set against a backdrop of wealth and glamour. 
    Willa Parker, 646th and least-popular resident of What Cheer, Iowa, is headed east to start a new life. Did she choose this life? No, because that would be too easy—and nothing in Willa’s life is easy. It’s her famous genius mother’s idea to send her to ultra-expensive, ultra-exclusive Pembroke Prep, and Willa has no intention of fitting in. But when she meets peculiar, glittering Remy Taft, the richest, most mysterious girl on campus, she starts to see a foothold in this foreign world—a place where she could maybe, possibly, sort of fit in. When Willa looks at Remy, she sees a girl who has everything. But for Remy, having everything comes at a price. And as she spirals out of control, Willa can feel Remy spinning right out of her grasp. 
    Andrea Portes, author of the hilarious, heartbreaking Anatomy of a Misfit, spins a similarly incandescent, heartfelt story that explores the meaning of friendship, new beginnings, and the precarious joy and devastating pain of finding home in a place—a person—with wings.
    Show book